Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.958335
Write A Review
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

I rely on GHRC for professional methods, knowledge,strategies for helping the indigenous make progress against overwhelming odds.
August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

As a USA-born Guatemalan, I find that the information and education that GHRC offers is exceptional! Staff provides accurate, timely information from the perspective of the Indigenous peoples of Guatemala, offering opportunities for furthering our own education and action as citizens of the world. GHRC hosts speakers and public events, and offer opportunities for travel to meet with activists working in Guatemala. To those of us who are aware of the sad history of the motherland, and of all of its rich character, GHRC is a valuable resource for honest information. Thank you GHRC!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I first became involved with GHRC as an intern and have continued to remain involved as a donor. This is an amazing organization working hard to fight for human rights in Guatemala. Resources are well used to continue to effectively fight and educate the global community of the genocide, among other things, that has occurred in Guatemala.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013

more

June 8, 2013

After I returned from visiting Guatemala, I wanted to support an organization that was doing work to promote peace, justice and equality in the country. Since becoming involved with GHRC, I have been extremely impressed with its hands-on work, as well as its push to inform and involve more people in the issues facing the people of Guatemala.


More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The US has had a major impact on Guatemala's history, usually a negative one. In 1954 we overthrew the democratically elected government of Jacobo Arbenz. This led to a bloody civil war that lasted officially until 1999 and resulted in a bloody genocidal war against the Indian population in the highlands. The fallout from this war continues to haunt Guatemala today. The Guatemalan Human Right Commission is really unique in its courageous defense of human rights in Guatemala. This is dangerous work and it goes against the grain of US foreign policy. Most US efforts to help Guatemala provide some form of charity which - in my view - just perpetuates Guatemala's dependence. The Commission has helped Guatemalans get their story out to the larger world through their publications and speaking tours. They have organized to prevent the Guatemalan military (closely allied with drug traffickers) from getting US military aid, and they have provided direct solidarity to many human rights activists.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

I support Guatemala Human Rights Commission USA because I've visited Guatemala three times in the last ten years, helping Habitat Guatemala build homes for families, meeting people and hearing their stories. Guatemala touched our hearts on these visits, enough so that we took one of our grandsons with us and hope to bring other grandchildren in the near future. The support of GHRC cannot be under estimated. Without the constant reminders to the world about the plight and indignities suffered by Guatemalans, the abuse will continue. I'm so grateful that GHRC has become a voice for those who have no voice in their own country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers