Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
123.3684245
Write A Review
May 21, 2014

more

May 21, 2014

Pets Without Parents, Inc. is a 501 C-3 CRISIS RESCUE/SANCTUARY.
When you support groups like Pets and People and they in turn help us or another 501 C-3
it has a very effective ripple reward.

This frees up some financing. .We can do with more spay and neuters- STOPPING THE BIRTHS
in rural areas where dumping and abandonment of perfectly wonderful animals, caught in the web of ignorance and economic despair, stand very little chance of receiving any kindness.

Guidestar is helping in the most weather weary of areas that is constantly recovering from devastating incidents.

YOU ARE HELPING "ANGELS FROM THE REALMS OF GLORY".

My heart skips a beat every time we get a call or e-mail from Edy Bauer. THANK YOU is inadequate but most sincere. Blessings to you for all things good.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE NEEDED. AS FAR AS WE ARE CONCERNED, YOUR HEART AND INTENTIONS ARE GOOD.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 16, 2014

more

March 16, 2014

I take my donations seriously, and sites like Guidestar are invaluable for getting more information about charities so I know my money is going to a good cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the amount of information collected and displayed about chairites. It's easy for an organization to appear superficially legitimate but have hidden dark sides.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As the Executive Director of NY nonprofit BoardAssist, one of the leading personalized board matching services in the NY area, I live on Guidestar. Its an absolute must for anyone considering joining a nonprofit board, and I tell people that every day! Guidestar is an incredible resource for anyone looking to donate money to a nonprofit....but for people considering making the most important donation they possibly can....one of their time and intellectual capital, in addition to money...Guidestar is a critical first stop. Thank you so much for all you do to help nonprofits like BoardAssist engage people for board service. You make my job so much easier...and make me so much better at it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've found GuideStar to be an EXCELLENT central source of knowledge! They provide FULL DISCLOSURE concerning their own organization. Key Employee Salaries are broken out. They practice what they preach. They go above and beyond 99.9% of Non-Profits' reporting. Even breakouts of special programs' costs and outcomes are included in their reporting. TRANSPARENCY is KEY. I think the Other Reviews (negative ones) as a little Childish (which attitude is no necessarily uncommon among many Non-Profit leaders). Cudos to GuideStar. I'm not affiliated with them in ANY way... just read these CRAZY reviews & HAD to share an unbiased & sincere observation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Guidestar is immensely valuable for non profit information and transparency. Their charity check full reports gives up to date information from the IRS about the individual non profit organization's standing and charitable giving eligibility.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012

Public radio and television stations (like KUHF - Houston public radio, KUHF.org - given Houston is the 4th largest metro area in the nation, you wouldn't think that would need to be added) . Since our company has selected you to verify charities, I am going to recommend they not use you in 2013. We are a Fortune 100 company.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Love the selfless and helpful service Guidestar provides to non profits and the public alike! We are all so blessed to have them! THANK YOU, Guidestar!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

What Guidestar provides is very helpful - mainly access to Form 990 for nearly all non-profits in US - and operates a very professional website for valuable information. The other reviewer's comment about compensation is apparently true. For a non-profit with annual revenues/expenses of around $7 million - their salaries and bonuses are very high with CEO earning $325,000, 2nd $260,000 and 8 people between $110,000 to $170,000. My non-profit is $26 million annually and no one makes more than $150,000. Don't get me wrong, I am for good salaries in non-profit sector and I believe most are way too low, Guidestar however is a bit high and the Guidestar board should address that. The bonuses are a little outrageous - bonuses of more than 5 to 10% of salaries in the non-profit world are a little too much.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 20, 2011

more

December 20, 2011

I've had a guidestar login for years. I wanted to write a review, and the process was horribly convoluted, and counterintuitive. It took 4 tries. I suggest the staff try to do the same with a new account, and experience it for themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This organization does not return phone calls. How many different ways can I say it?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I don't understand the question.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Return phone calls.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers