Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
January 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
December 11, 2012

GHRC does outstanding work to promote peace and justice in Guatemala. At a time when other foundations, organizations, and funding is pulling out in Guatemala, and when violence continues to escalate ... more

January 29, 2014

GHRC is one of the few organizations that maintain a strong grassroots focus in all that they do. One of the only organizations with offices in both D.C. and Guatemala City, GHRC truly understands the needs of their partners on the ground, supporting their work. GHRC does not dictate policy or actions, but echoes the voice of Guatemalans who face great risks of violence every day. This is GHRC’s humble yet powerful role in the fight for peace and justice in Guatemala. I am proud to support GHRC’s work, and most importantly, the work of GHRC’s partners.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 11, 2012

GHRC does outstanding work to promote peace and justice in Guatemala. At a time when other foundations, organizations, and funding is pulling out in Guatemala, and when violence continues to escalate to conflict-level rates, GHRC is not only remaining steadfast in it's solidarity, it is expanding its support and work. I participated in the June 2008 Human Rights Defenders Delegation, and the August 2009 Women's Right to Live delegation, and have volunteered through out the years. GHRC does high quality research, human rights monitoring, advocacy, and solidarity actions. I am deeply honored and proud to work with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

GHRC is an amazingly well run NGO, very effective in carrying out its work, supporting human rights defenders, and educating the American public about human rights issues in Guatemala. There is no other organization like it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

With a minuscule budget but a highly effective and efficient staff supported by an exuberant cadre of volunteers GHRC-USA walks the walk while talking the talk.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Triple its budget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Steadfast group of people doing important work for Guatemala - and for the U.S.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am the Secretary of Migrant Issues for the Guatemalan Peace and Development Network, I am originally from Guatemala and since the early 90's I received direct support and witnessed the work of the Guatemalan Human Rights Commission promoting not only human rights in Guatemala but also the human rights of Guatemalans living in the United States.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change that I can think is that I wish they had more staff to do more projects in Guatemala and also with Guatemalans living in the United States

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 4, 2012

I participated in a GHRC delegation 4 years ago to learn about violence against women in Guatemala. It was absolutely life changing even given I have been doing advocacy in the area of violence agains... more

August 20, 2013

Great organization, committed to social justice and community organizing. Their work in solidarity with the people of Guatemala is stellar. Advocacy, education, awareness and learning experiences are part of the opportunities for Americans interested in getting involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I participated in a GHRC delegation 4 years ago to learn about violence against women in Guatemala. It was absolutely life changing even given I have been doing advocacy in the area of violence against women in the states for over 20 years. The delegation was a powerful opportunity to connect with strong and brave activists in Guatemala and learn how they organize their communities to bring awareness to these issues and support to survivors. I deeply learned how universal this issue is and how we need to work together in solidarity to stop violence against women.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

GHRC does such amazing work. They are not only raising awareness, but making real change in the lives of the Guatemalan people. They deserve all of the recognition and support they can get.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money to do even more work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

GHRC is the go to source for ground truthed information on the struggles of Guatemala's indigenous people. The combination of their board's deep experience and knowledge in country and the dedication of their small but dedicated staff is unequaled. Their use of social media and electronic learning technology gives them a footprint far bigger than their budget.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

Guatemala Human Rights Commission does work that no one else does. Who else speaks for Guatemala's Indigenous peoples like this?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes necessary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

As a USA-born Guatemalan, I find that the information and education that GHRC offers is exceptional! Staff provides accurate, timely information from the perspective of the Indigenous peoples of Guatemala, offering opportunities for furthering our own education and action as citizens of the world. GHRC hosts speakers and public events, and offer opportunities for travel to meet with activists working in Guatemala. To those of us who are aware of the sad history of the motherland, and of all of its rich character, GHRC is a valuable resource for honest information. Thank you GHRC!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers