Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1.666672345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

You know, it's funny when CEO'S and higher echalon are reluctant to tell their salary. It appears that Mr. Johathan Reckford's salary must be too large to give to the public. Besides he probably has never donated any free labor to help anybody. Back in the 80's the United Way was exposed to high salaries and overhead perhaps Mr. Reckford's regime needs it also. Let's wake up and spend money where it is needed, not in millionaires pockets.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put everyone on hourly wages and make them donate their time to building a better America.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012

I am not sure why some people are posting reviews of local groups they have been involved with when these reviews are for the national organization. I'm sure that there are some local programs that are not well organized but I think internationally Habitat is doing a great job. They try to give people the boot straps to lift themselves up with. It is a requirement that recipients have the means to sustain themselves in order to keep their house and the local organizations provide help with finding jobs and setting up and managing their budgets so they don't loose their house. We have donated for over 30 years now on a monthly auto-pay plan and we are very proud of the national and the local organization we are involved with.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

When I was approached by our local Habitat for Humanity financial director and asked to help out while their current site supervisor went on vacation I thought it would be noble to help a great organization and I was glad to participate. I agreed to help them at less than 1/2 my normal wage and also donate some of my time. The first red flag of their incompetence was when I arrived at the site to see their volunteers slogging around in 8 to 12 inches of mud. I immediately went to purchase straw bales to spread around. Anyone who knows anything about construction site management knows you must do something to control muddy conditions. The cheap OSB siding was only painted on one side and it was scattered all over the place in the mud. The siding was being improperly installed with large gaps and no flashing. That was only the beginning of the Pandora's Box they handed me. I won't even begin listing the rest of the problems as they reared their head throughout the rest of the house. When I tried to explain to them about how to run an efficient job site, they would have none of it and I was treated with unbelievable contempt. Things only got worse from there and they continually blamed their problems on previously hired contractors who had quit. I was now beginning to understand why they had quit. I also quit because it was obvious that they were setting me up to be blamed in the future for their problems too. The treatment I received while working at less than 1/2 my normal wage and also donating a fair amount was unspeakable. I'm a highly skilled craftsman with over 30 years experience who has worked on multimillion dollar trophy homes from the ground up. Never again will I have anything to do with this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

they wouldnt explain what was done with a donation and after i asked to unsubscribe they kept mailings up for 6 months

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

People are losing their homes, older people. If you are younger, have a couple of kids+, you need a home, try for a Habitat home, you need an income, yes I understand this, but HOW does a single mother with 3 kids move into a H.H. pay $350.00 a month, have $900.00 a month left over and pay whatever it takes to raise HER Kids? I called Habitat today, asked if these people can be receiving any type of AID, WELFARE...yes, they can, so as I look at it once again the tax payers are helping these people get into a H.H. when a lot of TAX PAYERS are losing thier homes...I was told they can get food stamps...well where in the hell do people think food stamps come from???? TREES???? If this is a Christian ran organization why doesn't the CHURCH pay for these homes? I as with MANY other tax payers do not have medical insurance but becuase she has 3 kids, she gets free medical WE pay for? She loses her job as a lot of people are doing in this day and age, then what?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 29, 2011


Due to a disaster, I am also a recipient. When my home was destroyed by a tornado in 2005 killing 25 people, we all were offered a Habitat home. I worked my sweat equity hours but when I finished, I just couldn't have my new home only a of couple miles from where the tornado hit. Having
worked with the Red Cross, I understood this was a natural phenomenon . Eighteen months later, that feeling passed, I worked another 350 sweat equity hours. Unfortunately, that red flag feeling wasn't the moving near the disaster area but shoddy workmanship and no one that takes responsibility to ensure corrections are made. Instead, standing behind an imposed warranty when issues are really warped gables, siding cut too short, gaps from butted to five inches, steps that don't meet code (one rise is correct, 7 inches, the highest is 8 1/2 inches.) Nails are coming through vinyl flooring and in my house over 25 nails/screws are coming through the ceiling in my hallway, kitchen and living room. On some properties, landscaping directs water down the recipients foundation, two houses have siding where the color does not match and two more have thermal reflection issues but again the recipient was not educated as to what caused this nor was there a suggestion in how to correct it. One if not two homes have mold which necessitated a company come in and took care of the mold. On one web site a responder called the recipient stupid and probably had a filthy house suggesting she only had to use bleach. The ignorant one was the the person who suggested bleach. Bleach kills the mold but it doesn't address the issue of where the mold is coming form. One house has water wearing away the concrete because of the possibility that the gutters are not handling the runoff due to maybe the improper pitch of the gutter. Another house has a window that was not installed properly and daylight can be seen coming through the frame. I have contacted Mr. Reckford, (twice)Mr. Klein, and Mr. Carter and did not get a response from any of them. As a volunteer I am embarrassed that this workmanship was OK's by a home inspector let alone a Habitat construction director or his designee. When I searched the Internet, I see errors even worse than the above have occurred. When is there going to be some sort of accountability by this organization?

Charline Bridgeman/volunteer/recipient.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above and so much more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Apparently there needs to be someone in a higher post that Habitat International that ensures these affiliates follow a standard guideline when it comes to construction, where houses are built above the 70% passing code requirements, 80% or higher would be better. All affiliates hire a Licensed construction contractor to insure construction is done right. After all, how many more minutes does it take to do things right and volunteers can learn to do it right.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

It was hard as a female to get the men to take me serious at first but I can't tell you how much I looked forward to working with them. Everyone needs a social network and every Tuesday, Wednesday, and/or Saturday until two o'clock, those needs were met. I had a ball while doing something good for someone else.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Fine tuned what I already knew.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

That there is more to life than the medical field.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 15, 2011

I read a factual accounting about the founder of Habitat, who pretty much donated his talents and time to the cause, and how the current administrators took control of the Board and he was ungracefully elliminated. The chairman and administrators then gave themselves heafty salaries. Shame shame on them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have helped to prepare and serve meals to volunteer workers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

eliminate salaries, reimbursements given for expensis only.

July 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was happy to contribute to Habitat after the Haiti earthquake. I was not so happy to begin receiving solicitations for donations even before I received a confirmation of my donation. Phone, email and mail solicitations continued on a DAILY basis, including weekends, evenings and weekend evenings. I received as many as 6 phone calls per day.

I question the % spent on fundraising when subsidizing literally thousands of contacts to one person in one year.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The number of solicitation requests bordered on harassment. I would never contribute to this organization again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the fund-raising company

July 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I guess it's just me being cynical, but after looking at Habitat's financials---or maybe I'm just reading it wrong. But for a charity to be sitting on $201,579,376 in assets and doing nothing with it in the face of the housing crisis is...obscene.

IS there something in the bylaws that
PREVENTS your charity from stepping in, developing a program, to lend a hand to some EXISTING homeowners who are in crisis because the mortgage lending industry is taking full advantage of the low fed lending rates AND the depressed real estate market to DENY approving mortgages?

And here's another thing that keeps me from shopping in the Habitat stores.

At one time, long before the "net assets" topped $200 million, I suppose, the donations to Habitat's stores were also giving a helping hand to those whose budgets were under strain already by keeping prices on the donated material within the budget of the lower income segment.
Not so anymore.
The donated items are comp-priced by using the internet at the stores here in Charlotte, NC, and probably across the country? I don't actually know for sure, but I can't see one "district" operating outside the corporate line.
And I just realized I said CORPORATE...it just flowed into my head automatically. Uncomfortable, that.
.
The prices in the Habitat for Humanity stores here in Charlotte, NC now are above what low-income families can afford, but are "bargain priced" for the upper middle-class. Their practice of pricing via internet listings have changed the demographic of the store, and eliminated a resource for lower income families.

All things considered, Habitat for Humanity seems to have morphed into a "charity corporation" resembling those "religious corporations" that also sit on their assets like King Midas of old.

Why would a charity need to sit on $200,000,000?
How can a charity justify sitting on $200,000,000?
Any CHARITY?


The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This charity once benefited the buying public who struggled in the lower income bracket. No longer. The Habitat stores in Charlotte, NC are going for top price now.. ..checking prices on the internet. But we "economically challenged" people can't afford those prices. So now instead of a store where a young couple, or an elderly lady on Social Security could afford a nice cabinet, or carpet, it's a store for and better heeled---middle class Rather like "two Faces of Eve" charity, if you get my drift.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lower the salaries of the executives. Develop a program to help current homeowners by perhaps underwriting loans that banks are unwilling to write because standards now are so high Make the stores completely transparent by writing the "SOLD price" on the ticket for others to see. Why should the price be private? I'd like to KNOW what John Jones who bought all 10 of the items I needed one of paid for them. i.e. Charge cost+ 10% to builders, decorators, etc by reminding them that Habitat is a charity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

How did you learn about this organization?

When Jimmy Carter first broke ground.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers