Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

Our church prepares and delivers meals on Thanksgiving for various of our neighbors in need. Two years ago, we contacted Grove about providing meals to residents there. The coordinator, Deena Walls, was enthusiastic about the idea and was extremely helpful in getting us names of people to serve. She helped to coordinate the distribution so that the entire operation went very smoothly and everyone enjoyed a hot and delicious meal. The experience was as much a blessing for those of us who took part in getting the meal together as it was for the people who received it. We enjoyed doing Thanksgiving with the people of Grove again this year and we definitely look forward to this event in years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 3, 2011

more

December 3, 2011

I worked with the GCOC on a few occasions during an internship with a nearby church. I was struck by the berth and quality of services they provide, most especially with their food giveaways. Not only do they help on this large scale, but they also worked to help with individual needs as well as prayer for all who requested it. I am very grateful for the work of the GCOC as they serve a much-needed area of Virginia while compassion and thoughtfulness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 2, 2011

more

December 2, 2011

I was introduced to the Outreach Center in 2001. almost the infancy of the ministry. They were having church services at the elementary school across the street. Look at me now...they are super huge in work and super humble in heart. All you have to do is stop by there one time and I personally guarantee that you will not leave out there the same. It is a pure love that can not be mistaken.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 2, 2011

more

December 2, 2011

I was first introduced to Grove Christian Outreach Center when I first approached them about networking for a homecare agency I worked for. Then last year I was re-introduced when my daughter started volunteering for the center and I joined her. You can feel and see God's work in progress at this center. The director's are amazing and have the love and passion for the drive of this community. The hundreds of volunteers are the heartbeat-they all come from various walks of life but all come for the same purpose. I have had the pleasure of speaking to many of the clients of Grove and they are all so appreciative of what GCOC has done for them, many of which wouldn't be able to make it. Being an all volunteer community, it is amazing all the lives that they have impacted. Without the volunteers and the blessings of donations the center receives, they wouldn't be able to continue to help their clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2010

I started volunteering at GCOC in 2004. I was amazed to find that there were so many people in the Grove area of Williamsburg who were in need. GCOC does a fantastic job of meeting those needs by pr... more

December 1, 2011

I have been volunteering at the Grove Christian Outreach Center for seven years and have seen firsthand the help and love it has given to the residents of the Grove community. People in need are given food and clothing, plus backpacks filled with school supplies for their children. Thanksgiving baskets filled with a turkey and the necessary items to make a dinner are distributed. In the winter, coats are provided and shoe boxes filled with Christmas gifts are distributed. As the need arises, and if funds are available, help with rent and utility bills is also given. The people who come to the Center are met with a cheerful greeting and their troubles are listened to with sympathy and often a prayer. This is truly a community where the people who come are not just clients, but they are considered friends.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Changed lives and a sense of community in which the residents help and care for each other.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization needs a larger building to house all the donations it receives and to make it more efficient in serving the clients.

November 2, 2010

I started volunteering at GCOC in 2004. I was amazed to find that there were so many people in the Grove area of Williamsburg who were in need. GCOC does a fantastic job of meeting those needs by providing food, clothing, school supplies, school uniforms, Thanksgiving and Christmas food baskets, and Christmas shoeboxes filled with small toys and other needed items. They are also a distributor of USDA food to our clients. They do many other things for the clients for which I do not have room to list here. We pray for the needs of the clients and encourage them when they are going through difficulties. The clients are treated with dignity and respect and they have truly become friends. As a volunteer I have not only given of my time, but have received much through the joy of working with the wonderful, caring people at GCOC.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The smiles and appreciation from the clients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization currently works out of a very small trailer. It desparately needs a larger building.

November 30, 2011

more

November 30, 2011

When I volunteered at a back to school event, I was surprised at the number of young children that are at risk & in need in just this small community. Grove Christian Outreach Center offered these children, families & friends a free event with games, food, fun & laughter. GCOC also supplied all attending free school supplies & basic toiletries. Local businesses participated by donating items & a few companies set up booths for games or to handout goodies. I was overwhelmed with all the hard work it took to implement this annual event and realized this effort of tending to the needs of this community & others is a daily process.

A weekly bread day, clothes closet, transportation, tutoring/ teaching, finding housing & home furnishings & other home goods are some of the ongoing functions of this Center. These are only a few of the tangible things; the nurturing, love, prayers, comfort & hope offered by the staff & volunteers is the really the mainstay. I truly believe GCOC is the heart, soul & spirit of this community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I live in an area that caters to tourism; to promote visitors to enjoy our community, a sense of good living & prosperity is promoted. I have live here many years & was not aware of the Grove community until I became acquainted with a staff member. She recruited me to volunteer for this event & I was astonished to see "the other side" of town! Yes, I heard or read news reports of families with no home or food & clothing, but felt it was some where else. Now I want to do more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Involve more social clubs to adopt a project & make GCOC the "in" place to volunteer. Community awareness is rising, more news articles & staff does a lot of public speaking, but still lots of people know of GCOC, but not really all they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Have better, easier to access storage space for craft supplies & pop up tents. It is very crowded & some times not easy to find things.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Meet new friends, improved people skills. Because space is so limited, staff is highly organized, I appreciate this & it helped me improve my use of space at home & time management.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt useful & needed. A big ego boost to feel you have/serve some purpose. I also appreciate my living environment more.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2011

more

November 29, 2011

I was introduced to the Grove Christian Outreach Center (GCOC) through United Way when I contacted United Way to do volunteer work with an organization that provides food. I had not heard of the GCOC previously, but was wiling to see what they were all about. I have seen the impact they have made in the lives of those in the community and the homeless (from wherever they may be). But more than the clothes, food, vouchers, etc that they provide, what amazes me the most is the endless love that they give to whoever walks through their door. The staff works with little thanks other than the love that they receive in return. They are, indeed, amazing. I am blessed to see the change they make in the lives of their clients, whether they be new born or elder.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Following a hurricane in the summer of 2001, I assisted in providing food to those in need. The receivers of this good will, most of whom were without electricity, would not have otherwise have had food.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide them more staff and better working conditions. As their mission grows, they are with barely any space in which to function.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I answered the other questions and came back to this one. I cannot think of a change that would better my experience.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've met folks that I would not have otherwise met. I have a greater appreciation for the poor and for those who care for them.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Better about myself, knowing that I was contributing not only to the clients, but, hopefully, making the burden of those who work there full time, a bit easier.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2011

more

November 29, 2011

Have been assocated with Grove Christian Outreach Center from the very beginning. Helped to set it up and run the small outreach to the community. It has grown from nothing to the "little engine that could."
Under the leadership of the Lord, Grove Christian Outreach Center has grown into a
mighty asset for the less fortunate. With all volunteers, it serves the Grove community with love and compassion, providing food, clothes, services, furniture, spiritual support, moral support, Christmas gifts for the children, back to school program furnishing backpacks to kids. All of this while maintaining the diginity of the individual. I could go on and on but this gives you some idea of what GCOC is all about.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

This organization needs a lot more space for all the clients and all the work they do serving the community. A building program is under way and a new building will make life a lot easier for everyone.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've met many wonderful people through work at Grove Christian Outreach Center.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It feels great to help those in need.

November 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with and observed Grove Christian Outreach's positive effect and help to this community since 2006. It is amazing to me what God has helped them to accomplish with the vision that they have acted upon to help so many residents in the poorest section of James City County, Virginia. It has been very humbling to observe and participate throughout these years in seeing how they are able to coordinate the effort to help so many in need and discern those that are in need and be able to help them make progress to improve their situation in a comprehensive fashion. I applaud them for all they do and wish to continue to help them meet the continuing needs in this area.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally witnessed how this ministry helps people in need by delivering food, clothing & other essentials. Sometimes, as I am unloading these items, people have already applied for them and I can see their appreciation for receiving them. In working with the children during a VBS and their parents interest that they receive help, it is most evident that this organization is helping those most in need in a various number of ways during this recession.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know of any suggestions to improve their operation. I think they have excelled in exploring new areas of helps and endorse their plan of increasing their area of operation to facilitate that vision.

November 29, 2011

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2010

Over the past 10 years, they have done a great job in providing clothing, food, furniture & school supplies to the needy. They have had an Annual Christmas shoe Box project for boys & girls age di... more

November 29, 2011

Capable, professional & efficient co directors who are resourceful & persistent in getting volunteers & financial help to meet the physical, $$$, health & spiritual needs of the poor. I have seen persistaant progress over almost 10 years.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

getting email newsletters of various stories of needs filled through Grove Christian Outreach

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

promote environmental sustainability awareness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none now that I can think of.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

more self confidence in keeping track of baskets picked up with organized category tally sheet.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

that I was obeying the Bible scripture "To Much is given, Much is required". a way of showing gratitude for God goodness towards me.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 1, 2010

Over the past 10 years, they have done a great job in providing clothing, food, furniture & school supplies to the needy. They have had an Annual Christmas shoe Box project for boys & girls age different range stuffed with gloves, scarves, hats, pens, combs, brushes etc. They also have a coat rack where they can pick up winter coats.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I know the Co-Director and have seen her dedication & enthusiasm.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none at the moment

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers