Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.866675
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
March 5, 2012

more

March 5, 2012

I recently fostered a pit bull rhodesian mix for a young soldier. I have to say it was the best experience...not only did I get a beautiful loving dog but I made a new human friend as well. Thank you GASP for giving me the opportunity to help. I would love to do it again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 4, 2012

more

March 4, 2012

I have been a Foster Mom for two pugs, Sasha and Jake for 5 months. It has been the most rewarding experience not just for myself, but for my husband and other dogs. I have become very close friends with their Dad who is deployed in Afghanistan until 10/12 and this new friendship and the love of these dogs is amazing. I wanted to do something special for our Service Members and this is this best way for me since I am disabled and on limited funds. All I need to give is love!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 4, 2012

more

March 4, 2012

My experience is a little different then most of GASP volunteers. First, I hunted out an organization that would allow me to foster, and Second, I have had fosters for Deployed, Returning and VA/Retirees. Many years ago, I had to give up my 9 year old cat that I had since she was weaned because I could not find a place to live that I could afford to rent and that would also allow my Puckett to move in. Luckily the county I live in had a very helpful rescue group that was able to place her for me. This experience nearly broke my heart, and I determined that when I was able to, I would find a way to foster so that someone else would not have to go thru it. So, I found GASP and applied. I was quickly accepted, but it took a little time to find my first fur babies - I have had 5 Foster Kitties to date! The first MSM I fostered for was 14 mth deployment to Afghanistan. The second family was returning from Germany and military temp housing did not allow cats. I had their two babies for a few months. My current foster is a single pure bred whose mom is receiving VA assistance. I LOVE this group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Not a DARN thing!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I could admit that I am selfish and find that having an animal in the house is something that I really enjoy and is good for my mental health. At my age I don't want to commit for a 16 or 20 years animal, so a kitten won't do. So I choose to support a group that supports a group that helps keep us safe. I open my home so one less home has to potentially lose a loved one!

March 4, 2012

more

March 4, 2012

I submitted my application to Foster and within a week got a call to foster two Dobies, who's Mom was being deployed. It was so rewarding and a pleasure to have them. On the countdown now. Will miss them so much. GASP is a wonderful program that a lot of Soldiers and Sailors are very gratefull to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 11, 2011

I'm a single male who left for Basic Training back in '07 and could not find friends or family to provide a temporary foster home for my two cats. At the last minute before leaving I found a boarding ... more

October 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am an active duty soldier in the U.S. Army and had received orders for Honduras. After reaching out to friends and family, with no luck; I came across GASP and submitted a request to find a temporary foster home for my two cats while i was out of the country. Within a week they found a match and I was able to PCS without a worry in the world. My foster family and I utilized their standard contract and modified it to a mutual agreement.

Four years prior when I was shipping off for basic training the same situation occurred. Under the pressure with a looming "ship off date" I had no choice but to place my cats in a long term boarding home which cost me $350 a month. Had my recruiter been aware of GASP then I could have utilized that money to pay off outstanding debt. I find it sad that organizations similar to GASP are not able to be easily recognized by the Armed Services and disseminated from the top down so everyone is aware of the options that are available.

I am not knocking the resources that are already established to assist service members but to know that an organization like GASP has existed since the Gulf War and that my recruiter was not able to provide me their name as an economical solution to finding a temporary home for my two cats is incomprehensible. Somewhere at the top, within the walls of the Pentagon, there has to be an office that organizations can contact through which their services can be offered to not only existing service members but recruits and retirees as well.

I am so impressed with the services that GASP has to offer that I am now committed to volunteering and attempting to spread awareness of their organization; or should I say, OUR organization. As a soon to be promoted E5/Sergeant, I find it my responsibility to make other service members aware and to asset them when they have a need such as I had.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the fact that they provided a temporary foster home for my two cats while I PCSed to Honduras.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a single change. They have ONE MISSION and it fils a void for existing service member. Sad thing is that incoming personnel may not be made aware of this organization ONLY because the recruiters are NOT aware. How many qualified service members are NOT enlisting because they can't find a temporary foster home for their beloved pet(s)?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

CraigsList

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To volunteer on their behalf because it fills a void within the needs of existing service members and incoming personnel.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 11, 2011

I'm a single male who left for Basic Training back in '07 and could not find friends or family to provide a temporary foster home for my two cats. At the last minute before leaving I found a boarding home that had an opening. I ended up for almost a full year, as I completed my basic and advance training for the Army, paying the equivalent of a car payment every month to make sure I was going to get my two cats back. I was also making an actual car payment too; you can imagine as a Private how challenging this was. The years after found me with my own place so I was able to take care of my two cats. Then Uncle Sam send me on a Short Tour for one year and so I reach out to the boarding home this time with no luck; filled to capacity. I sent an e-mail to GASP who put me in touch with the regional director for the MD/DC area and they had a couple who recently volunteered. After going though the meeting process which are very well layed out ahead of time it seemd like a perfect match. The couple and I were able to come to a financial agreement which helped me out favorably and they were able to have two more furry bundles of love in addition to the two they already owned.

GASP had provided some "back up" suggestions in case this didn't work out for me and I think it is very realistic for one to expect that it's not always going to work out. If you think about the various aspects of everything involved, ie: Are there pets already in the Foster Home? Will those pets get along with your? Some families can only care for one type of pet; dog/cat. Does the area you live in have enough Foster Volunteer Homes? Have you started your search in advance to allow for the meet and greet to make sure your pets or the Foster Family are comfortable with one another?

I'm amazed with the success rate for GASP and the "Army" of Volunteers who understand this unique service they are providing to us service members. I Solute You!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They were able to contect me with a Foster Family for my two cats while I was sent abroad for one year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Attempt to get more state and regional coordinators. I was lucky, but if I remember correctly, not every state had one. Some larger states need multiple coordinators. This is the important link to matching needs with foster homes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Internet search

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To volunteer my home once I am in a stable situation to put other service members at ease while they are deployed.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 27, 2011

more

October 27, 2011

Love the organization and get to help not only the soldiers and pets. Everyone here wears multiple hats to keep it going but it is very much worth it and very rewarding helping to support those that help keep our country safe. It is also very rewarding working with the people who decide to become our foster home volunteers. Without them we could not do what we do for our soldiers and their pets.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

I started to foster for GASP a couple of months ago for soldiers dog named Guido. The people behind this organization have been professional and very caring and are there when you need them for support if needed or advise. Being a foster home for this soldier has been the best of both worlds. Helping him, and saving a dog from having to go to a shelter. I highly recommend this organization for Vets, soldiers and Military families. GASP is the best thing that has come into peoples lives and I am so proud to be part of them and proud to help a soldier in need. I hope to serve GASP and soldiers for many more years to come. My foster is a great dog and I hope that more people will open their hearts and homes to help a soldier and GASP Thank you.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Fostering a dog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can not think of anything. I think they do a wonderful job with limited finances they have and with limited volunteers. I just wish more people would step up and volunteer or make cash donations. After all this is to help our soldiers with whom we would not be where we are today without them.

October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

We were asked to foster 2 dogs for a deployed soldier. We were to be their 3rd foster home in a month, as the first 2 didn't work out. Sara, one of the volunteer coordinators drove the dogs up to us (we're in Pennsylvania, she was coming from Maryland) on Friday evening of a holiday weekend, and made sure she stayed long enough to introduce the dogs to our dogs, familiarize us with the fosters, and make sure we were comfortable.

The dogs were with us for 5 months, and during that time we had regular contact with their owner. Upon her return, she came personally to pick up her "babies."

All expenditures for the animals fostered through this organization are paid by the pet parents, terms and expectations are clearly laid out, and the organization truly has the best interests of soldiers and their pets at heart.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the joy and appreciation on the dogs' owners face when she was reunited with her babies after being deployed. Also knowing that we were allowing her to focus on her job in Iraq without having to worry about the care of her animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing I would change. Every aspect of working with Guardian Angels was seamless and professional, and everyone we have dealt with has been wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I can't think of anything... it all went very smooth.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

We definitely made a new friend in the dogs' mother. It was also rewarding every day to wake up and know how much we were helping her.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Amazing. We felt very appreciated from both the organization and the soldier, and the whole thing was very rewarding.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

GASP assists military personnel (both active and retired) who are deployed or in an emergency situation.

I am an administrative volunteer, helping to filter foster applicants and the military service members to their regional coordinators. With this comes assisting one of the national
directors to keep the map updated to more easily facilitate locating appropriate foster homes more quickly. Intermittently, I assist with very short term emergency fostering.

By matching up foster homes with military pets, we are able to keep the members of our armed forces connected with their pets while they are unable to care for them. They are reunited when the term of service or emergency is over. This keeps these pets out of the rescue system and keeps many of them from an otherwise unhappy ending.

Please pass the word about this very worthy organization. Their volunteers work tirelessly to support our country and those that defend it.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

ways that are not tangible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Upgrade to a database such as Microsoft Access, which i think is already under consideration.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 21, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2011

Guardian Angles for Soldier's Pets is a much needed organization. They are doing a wonderful work. My son is currently deployed and was lucky enough to have his Mom take care of his dog while he is gone. Many military people don't have the option of family or friends to care for their pets. GASP ensures that many pets will have the care and love they needs while their "people" have to be away.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Not yet, but I will. Just discovered it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more publicity.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help spread the word by visitng our website and clicking on Promotional Materials to print out and share with others within their local community, friends, co-workers, and family. Volunteer