Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.958335
Write A Review
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

As a former volunteer with Sister Parish, I admire the work of the GHRC. It remains a major source of information for me.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

GHRC is an incredible organization in a multitude of ways. Their staff is incredibly dedicated to their cause, and the many ways in which they work for and with the indigenous peoples of Guatemala. Not only are they pushing for justice within the US for Guatemalans, but they are also on the ground in Guatemala working to support human rights defenders every day. They also host delegations in Guatemala to educate individuals who are interested the various human rights, environmental rights, and political issues in the country. I was fortunate enough to participate in one of their delegations and it was eye opening and life changing. Thank you GHRC for everything that you do!
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

I worked as an intern with GHRC between 2011-2012 and it was an incredible experience! GHRC is an organization of dedicated advocates who avidly seek to promote the rights of Guatemalans. They work tirelessly for the noble cause of protecting human rights. I would highly recommend getting involved to volunteer or donate to their worthy cause!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 27, 2012

GHRC has been an irreplaceable part of my journey in understanding both the struggle of the Guatemalan people as well as the fight towards justice on a much greater scale. With the limited resources ... more

October 2, 2014

I have always been honored to be involved in GHRC's mission and efforts. I look up to the staff members here as true agents of change, and I have learned so much about social justice, humanity and compassion from the organization.
August 27, 2012

GHRC has been an irreplaceable part of my journey in understanding both the struggle of the Guatemalan people as well as the fight towards justice on a much greater scale. With the limited resources this organization has access to, the outcomes are incredible. The people working at GHRC have so much love and drive in their hearts, and so much desire to educate the public about their work. I have loved working with them and I hope to be a part of the organization for a long time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

GHRC has been very effective in Guatemala and it recognizes the fragility in the human and land rights of the people of Guatemala and it's purpose is to strengthen and stand up for the common good. This non-profit organization is a strong grassroot and it is essential to help it grow so the voices of Guatemala do not remain unheard.
August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

With a minuscule budget but a highly effective and efficient staff supported by an exuberant cadre of volunteers GHRC-USA walks the walk while talking the talk.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Triple its budget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

GHRC does such amazing work. They are not only raising awareness, but making real change in the lives of the Guatemalan people. They deserve all of the recognition and support they can get.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money to do even more work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 8, 2013

more

June 8, 2013

The GHRC is an extremely effective organization that, despite its small size, makes a huge impact on the human rights situation in Guatemala. I had the opportunity to participate in a delegation with them in January, and I was astounded by the dedication they had towards their work. And not only were they extremely knowledgable on the issues that Guatemala currently faces, they had the respect of the communities and organizations that we visited, evidence of their positive presence and hard work there. I will continue to support the GHRC as much as I am able to, and believe wholeheartedly in the work that they do in Guatemala.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013

more

June 8, 2013

I still wear a piece of blue and yellow string wrapped around my wrist as a memory from my last trip to Guatemala with the GHRC. I've been on two delegations they help organize, and their work and relationships with the victims of the Internal Armed Conflict, and other communities in resistence is evident. The staff members were welcomed by community members as old friends, a sign that what the GHRC is doing is well received and important.
Their listserv and quarterly publications are also informative and encourage the general public to get involved with simple urgent action calls and letter writing campaigns that everyone and anyone can help with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
December 11, 2012

GHRC does outstanding work to promote peace and justice in Guatemala. At a time when other foundations, organizations, and funding is pulling out in Guatemala, and when violence continues to escalate ... more

January 29, 2014

GHRC is one of the few organizations that maintain a strong grassroots focus in all that they do. One of the only organizations with offices in both D.C. and Guatemala City, GHRC truly understands the needs of their partners on the ground, supporting their work. GHRC does not dictate policy or actions, but echoes the voice of Guatemalans who face great risks of violence every day. This is GHRC’s humble yet powerful role in the fight for peace and justice in Guatemala. I am proud to support GHRC’s work, and most importantly, the work of GHRC’s partners.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 11, 2012

GHRC does outstanding work to promote peace and justice in Guatemala. At a time when other foundations, organizations, and funding is pulling out in Guatemala, and when violence continues to escalate to conflict-level rates, GHRC is not only remaining steadfast in it's solidarity, it is expanding its support and work. I participated in the June 2008 Human Rights Defenders Delegation, and the August 2009 Women's Right to Live delegation, and have volunteered through out the years. GHRC does high quality research, human rights monitoring, advocacy, and solidarity actions. I am deeply honored and proud to work with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers