Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.866675
Write A Review
November 22, 2014

more

November 22, 2014

Guardian Angels for Soldiers Pets is a great organization. They saved my old dog’s life and enabled me to perform my duty without the burden of putting an old friend to sleep. I was alerted for quick movement in support of a named operation. I was confronted with the emotionally charged dilemma about my old, blind dog Jimmy. With less than a week to get my affairs in order, a conspiracy of circumstances that precluded shipping Jimmy to my family, a taxing set of old dog maladies that included congestive heart failure, cataracts, and history of terrier rambunctiousness: Jimmy’s days were looking numbered. I got all weepy thinking that the little rascal would be heading to Valhalla before nature called. Enter Guardian Angels for Soldiers Pets.

I heard about this organization through Military OneSource. The responded promptly and effectively. They put me in contact with local foster family, Charlotte and Mike, who took Jimmy into their loving home at the drop of a hat. They dealt with Jimmy’s issues and accommodated several extension to my return date. Charlotte and Mike help me get Jimmy prepared for my follow on overseas PCS by getting all his blood test up to date. All total, Guardian Angels and Soldiers Pets is an amazing organization that helped me resolve my dilemma and avoid putting an old friend to sleep in order to accommodate urgent operational requirements. I am grateful and cannot speak more highly of Charlotte, Mike, Carol, and the entire Guardian Angels for Soldier's Pet organization....just super.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I had an emergency at home when I was stationed in Afghanistan 2 years ago and needed my dogs fostered right away. I found Guardian Angels for Soldiers Pets online and within 3 days, all my dogs were fostered out. I could not believe how fast they worked to save my dogs. I will always be indebted to them.

They are now fostering my dogs once again while I am deployed. This is a caring and committed organization and Linda Spurlin-Dominik who runs the organization is one of the caring and dedicated person I have ever met.

They are doing great things for our soldiers and veterans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to work more as a volunteer for this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

My family fostered 3 kitty's and one puppy for 13 months. AMAZING experience. We have always had pets and when we found our home empty, Guardian Angels became available. We took the whole family and it was so much fun. We took the dog on vacations ( 2 ) with us and they became little 4 legged members of our community also. The neighbors all got to know them and love them too. They will be soooo missed as our home seems to empty this morning, but all of them are home, happy and healthy and we have some of the best memories. What a fantastic experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes, everything was made clear and simple and the co-ordinator stayed in touch as did the service man.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

I was able to foster 2 cats from Tennessee from October until June. I loved have the kitties around and appreciated being able to help serve 2 of our country's armed forces. I was given constant support from the Indiana Coordinator, Carol. I was also able to communicate with the cats' real mom. I hope that I was able to help ease her mind while she was gone. When she came back, I was able to meet with her. I would definitely do this again!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

My husband and I both were deploying to Afghanistan and had no one to watch our two cats while we were away for a year. I checked in with Guardian Angels for Soldiers and they were able to link us up with a foster family within a month. The organization even helped ferry our beloved pets from our home near Nashville to Beth's home near Chicago. Beth kept me up to date with updates on our kitties throughout the deployment, with so many other things to worry about, I'm glad the cats had a safe and happy place to live. When I got home, I was able to travel to Chicago to meet Beth and her dad and it was wonderful meeting them and picking up my cats for the drive home. Great organization, I'm so blessed to have volunteers help out like that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more support and volunteers, what a great organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

We had a family emergency and within 6 hours a foster family was found for our dog Bear. The Maguire family emailed me very quickly and told me about their dogs and sent pictures. They also offered to pick up Bear from the kennel so he would only have to stay there up to two days. The family was in contact with me the entire time and kept me updated on how Bear was doing. When it was time to come home and get him they offered to bring him to our house (another 3 hour drive for them) but I said they have done more than enough and went to pick him up. The Maguires were there and were more than friendly with me and Bear came home with more manners than he left with. I am more than happy with this organization and would recommend it to ANYONE!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

I was getting ready to deploy and the home that was watching my 3 year old Dalmatian was no longer able to... I was given about a month to find a new place for him to stay....after doing a little research on google I found the Guardian Angels for Soldiers' pet website and submitted an application, with in a few days I recieved a call for a potential foster home and a few weeks later handed Jasper over. I just got back not very long ago and I could not have asked for a better home to watch Jasper he was so well taken care of and loved it melted my heart to see that their are people out there that care so much!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I recently finished a foster of a wonderful pit bull names Tyson. Tyson's owners, Desirae and Nik, are both in the Air Force and were being deployed at the same time. They were getting pretty nervous as they could not find a good situation for him when GASP matched us up. Tyson was with me for about six months and became a wonderful addition to my pack of two dogs and two cats. Though big and energetic he is truly a sweet and loving dog. I feel honored to have been able to help out two people who sacrifice so much to serve our country. I also feel I gained two new friends in the experience. Thank you for the wonderful work GASP does!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I happened to be at an animal shelter one day with a friend when a sailor walked in to turn in her dog as she was being deployed the next day and couldn't find anyone to take care of the pup. It was obvious she was heartbroken so I told her I'd take the dog and network her out to a more long term foster as my hands are already full with rescues/rehabs. Guardian Angels for Soldier's Pets stepped right up and offered to find a suitable foster home for this girl. The owner is ecstatic that she'll still have her beloved girl when she returns from overseas instead of having to wonder what happened to her in a shelter. The dedication of the coordinators for GASP is simply astounding and, as a Navy wife, it's comforting to know we have options should I find myself needing assistance while when my husband's deployed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 6, 2012

more

March 6, 2012

We are the second foster home for a cat whose owner was deployed in 2011. As it turned out, she wanted to be the only cat in the house and her previous foster home already had cats. I was so impressed with the care GASP and the previous foster took in getting the cat to a more favorable environment. Volunteers set up a relay to transport her to us and made sure to contact her owner and ease his mind. I cannot imagine having to face giving up a pet for a temporary deployment so we are thrilled to be able to keep that from happening even for one soldier. The volunteers are dedicated to the cause and I would highly recommend this to anyone with love to give as a volunteer, or for a soldier in need of care for a pet. A bonus for me has been "meeting" other volunteers through social media and hearing their funny stories, and just being part of this amazing group. Thank you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help spread the word by visitng our website and clicking on Promotional Materials to print out and share with others within their local community, friends, co-workers, and family. Volunteer