Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.904765
Write A Review
November 5, 2014

more

November 5, 2014

GTECH is a group of highly competent, creative, and compassionate people dedicated to developing innovative, sustainable solutions to community development. I worked with Megan and Andrew from the ReFuel team and I was consistently impressed by their hard work and critical thinking around problems facing the Pittsburgh community. The project I worked on with GTECH focused on how to turn an invasive species, knotweed, into a value-added product. I worked with the ReFuel team to evaluate the possibility of turning knotweed into biochar to be used as an agricultural additive to remediate urban soil. Biochar production is still a little developed field and the fact that GTECH was willing to take on a project in such a new field, is testament to the organizations willingness to innovate and think outside the box. Im thankful to have had the opportunity to work with GTECH and look forward to seeing what cool projects they will undertake next!
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

I first started volunteering with GTECH after learning about their work on vacant properties. They work to turn blighted properties into clean and functional pieces of land. Since then, I've learned that they do much more. GTECH is a creative and determined group with a lot of experience in harnessing community support. They use innovative methods to help solve serious local problems. I look forward to seeing what they are able to do in the future.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Hugely innovative organization with outsized impact...one of the very best nonprofits in the region!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

GTECH has really engaged members of our community through their ambassadors program and helped us bring some great projects to the South Side Slopes. The Little Free Libraries and the Knoxville Incline Overlook Park are fantastic additions to our community and they would've not happen without GTECH's leadership
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I first worked with people from GTECH when I joined the Larimer Community garden 6 yrs ago. A very friendly and knowledgeable group I felt comfortable with Megan and Andrew Immediately ! I am a paper maker and I grow my own plants for pulp.
I also harvest invasive plants from city lots. I
approached Megan and Andrew of GTECH about my art and we wrote a Sprout grant together I would harvest Japanese Knot Weed for paper making and GTECH used the plants to make Biochar. The project was called Knots on Lots, a big success! The project never would of happened if it was not for the expert grant writing knowledge and project planning from the team from GTECH.
Thank you GTECH
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

GTech is the ulimate in "tree huggers". GTech is a good steward of the earth and its natural resources. GTech affiorded me, a social worker who is consumed with saving the world and opportunity to save the world. As an African American I was consumed with "rescuing" the most at-risk low income black community.

Being involved with GTech allowed me an insight of how to work more effectively. Blighted buildings [crime] pollution [increase in health disparities] adding more green spaces [gardens - lend to healthy eating, decrease in obesity/cancer].

GTech is closely involved with one of the greatest natural resources of the planet and that is -- people. GTech invests in the development of people by sharing resources, offering skills and mentoring those with unrecognized skills, dreams and talent that have gone unfulfilled. Because of their investment in me; I can better serve the members of my community and in my profession.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

GTECH is a wonderful organization with an important vision and an exceptional team. We had the pleasure to collaborate with GTECH on a few multimedia projects that were exciting and fun. The team is very organized and thorough, which made the processes efficient and successful. GTECH's mission is inspiring and the communities its partnering with are inspiring as well. It's a tremendous organization to work with. Couldn't recommend it more highly.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I was a GTECH ReClaim South ambassador last year. They helped me create a new park in a vacant lot. Weeknights and Saturdays, the group always showed up and gave their best efforts. I would love to work with them on future projects!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

The folks at GTECH are wonderful. They are cheerful folks with awesome personalities. They support extremely worthwhile causes that help bring life back into our surrounding communities.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Not only are they a fun crowd of people to hang out with, they are all very passionate about their work, and it really shows in their final products. I got to know GTECH through their ReClaim South program which really got a lot of community members reinvested in their neighborhoods and has had a ripple effect throughout the community. Volunteering for their Two Wheels Lots of Green Event was also a great way to learn more about how far-reaching and diverse their many programs are, and how many neighborhoods they have had a positive effect on. Keep up the great work!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist us in community clean-up, construction, planting and harvesting at one of our many reclamation sites. Volunteer