Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.958335
Write A Review
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

Excelente trabajo informativo. Conozco esta organizaciĆ³n por su trabajo tesonero en defensa ypromociĆ³n de los derechos humanos en Guatemala. Saludos respetuosos.
August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

GHRC is an amazingly well run NGO, very effective in carrying out its work, supporting human rights defenders, and educating the American public about human rights issues in Guatemala. There is no other organization like it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am the Secretary of Migrant Issues for the Guatemalan Peace and Development Network, I am originally from Guatemala and since the early 90's I received direct support and witnessed the work of the Guatemalan Human Rights Commission promoting not only human rights in Guatemala but also the human rights of Guatemalans living in the United States.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change that I can think is that I wish they had more staff to do more projects in Guatemala and also with Guatemalans living in the United States

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 4, 2012

I participated in a GHRC delegation 4 years ago to learn about violence against women in Guatemala. It was absolutely life changing even given I have been doing advocacy in the area of violence agains... more

August 20, 2013

Great organization, committed to social justice and community organizing. Their work in solidarity with the people of Guatemala is stellar. Advocacy, education, awareness and learning experiences are part of the opportunities for Americans interested in getting involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I participated in a GHRC delegation 4 years ago to learn about violence against women in Guatemala. It was absolutely life changing even given I have been doing advocacy in the area of violence against women in the states for over 20 years. The delegation was a powerful opportunity to connect with strong and brave activists in Guatemala and learn how they organize their communities to bring awareness to these issues and support to survivors. I deeply learned how universal this issue is and how we need to work together in solidarity to stop violence against women.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Guatemala Human Rights Commission is a trusted source for in-depth information and analysis concerning the ongoing human rights crisis and struggle for justice in Guatemala. I strongly recommend it to anyone in the human rights/social justice and Latin American Studies fields.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I have been involved with social science research in Guatemala for nine years now, and in my experience GHRC has proven itself to be one of the most upright and dedicated nonprofits in the country - and does so on a much smaller budget than most nonprofits. I highly recommend them for those interested in accompaniment of human rights defenders in Guatemala.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

While some organizations stepped back from advocacy in Guatemala following the signing of peace accords and end of the civil war in the 1990's, GHRC has remained constant and steadfast in its commitment to justice and social progress. I was an election observer in 1995 and have continued in health and development work there, and the persistent and increasing threats to the fabric of civil society has shown their vision to be correct, and the need for their important advocacy remains great. They are a small organization that does very effective work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

This nonprofit is doing extremely important work to uncover the truth and bring closure and justice to Guatemala. As a resident of Guatemala for a total of 8 years, some of these during horrible times, and most recently a year ago, I know that the wounds are still fresh for thousands and thousands of families who lost loved ones. The work of GHRC is done with the highest professional standards. It is painstaking work, done lovingly by a team of brilliant, dedicated people who truly believe in this cause. I follow their progress in the news from Guatemala and from an ex-colleague that works there. It is profoundly important and I am heartened by the progress they are making.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

GHRC has consistently provided in-depth research on pressing human rights issues in Guatemala and cultivated the growth of a worldwide community of individuals and organizations committed to speaking out against egregious human rights violations in Guatemala. Their work is of high caliber, their staff is professional and dedicated and their information is consistently reliable and informative. Kudos to the GHRC staff and Board for your courageous work to expose human rights offenders, protect those who speak out against violations and share your passionate belief that a more just Guatemala is possible.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

GHRC plays a vital role in disseminating important advocacy campaigns along with information in the U.S. regarding human rights violations in Guatemala. As an independent journalist, GHRC's work complements my own in finding the right audience in the US and carrying out important campaigns.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers