Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.989695
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2014

I adopted my beautiful horse Santa Fe through Habitat for Horses. It was a wonderful experience! They worked with me and were very honest and helpful in getting the right match for me! I will always ... more

October 25, 2014

I adopted my beautiful horse through Habitat
for Horses. This organization is dedicated
to serving the horse! They were wonderful to
work with and had a positive attitude. I'm
so thankful I was able to adopt through this
wonderful organization.
June 30, 2014

I adopted my beautiful horse Santa Fe through
Habitat for Horses. It was a wonderful experience!
They worked with me and were very honest and
helpful in getting the right match for me! I will
always adopt a horse through Habitat for Horses. It is a rewarding experience!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I adopted 2 horses from Habitat for Horses a little over 5 years ago. One of the horses was so terrified to load into the trailer that I ended up leaving the trailer with them so they could help her work through her fears on her own timetable. A few weeks later, they got her loaded, loaded the 2nd horse and drove her to me, 5 hours away. There is not enough wonderful things I can say about them. The love and care they provide the animals amazing. I recommend them to everyone that is looking for a horse.
October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Volunteer. Client Served, Donor, General Member of the Public and Horse Owner and Rescuer.
In 2010, two weeks before Xmas, I lost my part time retail job and had no income at all. Usually I can fill in with odd jobs, but they had all seemed to have disappeared. My business of drawing
building plans had completely collapsed after the Crash of 2008, and I was STILL struggling two years later!

It was a Tuesday and I knew had enough horse feed for my 3 geriatric equines until the next Monday. By Friday I was desperate, not sure what to do. I had been crying all night and wrote a brief email, while still crying, to H4H about my animals asking if they could take them BEFORE they become underweight and neglected because of my lack of income.

On Saturday, I received a phone call asking me for more information about the horses and my location. They sent an inspector to see my place on Sunday. On Monday they informed me that I was eligible for their hay bank program and how long did I think I would need assistance, was there anything else like, farrier or dental services needed...

I was in shock. I had been rescuing mostly older horses for over 10 years and shouldering the costs myself and never thought I would need help for my own horses (a 30 something and a 24 year old geldings and a 20 yr old pony mule). I told her I had never been unemployed more than two weeks, and it might take another two weeks to actually collect a check. That evening they had the local feed store deliver a month's worth of feed and a round bale to my house. The very next day I got a call from a new client to draw a house, and have been doing architecture again since then and continue to be able to take good care of my oldsters.

They are miracle workers in not only helping the horses but helping the people who love and care for the horses. That is why they have grown so much and are the go-to rescue in this region, which I have done when noticing neglected horses in this area. I have donated money when I could, donated tack as my horses are no longer ridden and even donated my time to make inspections of potential adopters or hay bank clients. They are what all rescues should be like. Solid, effective and compassionate. Thank you.
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

4 years ago I adopted Juliette from Habitat for Horses, and will adopt a gelding when our old gelding dies. While I was looking for Juliette, everyone there was so helpful and nice. It was a good experience all the way around. Habitat does a wonderful job taking care of rescued horses, re-training them for adoption, and being helpful during the adoption process. I will continue to support such a worthy effort.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I adopted a horse from Habitat for Horses,it was a very rewarding experience. They worked with me to find a horse to fit my ability and needs. The horse that I adopted was perfect and we had 8 wonderful years together before he passed in January 2014. This organization does not just adopt out horses they also educate people on horse related issues and so much more. Habitat for Horses makes the world a better place for horses and humans. I am so proud to be one of their adopters and continue to support this organization with a monthly donation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

My wife and I adopted a donkey here, and from time to time have looked at horses and mules for adoption. It is a no nonsense, caring place. They truthfully describe the good, bad and ugly of their stock, yet the bad and the ugly are just as lovingly cared for as the good. Their adoption process assures that a)you know what you are getting into and b)are the proper adopter for the particular animal. We have toured all their pastures on several occasions. Only someone who truly cares for horses would provide the care and facilities these animals get.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We are so blessed to have found Habitat For Horses. We are members and have adopted 3 horses from them. They are wonderful people and do such an amazing job giving second chances to such wonderful animals. As owners who have had a difficult year Habitat for Horses has been there when we needed the extra help. They always give, give and give. I wish I would have found HFH before we moved from the area, I would have LOVED to volunteer there!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers