Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
123.6428645
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 25, 2013

more

February 25, 2013

Hello goforsrq. We are truly sorry you feel this way, and encourage you to visit or call. To clarify, if you donated since July of 2012, your funds are safe and sound in our local community foundation. Not one penny has been misappropriated. To repurpose GWIZ, it will require over 1 million dollars. As of this date, we only need around 300,000 more, and we appreciate the community stepping up and supporting us! If you believe otherwise, please come forward and talk to GWIZ. Our new CEO and new Board Chair insist on transparency, honesty, and straight talk. We can't fix any real or perceived problem unless we know who you are...and know we are trying to right many years of wrong.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 19, 2013

more

February 19, 2013

Broken promises, lies, and deception. My company's substantial donation disappeared into thin air. Board members lied to my face to get the money, then changed their story about how it was going to be used. You would be better off throwing money into a hole in the ground.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012

more

August 28, 2012

Despite a new ED, the board still contains the individuals who ran G.WIZ into the ground. A highlight reel: lying to donors, presenting false financials to other board members, complete disregard for ethics and governance. Without a complete housecleaning, the organization will remain corrupt. Donors to the new revitalization campaign are throwing their money away.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is a House of Cards that is soon to collapse. Ms Demeulenaere lied about her Education, she does not have any college credits to her name and may not even have a GED. She lied about her experience and credentials and was able to con the Board and has used her position for personal gain at great expense to G Wiz. The museum had expenses of 1.5 million over a revenue of 750 K and all they spend on rent is one dollar a year. What did they spend all the money on, they did not even repair the shabby exhibits. Careful Audit may reveal the ultimate impact of Ms Demeulenaere deceit. Ms Demeulenaere is gone, she is now spreading her lies to our neighbors in Tampa at MOSI, there is no stopping her now.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

congratulations for the great job.I believe that when we create something new, you will be praised by others

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I used to volunteer here. Sarasota has an almost nonexistant tech community and the children there need a resource to get them interested in Science and technology. GWIZ is one of the few bright spots in that area for this purpose. This science museum is involved with the local schools, and is even more so now that they have a new Fab Lab. This is a fantastic place and it definitely deserves any help that can go to it. When I volunteered here I worked in their Fab Lab, and it gave me experience with exotic machinery like laser cutters that will benefit me for the rest of my life. These resources aren't available anywhere else for miles, so please support the tech community in Sarasota and help GWIZ and the Fab Lab.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Learned how to use a laser cutter. Got to know a lot of people in the Sarasota tech community. Got a lot of assistance with getting the job I am currently working in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they can help more people like they helped me. Learning is important!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

GWIZ and other organizations need to work hard to open up more tech related work in Sarasota, because it's hard to live there if you aren't retired and need work. It seems like Sarasota loses a lot of talent because all the jobs are elsewhere.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Learned how to use exotic machinery and got to know a lot of great people. While interviewing for my current job I impressed them with my work in the labs, and I learned a lot about how to make things. It definitely improved the course of my life.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Every day I went to the labs was a good day. If I could do it all over again, I would do everything the same.

October 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Donors beware. They are in big financial trouble. No current audits for a reason. Many staff have left or been fired. Many board members have left. Donations being used to pay debts and keep lights on, not for stated purpose. Positive reviews are from board members/staff trying to make illusion of community support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Lies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start over.

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

My husband and I take our grandchild here as often as we can. He just loves GWIZ. It is such a fun and educational place to spend an afternoon. There is so much to see and do and my husband and I enjoy ourselves too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

Summer camp for my grandson was fun and educational. He had all of the fun with the enthusiastic and patient teachers and staff at GWIZ and I was delighted with the educational aspect. It opened his eyes to science in so many things that he has determined that "science is everywhere". I highly recommend any of the activities at GWIZ for all grandchildren. Grandparents who are interested in life-long learning, should accompany them and enjoy, also!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

THE G-WIZ MUSEUM HAS OPENED MY EYES TO THE WAY TO INTEREST
AND EDUCATE CHILDREN ABOUT SCIENCE. BY USING A HANDS ON
METHOD, THE CHILDREN MORE RAPIDLY UNDERSTAND THE PRINCIPLES
BEHIND THE SCIENCE. IT ALSO GIVES THEM A CHANCE TO EXPERIMENT
ON THEIR OWN, AND SEE WHY THINGS DON'T
WORK. WE ALSO FIND
THAT THIS SYSTEM WORKS WITH OLDER TEENAGERS, AS THEY CAN
USE THEIR IMAGINATION TO SET UP AND TRY THEIR OWN EXPERIMENTS.
WE NOW HAVE A "FAB LAB" WHERE THE OLDER CHILDREN CAN BUILD
EXPERIMENTS WITH MACHINE TOOLS AND ELECTRONICS, OR EVEN
INVENTIONS OF THEIR OWN.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist a GWIZ educator with a field trip Volunteer