Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Thank you Habitat Newark for the great work you are doing in our community and with your volunteers!

From the set-up online, with the help of people in their office, through my volunteer day and beyond, Habitat for Humanity Newark's staff was friendly and encouraging and supportive!


It was a great day's work with wonderful staff and crew members on the construction site. This was such a memorable day, and I look forward to getting involved again, and maybe next time bringing friends and/or family with me too!
November 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Habitat Newark is an amazing organization. They are doing a wonderful job of revitalizing the neighborhood here in Newark.

The staff is very helpful and building on site with them is a memorable experience.
June 6, 2014

more

June 6, 2014

The previous review is entirely erroneous. Habitat Newark has never been stronger and is helping more families own their own homes than at any time in it's history. Volunteer numbers are at their highest as well. Great group. Get involved and help them build!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

August, 2013
Since 2012 the Newark Habitat affiliate management has actively discouraged engaged volunteer participation in its home building activities. There is now an emphasis on using paid professionals for many volunteer friendly construction stages. Numerous major individual donors,
board members and other active volunteers no longer find this organization worthy of their support. The affiliate recently broke ground for a new-construction house, while at the same time essentially abandoning completion of two federally funded two-family rehabilitation projects that had been underway since 2011. Paid office staff has gone from 3 to 5+.

I volunteered and raised significant sums for Habitat Newark since 2004. I, and many of my fellow volunteers, were recognized for our contributions as Volunteer of The Year in at least 5 of the past ten years. In addition to building homes, many, highly accomplished professionals used their expertise to provide, on a volunteer basis, free services to the organization's many support committees. For years, Habitat Newark grew and helped revitalize Newark through the hard work of its volunteers. Our time was used wisely. Our volunteer contributions were life changing for the many partner families we built beside. Currently, the organization has lost its way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work to return Habitat Newark to its stated mission of building safe, affordable homes for its partner families with the help of volunteer labor. Specifically, change management and promote a shift in board composition.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers