Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.114295
Write A Review
December 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 26, 2014

I first started using Guidestar nearly 5 years ago to provide some very basic updates to our organizational profile. We started taking Guidestar seriously, when the donor walked through the door and asked to update all sections of our organizational profile and solicit at least 5 reviews through Great Non Profits in order to complete for the grant. Many of my colleagues view Guidestar as a watchdog of the nonprofit industry. To me, it is first and foremost an incredible source for the research. I’m often using Guidestar for benchmarking and learning about specific organizations in the nonprofit world. This year, I was honored to be invited to participate on the Guidestar User Advisory Panel, and I’m looking forward to providing feedback on their new initiatives while learning more about this fascinating organization.
December 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 24, 2014

I have been using guidestar for years in my grant writing and updating our nonprofits profile for our donors to have access to our information. The site has improved tremendously over the years and in the last couple of years I've had the pleasure of being able to provide feedback on their ideas and new products.
I am really excited about Guidestar and their willingness and ability to stay current in regard to technology and in trying to understand and accommodate the needs of its client base. They seem to take this responsibility personally which tells me it will only get better from here.
Congratulations Guidestar team for a job well done!
December 23, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 23, 2014

Overall, GuideStar is a very valuable service - both for non-profit staff and members of the public who use the site to conduct due-diligence.

In terms of being a member of the advisory panel, I have enjoyed the opportunity to provide feedback and believe that such a panel would be
useful to many other organizations. I would welcome the opportunity to have additional volunteer options within the GuideStar community.
December 23, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 23, 2014

i love guidestar! i use it for all of my research in the non-profit world. easy to use, easy to read. i recommend it to all of my clients (foundations and philanthropists) and to all the non-profits i work with as well. and the nicest thing is that most of the basic information you will need is free. the upgrades are amazing, and can be useful as well, of course. guidestar is professional and continuously strives to do better (and not making changes just for the sake of making changes, as so many websites do!). keep up the good work, guidestar.
December 22, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 22, 2014

I use GuideStar to research nonprofit organizations' IRS forms, especially foundations. I appreciate the ease of use of the system and the ever growing availability of data. I always refer clients and friends to GuideStar as a tool for industry information and decision making for donating, volunteering or collaborating.
December 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 21, 2014

GuideStar has been a great help to us as a small, young nonprofit. Within the first six months of getting our 501(c)3 in 2011 we created our profile and started loading information into it. We refer potential donors and grantors to it frequently. We encourage our clients, volunteers and board members to write reviews of us. Because we load them ourselves, we know our financials are out there for any interested party to see. Other databases of charities require significant assets, so we are not included in them. Our goal is to serve clients, and we spend our donations on their welfare. We feel very strongly that we have a responsibility to our donors to be transparent, and GuideStar helps us do that. We're extremely proud of our Gold Star rating!

We also use GuideStar when we are approached by a foundation or another nonprofit and asked to submit a grant request or collaborate. We are extremely cautious about our associations, and GuideStar gives us a way to find out information about other organizations before we make any commitments.
December 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 20, 2014

I learned about Guidestar when it just launched (was that 20 years ago?, not sure). Back then the notion of being able to access 990's online was providing a great resource to donors & industry professionals alike. Since then, Guidestar continues to think "outside the box" and strives to provide relevant data to and about the nonprofit community.
Professionally, as a grant-making foundation, we rely on Guidestar for tax exemption checks, informational articles, and as a source to access 990 data. Their website is a very valuable resource to us. We'd participate more if we could make it cost effective. The current product pricing structure does not suit our organization. I would like to see additional member/subscription levels for intermediary use. Perhaps that will come.

In the mean-time: keep up the good work!
December 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 20, 2014

I became an advisor to GuideStar because I found the site to be very helpful in both searching for funders as well as learning more about other non-profits. The website is robust and has essential information that provides pathways to donors and also understanding of how other nonprofits get funded. I have introduced this website to donors so they can educate themselves as to the nonprofit they support. Information and easy access makes for a 5 star rating.
December 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 20, 2014

Guidestar is the best tool out there with current information on the status of a non profit and a financial picture of an organization. The information is well organized and as up-to-date as it can be. As a staff member of a non profit responsible for our input to Guidestar the tool is has improved significantly since I started using in almost 10 years ago. Thanks Guidestar and your team for keeping transparency in the forefront and helping make information available to donors and funders!
December 19, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 19, 2014

This has been a great resource and tool for our organization.
Appreciate all the information and assistance.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers