Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.989695
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 30, 2012

This organization is accredited by the Global Federation of Animal Sanctuaries, one of the few so accredited in the US. That says all I need to know about the standards it has for being open and hones... more

October 15, 2014

This organization has set the goal standard for what an equine rescue should be. They've been dealing with the worst cases of horse abuse for almost twenty years. I have nothing but praise for all they do.
January 30, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

This organization is accredited by the Global Federation of Animal Sanctuaries, one of the few so accredited in the US. That says all I need to know about the standards it has for being open and honest in their dealings with the public and with the horses under their care. I found them through a recommendation from a Judge who heard a case they presented in his court. Extremely professional. I don't have time to volunteer, but I financially support them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I discovered this wonderful organization via Facebook, almost 2 yrs. ago. The educational articles / publications I found to be extremely informative and very helpful. Jerry Finch wrote a 5 part series that was particularly helpful in my advocacy work with horses. This series led me to read and meet via phone a well respected horse advocate with a huge knowledge base on issues important to me (Allan Warren). Habitat For Horses not only should be commended for their tireless efforts to "save / help " horses in need but also be highly regarded for their educational publications. These writings I have shared many, many times with others that were just starting to learn about advocacy and solutions for horses. I am very grateful to have this opportunity to share my appreciation for all the work they do!!! Sincerely, Teresa Cook, Cook's Ranch (Valley Center, California)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make no changes...Habitat For Horses should be a model to all others trying to successfully run a rescue/ advocacy / educational program for horses & burros!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Last year our Sanctuary had the golden opportunity to work with Habitat for Horses on the rescue of 108 horses and donkeys from the defunct Montana Large Animal Sanctuary. The courage, professionalism and compassion demonstrated by Jerry Finch was an inspiration to me. I was both proud and happy to work with this amazing horse lover. Though the days were long and arduous, the situations stressful and tiring, Jerry kept his sense of humor and kindness. Rock on Habitat! From Jane Heath, Executive Director, Montana Horse Sanctuary, Simms, MT

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

In all my years of business, I have never found a more dedicated group of people. I visited their organization in Hitchcock in an effort to determine if the stories I had heard were true. At the time I found three staff members, four volunteers and a veterinarian doing everything they could to save a horse they had just brought in. The horse had obviously been severely neglected.

Last I heard, the horse was standing on its own and doing much better. Had it not been for this organization, the horse would have died.

There is no doubt in my mind that this organization needs and deserves the full support of the public. One can see that they don't have much money, but they are doing wonders with what they do have.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

it's work with law enforcement. It is highly respected by the Police

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them fund new land.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers