Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.989695
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My granddaughter had to do community service time at the Habitat for Horses in Hitchcock. I worked right along side her as she was underage to stay alone and I was not going to just sit there and watch for 8 hours. It was over 100 degrees and we learned so many things. "Mucking" got to be something we just picked up shovels and did. But I have never seen a more dedicated, hard-working staff. Their love for these animals is so real!!! And they shared not only their knowledge of how to work with horses, but they taught us the ups and downs, the good and the bad and the Babies! This is a most engaging and deeply respected experience I have encountered. This resource is worth a million. I pray that it is ranked a great nonprofit, for it truly is one!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I could only say something here if I had the money to do something about it. There are some needs that only money can help with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Habitat for Horses is a truly godsend. In over ten years of involvement with this organization I can assure their role has been essential not only in helping abused equines thorough Texas and assisting law enforcement in bringing those responsible to justice and prosecute the cases (a task many small law enforcement departments don't have the resources to do so) but also to help many people with broken bodies or souls to recover as well as regular horse owners through their numerous rehabilitation and educational programs.

In addition, Habitat for Horses has been one of the organizations spearheading the efforts to bring to an end the inhumane and cruel practice of slaughter of American horses, both domestic and wild. I am certain that, without Habitat, Texas would still carry the stigma of being the home of the destructive foreign-owned horse slaughter industry. Therefore, Habitat not only helps those equines that pass through their gates but also virtually every horse living in the US.

But that's not all, Habitat as well provides support to horse owners, law enforcement and emergency response personell during emergencies such as hurricanes by providing shelter to stranded animals, feed to horse owners whose homes where devastated and support during rescue operations, in addition to invaluable training in preparation for such disasters.

Overall, Habitat for Horses is, in my opinion, one of -if not downright the best- equine rescue organization currently operating in the United States.

Daniel Cordero Fernández
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Habitat for Horses is the real deal when it comes to helping horses in need. They work to improve the lives of horses in so many ways - education to help prevent neglect, help with feed for those who've found themselves in a temporary bind, intervention when needed, organizing hundreds of volunteers to care for, train and rehabilitate horses, providing access to horses for adoption, standing up for horses in the wild, working to improve the care and handling of BLM horses, working to stop the illegal shipment of horses to slaughterhouses, and so much more. If not for Habitat for Horses I would not have had the joy of fostering horses and watching them heal both physically and mentally and I would not have have known two very special horses.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

Volunteering with Habitat for horses has left a lasting impression of kindness, and love given freely that will stay with me forever. The charity is run by people with hearts as big as the equines they save, help and care for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

I started volunteering with Habitat for Horses in 2009. Unfortunately, I am not able to volunteer as much as I would like due to distance (70 miles one way); however, I greatly enjoy the time I am there. You can tell how much these horses and burros are cared for as soon as you arrive. I love volunteering in whatever capacity is needed that day. Whether it's providing help with feeding, cleaning stalls/pasture, assisting with vaccinations, bathing, giving extra TLC, etc...it all means so much to the horses, burros and staff. Everybody I've met at the ranch (staff, other volunteers, etc...) all have a heart as big as Texas for the animals, and wants to see each of them find their forever home.

I've been very fortunate to have met a lady who has three rescues from Habitat for Horses. All are beautiful horses that have made great strides while at the ranch and their forever home. It's sad to think what might have happened to these great horses had Habitat not been there. I'm tremendously greatful for the work Habitat for Horses continues to do each and every day!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love to see them aquire more land to continue to do the wonderful work they do for more horses and burros.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 1, 2014

This is a true no-kill rescue! So much good is done here -- horses benefit, people benefit -- we desperately need more Rescues like Habitat for Horses. It's a win-win for all parties involved! more

October 24, 2014

It's all about the horses at Habitat for Horses -- society NEEDS more and more sanctuaries and rescue ranches like Habitat for Horses -- without them, horses (along with other animals) would truly be at a loss -- they need human intervention, they need shelter, food, caring, good health, comfort, the proper environment along with the proper activities. Habitat for Horses is one of the best homes for horses (by the way, if I'm not mistaken, other animals also are taken in).
July 1, 2014

This is a true no-kill rescue! So much good is done here -- horses benefit, people benefit -- we desperately need more Rescues like Habitat for Horses.

It's a win-win for all parties involved!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

My husband and I fist heard about HFH after we visited a horse sale barn. We had just moved here from England in 2001. We were so appalled by the condition of the horses that we decided to try and help. We moved on to a new property, 100 acres, and here we are 27 rescue horses later. Most all are from HFH rescues. Some our own personal rescues. Getting these horses back to good health is a long, costly journey. Many times I called Jerry when a horse was sick and asked for advice. He is extremely knowledgeable and has helped me work through some difficult, worrying times. Jerry Finch, Rebecca Williams and all their great staff work tirelessly. Jerry Finch is one of the few Class 3 investigators in the country and we need them to be able to continue their work. Without our support, horses will never get a chance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

This Rescue does more for horses in need than any other I know! They keep us informed on what is going on in the horse world and are very loyal to their cause! I highly recommend Habitat for Horses non - profit as they are a wonderful advocate for our beloved horses > Domestic & Wild!
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I have been involved with HFH since 2000. First as a member then as a certified cruelty investigator. this group definitely cares about the welfare of the horses, no politics here. The volunteers go out of their way to do the best they can do for the horses and donkeys. I just can't say enough good things about HFH.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see it become bigger and be able to save more horses and donkeys and educate more people on the value of the horse.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

This is a one of a kind rescue organisation for horses , although it is based in Texas I believe that they will go any where in the USA to help horses that have been neglected or abused. With the financial crisis more horses than ever have have been left to fend for thenselves ending usually in starvation; the love & rehbilitation & eventual adoption give these noble animals a second chance.Habitat for Horses is my nomination.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers