Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.666675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

Worst experience, horrible customer service from the cashier, and merchandise is WAY over priced! I will NEVER go back there and I will definitely tell everyone I know NOT to go there!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

As a single mother with 2 children I never imagined being able to be a homeowner. I had a secure job, but with only one pay check Just taking care of rent and everything else left me living from check to check. When I heard what Habitat offered, A mortgage with payments as low as a rental apartment, How could I not try!! It was alot of weekends and sweat. It was worth every bit. I learned skills from experienced people, skills I will use around my own home. And helping others to their goal of home ownership was a wonderful feeling.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

As a woman, I was hesitant to volunteer for "construction" of a house, regardless of the cause. In talking with others, I was told that Habitat Pinellas understood that not all volunteers are experienced and that their house leaders were patient and able to teach novices (including me) how to be productive on the build site. Needless to say, I volunteered, and I am so very glad that I did! Our house leader just happened to be a female, so my comfort level grew almost immediately. I started out bending a lot of nails and was tentative in using a hammer. But before long, I was actually putting more nails in wood studs than not! I was even trained on the use of a "T-nailer" and got to use this tool extensively. But there was more to the adventure of volunteering than just the training and accomplishment of building a house for a struggling family. I met and worked alongside the homeowner candidate whose house we were building and got to learn about her, her family and her situation. It's amazing how close any of us could be to needing support and so comforting to know that an organization like Habitat exists to provide that support. I volunteered on this project several more times and got to know other volunteers and be a member of a really productive team. In just a few short weeks, the house had gone from a shell to complete. And I helped! But the most touching part of the project happened after the build was complete. I attended the dedication and, with tears in my eyes, hugged and congratulated by friend and new homeowner. What a marvelous expeerience! I highly recommend that everyone step out of their comfort zone and give volunteering for Habitat Pinellas a try. I believe you will find the experience well worth your time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is staffed with caring, compassionate, and knowledgable individuals who give tirelessly of their time and talents to provide housing of the highest quality. They are a standout group in the housing industry and few come close to meeting their level of excellence.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Habitat Pinellas provides safe, affordable housing to hard working members of our community. Habitat does not "give" away houses. Homeowner candidates have to work at least 250 sweat equity hours on their home and the homes of others in addition to having solid employment and good credit in order to become eleigible for the program. Once through the program, the homeowner purchases the home with a zero percent mortage. Habitat Pinellas is a "happily ever after" non-profit and I am proud to be affiliated with them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved wirth Habitat-Pinellas for over 5 years. Through my eyes I have witnessed God's work in action on many occations. This organization is built with a team of winners. They are also "Pacesetters" in green building design. I work for Progress Energy, and can attest to Habitat-Pinellas being the first builder in our county to build 100 percent ENERGY STAR Homes. This is not easy as a third party must certify each home. This means the homeowner will enjoy low energy while living in thier home. Most of these families can't afford to waste money, and energy cost keep rising. I attend most every home dedication, and I'm very proud to be part of such a wonderful group of people. I give this group 5 stars, and there is no end in sight.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with Habitat has far exceeded my expectations. The positive impact they have on families lives and the community is everlasting.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started doing some volunteer work at Habitat Pinellas about 18 months ago, being somewhat retired from Corporate America. I had been exposed to Habitat in Columbus Ohio when our Rotary Club worked on completing a couple of homes for Habitat there. I had served for many years in Big Brothers Big Sisters and wanted to make a contribution to the wonderful work Habitat does for deserving , needy individuals in our community and across America.

I have found their leadership to be focused and engaging, and a group of achievers that are having a real impact on housing needs in Pinellas County. They are improving the quality of life for many. The process of managing the equity contributon of those deserving families, is very memaningful for our community.

I spend a few hours each week at the retail " ReStore" operation where the staff efforts are focused, and the center is an effective focal point for community donations that contribute to the achievement of cost effective housing. In addition, the center makes a strong community statement with "recycling" in a very meaningful way.

It has been rewarding in my small way of assisting the community by working with this excellent organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Habitat for Humanity of Pinellas County is an outstanding place to dedicate your time and money. They offer a "hand up" not a "hand out" to individuals and families stuck in substandard housing. The efforts you make provide an immediate impact in our community by providing safe, decent affordable housing to deserving families. I love volunteering with this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Habitat Pinellas is a collaboration of hard working dedicated poeple who care the community and serving those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

allow you to learn new skills and help build an affordable house for a struggling, low-income family in our community. Volunteer