Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Steadfast group of people doing important work for Guatemala - and for the U.S.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

GHRC is the go to source for ground truthed information on the struggles of Guatemala's indigenous people. The combination of their board's deep experience and knowledge in country and the dedication of their small but dedicated staff is unequaled. Their use of social media and electronic learning technology gives them a footprint far bigger than their budget.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

Guatemala Human Rights Commission does work that no one else does. Who else speaks for Guatemala's Indigenous peoples like this?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes necessary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2013

more

June 9, 2013

Since I have known about GHRC only a few month ago, through FaceBook or CDHL don't remember, I have been an ardent supporter because they are very efficient, to the point, and good communicators: It is thanks to them that I was able to sum up and organize all the information about the Genocide trial (I am so far away from Guatemala that it became quite hard to understand what finally was happening – some kind of a terrible farce anyhow...) They support causes that I know are essential to the country. And I do wish they can go on with their tremendous work

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2013

more

May 18, 2013

The GHRC is an amazing and unique organization that has forged meaningful relationships with victimized communities and those fighting for human rights in Guatemala. They do not shy away from tough issues, and stand at the front lines of communities in resistance. Through my experience on two GHRC-led delegations, I have seen first-hand how the organization plays an integral role in the human rights community in Guatemala, using their model of solidarity to complement and elevate the work of local actors. The GHRC has also activated and engaged a large community in the U.S. of people in solidarity with Guatemala, and for me they are one of my main sources for information and opportunities for action.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

This is a wonderful organization staffed by extremely hard-working and effective people. Small in size but large in heart, GHRC has helped save countless lives over the past thirty years, beginning with helping refugees from the war in Guatemala resettle and/or move on to seek political asylum in other countries. Bringing the truth to light during a time when no mainstream US media were covering the massacres in Guatemala--and helping to end US military aid to Guatemala--was important work. The group's work continues now, offering help to human rights defenders who are being threatened by forces wishing to maintain the status quo; helping end violence against women, which has spiraled frighteningly in recent years; and helping Guatemalans in the US live with full respect for their rights. The organization has brought hope, help, and healing to many.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

I just returned from a vist to Guatemala with the GHRC. This visit gave me an opportunity to visit with many different communities and learn more about the history and life of the people of Guatemala. The focus of this delegation was Women in Resistance - and to that end we met with many different organizations of women who are standing up for themselves and for many other men, women and children. I first learned about the GHRC at an Ecumenical Advocacy Days event in Washington, DC and I have been very interested in the work they do in Guatemala primarily because I serve a congregation that has many families from Guatemala. I am so thankful to have had this opportunity to learn more and to be able to share so much more with the Guatemaltecas in the congregation. Thank you so much.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

This past August I participated in the GHRC delegation focusing on Women's rights to life, body, and mother earth. The delegation exceeded my expectations. I first came across the organization over two years ago when I began my research on Femicides and Impunity in Guatemala. I found their original coverage and reports to be especially helpful. I am thrilled that I had the opportunity to experience Guatemala along side with the GHRC. Kudos!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

I am Carlos I from Guatemala living in Los Angeles, one of the thousands fo guatemalans who had to flee the reppression in our own country where we were not allow to speak up against the injustices and the request for better living conditions. As you may know most of the people arriving in the US have to endure a hardship crossing Mexico where the people we fear the most is the authorities, we are robbed, beatten, humillated and so fort, not diminishing the ordeal we go tru when crossing the border risking our lives, after all that I arrived at Los Angeles where nobody was waiting for me , no family and no friends, where I had to start from the very bottom not knowing the languaje. I want it to find someone to tell my story to, but I was afraid I needed someone to speak for me, I know many people can not grasp the frustration and fear we the political refugees had to face, they have not been tru it. To make my story short, if it was not for the Guatemala human rights commission the voice of the voicelees will no be heard it is been tru their hard work that my experience and others' are known. They need to be thank and recognized for their work. Carlos Ixquiac

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

As an advocate myself, against domestic violence and sexual assault, in Sarasota, Florida I thank you for everything that you do for my beloved Guatemala! You are always first to expose the atrocities occurring in my country, demand justice and do such amazing advocacy work with survivors of human rights violations. ¡Gracias por todo lo que hacen!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers