Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.764715
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Grounds for Health identified a life threatening need and has provided a low tech, targeted and focused solution. They not only make an immediate difference in women's lives, they make an ongoing difference in the communities they serve. As a donor, I am thrilled to know that my contributions go directly to saving and improving people's lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2013

more

November 18, 2013

I've had the pleasure of volunteering for Grounds For Health in Nicaragua and just recently returned from Peru. The concept of training in country health care providers to continue to provide services in a sustainable manner is what makes this nonprofit organization successful. The training sessions have all been well organized. The in country providers are very appreciative of the volunteers that come to help educate them from different parts of the U.S.
I have met and worked alongside great volunteers and will continue to volunteer in future trips.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

strongly suggest that they publish their data in a professional peer-reviewed journal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

I have volunteered as a nurse practitioner 8 times in Mexico, Nicaragua and Peru. I volunteer with Grounds for Health because it is SUSTAINABLE work, the projects are done in tandem with the coffee cooperatives and the Ministry of Health; once we leave the projects continue.
Si se
puede!
Suzanne Germain ANP

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Grounds for Health has developed an exemplary model that many other organizations could learn from. Volunteering with them was a fantastic experience that I would highly recommend if you are a healthcare provider!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I volunteered with this group recently as a Women's Health Nurse Practitioner. Grounds for Health is focused on training medical professionals in coffee growing countries to screen and treat cervical cancer using effective techniques that are approriate to low resource settings. I think their method is especially effective because they have cultivated strong relationships with local medical providers and have formed a partnership with them to train medical professionals to improve the care they offer their patients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Incease their funding so they could do more projects

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have known and worked with Grounds For Health for 8 years (since 2005) first in Mexico and then in Nicaragua. In that time I have seen them develop their model for community based cervical cancer prevention, and training local providers in a simple effective “see and treat” approach.

Although small, they are one of the more effective organizations I have worked with – mobilizing local organization through the coffee cooperatives, and training, equipping and supporting doctors and nurses at the local Ministry of Health centers. Since they began in Nicaragua (2007), they have worked in 3 different health departments in Nicaragua -- first Jinotega, then Matagalpa, and now Madriz. At each step they have improved their model and the local organization to support it.

Other organizations could learn from studying their strengths.

Susan Howe, MPH, Epidemiology
Providing clinical support and program evaluation to programs in Nicaragua since 2004.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Learning from the experience they have built so far, I recommend they work more with the local Ministry of Health to understand and implement what is required to ensure the sustainability of the program after Grounds for Health leaves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I first volunteered with Grounds for Health in 2008, as a clinical volunteer teaching and providing cervical cancer screenings to poor women in rural Nicaragua. I was immediately impressed by the level of organization of the staff, and how they were able to use my time effectively to make a big difference in the health of the local population. The staff of Grounds for Health are highly professional and competent, and also very fun to work with. The work was based on sound evidence of best practices in developing countries, and was coordinated with the local ministry of health of our host country. I felt my time and skills were used not only to help the women directly served by our campaign, but also to train local health care providers so that the technique would spread and have an ever-increasing impact on the health of the population. I have been volunteering with this group every since, and have grown increasingly impressed with their work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not sure i can think of any changes needed at this point, except maybe that it would be lovely if they had enough financing to help cover some of their volunteers' travel expenses!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I've known GFH for 10 years, as a personal donor, corporate grantmaker, and now board member. The organization gets terrific results on a critical challenge. They run a tight ship, keeping their focus on the people they serve and on how to deliver and scale the best tools to deliver the right results. Highly recommend!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I inquired about volunteering as a physician several years(4?) ago, was told I would be going to Africa in 12 months and then when I had heard nothing further I called and was told that project was cancelled and I would be notified of another opportunity. I never heard back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

maybe not take your volunteers for granted

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

GFH is one of the few organizations that has a simple mission and focus which they have stayed true to for over 15 years. Serving women in coffee producing areas that are at the end of the road and who would other wise not get services. Cervical cancer is preventable and treatable if caught early and over 45,000 women have been screened so far. I donate on a yearly basis and am gratified with the work this group is doing. I am also so happy to be in the coffee business which generously supports GFH.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have it grow to serve even more women!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers