Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
1234.984385
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

This is a true no-kill rescue! So much good is done here -- horses benefit, people benefit -- we desperately need more Rescues like Habitat for Horses.

It's a win-win for all parties involved!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

My husband and I fist heard about HFH after we visited a horse sale barn. We had just moved here from England in 2001. We were so appalled by the condition of the horses that we decided to try and help. We moved on to a new property, 100 acres, and here we are 27 rescue horses later. Most all are from HFH rescues. Some our own personal rescues. Getting these horses back to good health is a long, costly journey. Many times I called Jerry when a horse was sick and asked for advice. He is extremely knowledgeable and has helped me work through some difficult, worrying times. Jerry Finch, Rebecca Williams and all their great staff work tirelessly. Jerry Finch is one of the few Class 3 investigators in the country and we need them to be able to continue their work. Without our support, horses will never get a chance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

This Rescue does more for horses in need than any other I know! They keep us informed on what is going on in the horse world and are very loyal to their cause! I highly recommend Habitat for Horses non - profit as they are a wonderful advocate for our beloved horses > Domestic & Wild!
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I have been involved with HFH since 2000. First as a member then as a certified cruelty investigator. this group definitely cares about the welfare of the horses, no politics here. The volunteers go out of their way to do the best they can do for the horses and donkeys. I just can't say enough good things about HFH.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see it become bigger and be able to save more horses and donkeys and educate more people on the value of the horse.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

This is a one of a kind rescue organisation for horses , although it is based in Texas I believe that they will go any where in the USA to help horses that have been neglected or abused. With the financial crisis more horses than ever have have been left to fend for thenselves ending usually in starvation; the love & rehbilitation & eventual adoption give these noble animals a second chance.Habitat for Horses is my nomination.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

January 30, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

This organization is accredited by the Global Federation of Animal Sanctuaries, one of the few so accredited in the US. That says all I need to know about the standards it has for being open and honest in their dealings with the public and with the horses under their care. I found them through a recommendation from a Judge who heard a case they presented in his court. Extremely professional. I don't have time to volunteer, but I financially support them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have had the good fortune to volunteer a few times at this wonderful place...& if there were not time constraints on me...I would be there much much more. It is amazing to see a horse come in from a really bad situation & slowly begin to recover & learn to trust humans again. It is hard work...but it is all worth it to see these amazing animals adjust to a life with plenty of food & water, & all the love they can handle. It is very rewarding & I cannot say enough good things about this organization & the people who run it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a long time volunteer at Habitat for horses. They are an incredible organization. It is amazing just how many horses we have saved over the years and the impact we have made on many lives- equine and human. I am not sure what I would have done if i hadn't of found habitat for horses and the three loves of my life: Maggie,Madison and Dixie.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 9, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

It has been my honor and my privilege to volunteer at the Habitat for Horses since 2010. I have seen miracles unfold at the ranch when horses are brought in, some close to death because of abuse or neglect, and I watch their dedicated staff and volunteers bring them back to life. Not only do the horses and donkeys receive the medical care that is necessary, but they receive the love and attention, plus the nutrition that they need, to become horses worthy and able to be adopted out. It is both a haven and a hospice for the horses and I am proud to be part of this organization. Debbie Stoutamire

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

If not for the Habitat, so many of these animals would be forced to stay in an abusive or neglectful environment. Every horse is treated and fed back to health without consideration of the horses value. The organization is dedicated to seeing that each horse is rehabilitated to the point where it has a chance of going to a great adoptive home. There is a lot of hard work involved in taking care of so many horses, so if you love horses and want a worthwhile experience in volunteering; this is the place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers