Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
1234.987015
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 1, 2013

I first learned about Habitat For Horses after helping save a starving, neglected draft horse in Galveston, Tx. After many calls the animal abuse division along with an investigator for Habitat got th... more

June 2, 2014

I discovered Habitat for Horses as I searched for help with a neglected horse I saw tied to a post in a yard. When I went out to tour their facility I was overcome with emotion as I saw the recovering horses and learned of their backgrounds. The sincerity of the people involved was apparent. Immediately after that tour I began to volunteer on a weekly basis. As I saw how much work there was to be done, I my involvement with them increased. Helping the horses has become my passion. Rescuing and rehabilitating the horses is non-stop as there is always something to do. We've also expanded to include Equine Therapy. We uphold our mission statement and continue to do all we can to save the horses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first learned about Habitat For Horses after helping save a starving, neglected draft horse in Galveston, Tx. After many calls the animal abuse division along with an investigator for Habitat got this amazing beautiful animal back with its original owner and away from this pathetic environment it was being kept in, tied to a rope for most of its days.....anyway I was led to HFH and met Jerry Finch and Rebecca Williams who own and run this amazing facility. I am a volunteer as much as I can be on weekends and am now a board member. This special sanctuary is run by wonderful people who care 24/7 for these horses and donkeys. They have dedicated their life's work to their constant care and welfare every day and many nights. They are there to save and rehabilitate all these noble beasts no matter what the problem may be.
They save them from abusive and neglected environments and hopefully each one has a chance to be adopted back into a loving and nourishing home again. They give them another chance at life, as God would have intended them to have.
May God Bless all who enter this place and know you are welcome as volunteers or maybe future employees one day just as I have been!
All for the love of horses!
Ginger

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a public servant attorney who has a love of horses and started out as a volunteer. For over a year I have been on the board .I am now the proud adoptive mother of "My Mia", a 7 year old Tennesse Walking horse from Habitat. The organization is truly about the horses and mindful of every penny that comes in. The staff are some of the hardest working men and women that you will find. It is an organization with strong ties to the community, local agencies, law enforcement, and a strong base of volunteers and donors. The website is a fantastic way to get the word out about the mission and the horses up for adoption. The founder, Jerry Finch, is a wordsmith who frequently writes very moving and enlightening essays on horse issues. The news will open your eyes about all the efforts going on around the state and the world to save the horses. Please visit us, donate, volunteer, or think about being a horse owner.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it a franchise in every community where horses need a home!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 27, 2013

more

July 27, 2013

HfH is a great non-profit because every penny is used to save horses. If you want to make your donation count in a big way, send any amount to Habitat for Horses. Even a small donation will feed a hungry horse and restore him to health. This group is dedicated to all equine creatures and uses its resources to maximize the good for the horses.
If you don't have a cash donation, we love volunteers. We need lots of loving volunteers to provide direct care for the horses. We have many exciting new programs to benefit horses, children and communities. We'd love to have you join us and share the love of these beautiful, graceful horses.
I have been a volunteer and board member of Habitat for Horses for six years. I guarantee you will not find a better return on your donation of time or money.
If you love horses, (and who doesn't!) please view our website - its chock full of beautiful horses of every color. Just gorgeous!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more volunteers so they could experience first hand the love of horses. One visit and you will feel the dedication of this organization and the gratitude of the horses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 3, 2012

This is a great organization that truly is in it for the horses...I highly recommend them anyone who is interested in equine welfare and would like to volunteer their time or donate their money to a r... more

July 25, 2013

I have been a volunteer for HFH for several years, worked in the office, and now serve on the Board because of the dedication I have witnessed over the years. They are truly doing this for the horses and if you want to donate your time, money, or other resources you can be confident that your effort will touch the lives of the equine in their care.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

This is a great organization that truly is in it for the horses...I highly recommend them anyone who is interested in equine welfare and would like to volunteer their time or donate their money to a reputable charity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

Habitat for Horses amazes me every day. The people who work and volunteer there are truly selfless and give so much to help so many equines in need. I am honored to know and work with them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers