Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.958335
Write A Review
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

As a journalist and student of Latin American Studies and Human Rights, GHRC is great source of information. Through the use of social media it keeps the public up-to-date with current human rights violations and legal cases in Guatemala. GHRC is also a dedication organisation which is committed to working with Guatemalans and local activists and human rights defenders for legal and social reform, accountability for past abuses carried out by the state against its own citizens, including genocide, the protection of indigenous land rights, and the end of the culture of impunity in Guatemala. Thank you GHRC for all the work that you do.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

GHRC is my most relied upon source for information regarding human rights in Guatemala. They face difficult challenges in highlighting human rights abuses, but continue to do so and thereby help all people fighting for human or environmental rights in Guatemala. I wish there were more ways I could help them in their work. Thank you GHRC!
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

GHRC is a key source of information and inspiration for me as a former volunteer in Guatemala '88-90 now working as a social worker with Central American immigrants to the US.
October 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 20, 2013

Guatemala Human Rights Commission does work that no one else does. Who else speaks for Guatemala's Indigenous peoples like this? more

October 2, 2014

GHRC is a wonderful group helping indigenous people in Guatemala. We have a family tie to this group of people and GHRC is the most effective group helping.
August 20, 2013

Guatemala Human Rights Commission does work that no one else does. Who else speaks for Guatemala's Indigenous peoples like this?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes necessary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Steadfast group of people doing important work for Guatemala - and for the U.S.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

GHRC is the go to source for ground truthed information on the struggles of Guatemala's indigenous people. The combination of their board's deep experience and knowledge in country and the dedication of their small but dedicated staff is unequaled. Their use of social media and electronic learning technology gives them a footprint far bigger than their budget.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2013

more

June 9, 2013

Since I have known about GHRC only a few month ago, through FaceBook or CDHL don't remember, I have been an ardent supporter because they are very efficient, to the point, and good communicators: It is thanks to them that I was able to sum up and organize all the information about the Genocide trial (I am so far away from Guatemala that it became quite hard to understand what finally was happening – some kind of a terrible farce anyhow...) They support causes that I know are essential to the country. And I do wish they can go on with their tremendous work

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2013

more

May 18, 2013

The GHRC is an amazing and unique organization that has forged meaningful relationships with victimized communities and those fighting for human rights in Guatemala. They do not shy away from tough issues, and stand at the front lines of communities in resistance. Through my experience on two GHRC-led delegations, I have seen first-hand how the organization plays an integral role in the human rights community in Guatemala, using their model of solidarity to complement and elevate the work of local actors. The GHRC has also activated and engaged a large community in the U.S. of people in solidarity with Guatemala, and for me they are one of my main sources for information and opportunities for action.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

This is a wonderful organization staffed by extremely hard-working and effective people. Small in size but large in heart, GHRC has helped save countless lives over the past thirty years, beginning with helping refugees from the war in Guatemala resettle and/or move on to seek political asylum in other countries. Bringing the truth to light during a time when no mainstream US media were covering the massacres in Guatemala--and helping to end US military aid to Guatemala--was important work. The group's work continues now, offering help to human rights defenders who are being threatened by forces wishing to maintain the status quo; helping end violence against women, which has spiraled frighteningly in recent years; and helping Guatemalans in the US live with full respect for their rights. The organization has brought hope, help, and healing to many.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

I just returned from a vist to Guatemala with the GHRC. This visit gave me an opportunity to visit with many different communities and learn more about the history and life of the people of Guatemala. The focus of this delegation was Women in Resistance - and to that end we met with many different organizations of women who are standing up for themselves and for many other men, women and children. I first learned about the GHRC at an Ecumenical Advocacy Days event in Washington, DC and I have been very interested in the work they do in Guatemala primarily because I serve a congregation that has many families from Guatemala. I am so thankful to have had this opportunity to learn more and to be able to share so much more with the Guatemaltecas in the congregation. Thank you so much.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers