Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
1234.987015
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 30, 2012

This organization is accredited by the Global Federation of Animal Sanctuaries, one of the few so accredited in the US. That says all I need to know about the standards it has for being open and hones... more

October 15, 2014

This organization has set the goal standard for what an equine rescue should be. They've been dealing with the worst cases of horse abuse for almost twenty years. I have nothing but praise for all they do.
January 30, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

This organization is accredited by the Global Federation of Animal Sanctuaries, one of the few so accredited in the US. That says all I need to know about the standards it has for being open and honest in their dealings with the public and with the horses under their care. I found them through a recommendation from a Judge who heard a case they presented in his court. Extremely professional. I don't have time to volunteer, but I financially support them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

HfH is one of the most dedicated, well managed, morally upright groups saving animals that I have ever known. Their tireless work to educate the public on a daily basis about the plight of both wild and domestic equines is unique. Some of the horses profiled have been subjected to unbelievable horror at the hands of humans, yet Habitat works their miracles in bringing these horses back to health. I am supremely confident that the monthly donation I send to support their wonderful, much needed rehabilitation of abused, starved and neglected equines is funding well spent.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

HFH is a champion for horses. They understand the needs of the animals and keep other horse advocates aware of the perils, the horses face.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

I am a Volunteer. Client Served, Donor, General Member of the Public and Horse Owner and Rescuer.
In 2010, two weeks before Xmas, I lost my part time retail job and had no income at all. Usually I can fill in with odd jobs, but they had all seemed to have disappeared. My business of drawing
building plans had completely collapsed after the Crash of 2008, and I was STILL struggling two years later!

It was a Tuesday and I knew had enough horse feed for my 3 geriatric equines until the next Monday. By Friday I was desperate, not sure what to do. I had been crying all night and wrote a brief email, while still crying, to H4H about my animals asking if they could take them BEFORE they become underweight and neglected because of my lack of income.

On Saturday, I received a phone call asking me for more information about the horses and my location. They sent an inspector to see my place on Sunday. On Monday they informed me that I was eligible for their hay bank program and how long did I think I would need assistance, was there anything else like, farrier or dental services needed...

I was in shock. I had been rescuing mostly older horses for over 10 years and shouldering the costs myself and never thought I would need help for my own horses (a 30 something and a 24 year old geldings and a 20 yr old pony mule). I told her I had never been unemployed more than two weeks, and it might take another two weeks to actually collect a check. That evening they had the local feed store deliver a month's worth of feed and a round bale to my house. The very next day I got a call from a new client to draw a house, and have been doing architecture again since then and continue to be able to take good care of my oldsters.

They are miracle workers in not only helping the horses but helping the people who love and care for the horses. That is why they have grown so much and are the go-to rescue in this region, which I have done when noticing neglected horses in this area. I have donated money when I could, donated tack as my horses are no longer ridden and even donated my time to make inspections of potential adopters or hay bank clients. They are what all rescues should be like. Solid, effective and compassionate. Thank you.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

Habitat for Horses goes above and beyond many horse rescues. They travel across Texas helping law enforcement rescue equine that are abused and neglected. They bring these horses back to their ranch where their staff and volunteers spend 100s of hours bringing them back to health, retraining them and adopting them out to loving homes. On top of that their service to the community is exceptional - Equine Assisted Psychotherapy Programs, visits to nursing homes and schools, parades and more. Not to mention the educational articles on their website. I love HfH and always will be a big supporter.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

HFH has been helping the four-legged kind for many tyears. Their mission and goals are much-needed in these trying times of mistreatment of animals. They have big hearts, kind thoughts and gentle hands when it comes to helping the horses and burros who are neglected, misused and abused. They work closely with law enforcement and other entities by being expert resources, educators and saviors. They reach far and wide and try their very best to do everything they can within their means. I wish I could help them as much as they need. But out of the few places I am able to donate to - Habitat for Horses was the place to get my attentions. Great people with a great cause!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 15, 2014

I donated after hearing about a horse named Naysa that had a barbed wire halter and had been dragged behind the trailer. Habitat for Horses was there for that horse, no matter what. They do amazing th... more

October 2, 2014

Life is all about getting a second chance. Habitat for Horses gives horses and burros a second chance when no one else did. They show them that there is kindness, love and trust in this world. By giving them that they give that back to us. They touch our lives as much as we touch theirs. Habitat for Horses is their voice and we need let everyone know the great work they do for all the horses and burros that people have abused or abandoned. Keep doing the great things that you do!
Thanks,
Susan Calltharp
April 15, 2014

I donated after hearing about a horse named Naysa that had a barbed wire halter and had been dragged behind the trailer. Habitat for Horses was there for that horse, no matter what. They do amazing things and I hope you get noticed for all the hard work you do to save these horses! God Bless!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

Volunteering with Habitat for horses has left a lasting impression of kindness, and love given freely that will stay with me forever. The charity is run by people with hearts as big as the equines they save, help and care for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Habitat for Horses is saving horses that are unwanted. They are saving horses every day. They take those horses that are starving and rehabilitate them. For those horses that are adoptable they find them loving homes. They need help to be able to continue the care as expenses for feed, veterinarian care, farrier bills and other related expenses increase daily.
Help them to continue their goal of rescuing horses and keeping them from going to slaughter.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Habitat for Horses is dedicated to helping horses and donkeys. As the owner of 2 rescue horses, I understand the issues they face on a daily basis. Their dedication to helping these wonderful animals is unmatched.
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers