Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.989695
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My granddaughter had to do community service time at the Habitat for Horses in Hitchcock. I worked right along side her as she was underage to stay alone and I was not going to just sit there and watch for 8 hours. It was over 100 degrees and we learned so many things. "Mucking" got to be something we just picked up shovels and did. But I have never seen a more dedicated, hard-working staff. Their love for these animals is so real!!! And they shared not only their knowledge of how to work with horses, but they taught us the ups and downs, the good and the bad and the Babies! This is a most engaging and deeply respected experience I have encountered. This resource is worth a million. I pray that it is ranked a great nonprofit, for it truly is one!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I could only say something here if I had the money to do something about it. There are some needs that only money can help with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Habitat for Horses is a truly godsend. In over ten years of involvement with this organization I can assure their role has been essential not only in helping abused equines thorough Texas and assisting law enforcement in bringing those responsible to justice and prosecute the cases (a task many small law enforcement departments don't have the resources to do so) but also to help many people with broken bodies or souls to recover as well as regular horse owners through their numerous rehabilitation and educational programs.

In addition, Habitat for Horses has been one of the organizations spearheading the efforts to bring to an end the inhumane and cruel practice of slaughter of American horses, both domestic and wild. I am certain that, without Habitat, Texas would still carry the stigma of being the home of the destructive foreign-owned horse slaughter industry. Therefore, Habitat not only helps those equines that pass through their gates but also virtually every horse living in the US.

But that's not all, Habitat as well provides support to horse owners, law enforcement and emergency response personell during emergencies such as hurricanes by providing shelter to stranded animals, feed to horse owners whose homes where devastated and support during rescue operations, in addition to invaluable training in preparation for such disasters.

Overall, Habitat for Horses is, in my opinion, one of -if not downright the best- equine rescue organization currently operating in the United States.

Daniel Cordero Fernández
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Habitat for Horses is the real deal when it comes to helping horses in need. They work to improve the lives of horses in so many ways - education to help prevent neglect, help with feed for those who've found themselves in a temporary bind, intervention when needed, organizing hundreds of volunteers to care for, train and rehabilitate horses, providing access to horses for adoption, standing up for horses in the wild, working to improve the care and handling of BLM horses, working to stop the illegal shipment of horses to slaughterhouses, and so much more. If not for Habitat for Horses I would not have had the joy of fostering horses and watching them heal both physically and mentally and I would not have have known two very special horses.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I am very grateful that there is "HABITAT FOR HORSES"!
Unfortunately too many horses are abused and abandoned theses days with no
one to care about them.
Habitat for Horses has been there to help them recover and regain health.
They are doing a fantastic job caring for these
animals and I am happy to support their efforts!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I wish I could rescue every horse, donkey, burro or mule needing help. Since that is impossible, it gives me great satisfaction to help support the wonderful work done by non-profit organizations like Habitat for Horses as they continue their missions of mercy in the field of equine rescue.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

Habitat for Horses is making a difference in our world, one horse at a time. I'm glad to help them do this. Blessings.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I love Habitat for Horses. The work they do to help these beautiful animals heal emotionally and physically is wonderful and allows these animals to get their forever homes. The work of caring for all these animals is long and hard and at times heartbreaking - yet they continue on, day and night, loving each and every one of their animals. Were it possible, I would adopt all of these beautiful animals.
Habitat for Horses is just that - a way to rescue, save, love and, when necessary, either adopt out the animals or provide a forever home for those with physical and emotional problems too severe to ever fully heal. I donate as much and as often as possible. And I am only too aware that there are, and continue to be, more animals than funds desperately needed to fight human cruelty and ignorance.
At its core, Habitat for Horses is more than an equine organization. It is a haven for warriors and angels alike dedicated to a mission fraught with heartache, heartbreak, and death. However, for every horse or donkey saved, so too is a human soul. To me, there is no greater calling...
There are no words sufficient enough to touch upon the selfless giving of Habitat for Horses. Suffering and sad, my only regret is the money required to save each animal, each human, indeed, our very world. Deplorable as this may be it is also an easy fix - it's only money. From penny to profit if we all give just a little bit we save the animals...we save ourselves. Habitat for Horses provides and protects this most sacred of gifts.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

Wish I could adopt one of their horses, but have to do the next best thing, which is to support them so others may adopt their wonderful animals. Thanks for being there.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I have been donating and receiving newsletters from Habitat for Horses for years now and I am more than happy to continue to do so
They have a special love for horses and they do a great job nurturing them and finding homes. Thank you Habitat for Horses. I wish there were more organizations
like you!
October 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2014

I adopted my beautiful horse Santa Fe through Habitat for Horses. It was a wonderful experience! They worked with me and were very honest and helpful in getting the right match for me! I will always ... more

October 25, 2014

I adopted my beautiful horse through Habitat
for Horses. This organization is dedicated
to serving the horse! They were wonderful to
work with and had a positive attitude. I'm
so thankful I was able to adopt through this
wonderful organization.
June 30, 2014

I adopted my beautiful horse Santa Fe through
Habitat for Horses. It was a wonderful experience!
They worked with me and were very honest and
helpful in getting the right match for me! I will
always adopt a horse through Habitat for Horses. It is a rewarding experience!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers