Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.944445
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

After connecting with Groundwork Opportunities (G.O.) in 2011 I was welcomed with open arms to a family that was making great things happen. It began as a curiosity and interest in the work they were doing and grew to me joining their cause. WIth a full support team, extensive network of global leaders, and commitment to see progress and change, I felt (and feel), part of something big. Joining G.O. this past year I traveled to Masaka, Uganda with 5 students to volunteer and learn about the efforts in food security at a model farm in the rural agricultural lands. What we saw and took part in was extraordinary. With G.O.'s funding, source of new ideas and innovations, and 'boots on the ground' hard work and sweat, thier impact has been mighty, bringing food and income to the table for thousands of local families. Coming home from Uganda, I felt a need to continue their mission. Again with the help and support of Groundwork, I was able to develop a successful 'Champion' funding campaign raising money to bring clean stoves to the women of Masaka. Very different than many non-profit organizations in the field, G.O. guarantees 100% of the money raised goes directly to the source. That point alone is incredibly empowering. I continue to support and believe in Groundwork Opportunities's mission to bring positive change in the global world. Thank you GO!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Groundwork Opportunities (GO) is an extremely effective organization because it is run by the most passionate, smart, dedicated, creative, caring, and inspiring individuals. They work with volunteers and engage with communities to support innovative ideas and empower local leaders. I am volunteering with GO and it's a wonderful experience because they are experienced, organized, professional, and fun! Additionally, 100% of funds donated to GO, go directly to the cause. Go GO!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Groundwork Opportunities (or GO fro short) is an organization I am highly supportive of, because their approach to serving communities in need is revolutionary. By believing in "the power of their ideas and our support," they are able to delivers support that serves their constituency in the best way possible. I'm proud to be working with such a tight-knit group of ambitious people who continue to stay true to their values as philanthropists.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I can't think of a more impactful and passionate organization than Groundwork Opportunities. Watching GO grow in its reach and maturity as an organization over the past few years has been inspirational. GO deserves every accolade and recognition they earn.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Groundwork Opportunities is a one-of-a-kind organization that truly impacts the lives of hundreds and hundreds of people in the communities in which GO works. I have seen the work that GO does first-hand, and am inspired and humbled by the network GO has created, the lives GO has touched, and the local leaders GO have empowered. GO does not go into a community wanting to change it, but rather finds local community members who have a dream. GO gives them the means to make that dream become a reality. Thank you for what you do, GO.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Groundwork Opportunities (GO) has really done a great job with outreach and finding support from the community. I also really appreciate the way that they find projects and partners, ensuring that something can be sustained over time, not just a one time "fix and get out". It is important to keep the long term support needs in mind, and GO does that. Thanks GO!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

For more than a decade, I actively sought the perfect non-profit organization to work with to fulfill my dreams of doing humanitarian work in Africa. No matter which I sought out, I was continuously disappointed. Where was my money going? Who was it really benefiting? Why was I sending an organization money instead of giving it to a specific project? So I pursued other humanitarian efforts in other countries, putting Africa on hold. Until the day I discovered Groundwork Opportunities. GO jived with everything I believed in, and more. Within 48 hours, I was called by one of the founders and given specific, special attention. Instead of feeling skepitcal, I was left in awe of their goals, values, and character. We worked together to build a pig farm in Uganda that is currently on its trajectory to change the lives of thousands of people. GO will be a part of my life for the REST of my life. Any and all humanitarian efforts I aspire to from this point out, I will accomplish with GO. There is no better organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

GO is an exciting 501(c)(3) working within the framework of the UN’s Millennium Development Goals to help meet anti-poverty targets through sustainable development.
Based in San Francisco, GO’s reach extends to vulnerable communities across the globe.
Working at the grassroots where it
believes it can have the greatest impact, GO’s philosophy is simple: To empower local visionaries and entrepreneurs to engage their own communities and take part in designing their own sustainable futures.
By providing the tools, skills and resources to believe and invest in their own ideas, communities take ownership of their projects and are committed to their success. The outcomes are self evident.
GO is transforming lives at every level. Most of all by creating leaders in their natural environments.
I congratulate the terrific team at GO for its passion, spirit and success. Truly inspirational - you have my avid support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 3, 2011

more

August 3, 2011

I first learned of GO from volunteering at their Presidio 10K this year. I felt compelled to contribute my time towards their cause--raising funds to build a 2nd story to the school they originally funded in a Ghanaian village because I had recently traveled there. Everyone had such great energy and enthusiasm at the event and I continue to be inspired by GO's accomplishments--the school addition was built in less than 90 days. I love that they support indigenous communities' ideas and are incredibly driven, results-oriented, and deeply committed to making lasting change where it is needed most.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having been mentored by Bart in building my social enterprise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

August 2, 2011

more

August 2, 2011

Since I connected with GO my bussiness has grown rapidly, I have being receiving and hosting GO'S volunteers who come to visit projects here in in Moshi Tanzania. They were all nice people and foward looking to serve those who are ineed in the community. Go has grown fast since its started on its mission to conduct different projects in the community ineed world wide and this is due to its good management, commited staff and loving what they are doing. Iam so hapy and proud to be GO'S partners.
Wish you all the best on comming projects and together we can.
Ibrah Mkizu

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes, many projects are completed and others on process on ground and they are going well so far.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

So far so good,,, excelent. They should continue working hard as always.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Organize photos on our site, write a compelling blog about recent on the ground developments, share our Facebook page, Volunteer