Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
169 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

GALT is wonderful and has a team of very committed volunteers. We adopted both of our beloved Greyhounds from GALT, and they have been such a joy to have in our family. GALT takes "greyt" care of every Grey in their possession, from providing for their medical needs to giving love in their foster home. GALT also makes it easy to volunteer at events and stay connected with the Greyhound community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 3, 2013

I can not say enough wonderful things about GALT. We live in Tennessee and support GALT as well as our Local GPA group. They set a wonderful example for All nonprofit rescue groups. We will always con... more

March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I live in Tennessee and have followed and Donated over the last 5 years. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this group. They are first class and professional in every way. I only wish they were closer so that I could participate in person!!!! Thanks for all the Hard work you do for the Hounds.
May 3, 2013

I can not say enough wonderful things about GALT. We live in Tennessee and support GALT as well as our Local GPA group. They set a wonderful example for All nonprofit rescue groups. We will always continue to Donate to help them continue there wonderful works!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2013

Wonderful Group, I live in Tenn. and have 4 Greyhounds,I support this group and Donate to there cause. Cant say enough good things about them. Keep up the wonderful works you all do. Thanks!!!!
Sallie Brady and Randy Stone and our Livestock LOL

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 16, 2011

GALT is a remarkable greyhound rescue organization run 100% by volunteers and funded 100% by donations and fundraisers. My involvement with GALT started when my husband and I began our search for a ne... more

April 15, 2013

As a GALT volunteer and donor, I can definitely attest to this important organization. My greyhound broke his leg during his last race back in 2010. GALT is the only greyhound adoption group in Texas that will accept greyhounds with broken leg injuries from the racetrack. Without GALT, I shudder to think of what would have happened to him. GALT paid for his broken leg surgery and his loving foster mom opened up her home to him during his recuperation. With GALT, you can rest assured your donation will go towards helping the greyhounds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

GALT is a remarkable greyhound rescue organization run 100% by volunteers and funded 100% by donations and fundraisers. My involvement with GALT started when my husband and I began our search for a new family member. During our adoption process we discovered GALT to be extremely organized, efficient, and dedicated. Due to the the generous donations and hard work of GALT's volunteers, thousands of greyhounds have been placed into forever homes.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my adoption of Dolce. Dolce was taken in by GALT after his racing injury. GALT paid for his surgery and rehabilitation. His loving and generous foster family introduced him to home life, which made his transition into our house seamless. Dolce joined our family happy, healthy and well-adjusted. This is a testament to GALT's successful work with rescuing and rehabilitating greyhounds and placing them into forever homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My only wish is that more people will dedicate themselves to this amazing organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Internet

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I am now a big advocate for greyhounds.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 9, 2012

We have been very lucky to have been "adopted" by two wonderful Greyhound boys in the past eight years through GALT. Our first, Mackie, passed away unexpectedly four years ago. Of course, we were dev... more

April 14, 2013

GALT's commitment to "No Grey Turned Away" is appreciated by individuals near and far who are watching our organization's every move and all that we do. However, most importantly, GALT is appreciate most by those who benefit most from GALT - the Greyhounds themselves who find their way into in loving and forever homes.

For example, our first Greyhound, Mackie, he was found wandering with his brother, Luke, on the streets of Fort Worth. We "met him" online nine years ago. We loved Mackie for oh so short of a time as he crossed the Rainbow Bridge much too early. Then we met Sammy in Rockwall, and he found his way into our hearts and home four and a half years ago. He also brought us to a new found friend/family member, his original owner. Our lives are complete.

I can't think of a better organization that lives and breathes each day to make sure every Greyhound that comes to GALT WILL be safe, loved and find its forever home .



More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

We have been very lucky to have been "adopted" by two wonderful Greyhound boys in the past eight years through GALT. Our first, Mackie, passed away unexpectedly four years ago. Of course, we were devistated, but three months later we adopted our second furkid through GALT. Sammy and he is a total joy in our lives. GALT makes this happen for Greyhounds and their potential parents every day of every year of their existance. There is not ONE GREY ever turned away by this incredible group of volunteers who sole purpose is to find a greyt home for these greyt dogs. I know there are others like me who count their blessings every day that GALT is here and ready to help when we are called upon. Thank you GALT for past, present and future placements of Greyhounds into their forever homes.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

I am familiar with a lot of greyhound adoption groups throughout the United States, and GALT has earned my respect and appreciation for all they do for the breed. Many adoption groups have strict criteria for the dogs they accept, including the age of the dog, the general health and injuries suffered at the track, such as broken bones. GALT takes ALL greyhounds, no matter how dire the situation, or how much potential expense may be involved.

Their keen understanding of fundraising is also key to their continued success. Some event is always going on-- to raise money, as well as awareness. This requires a huge volunteer base, and kudos to GALT for keeping their volunteers happy and involved. Many volunteers also serve as fosters, which helps incoming dogs adjust to life outside a kennel, and with a loving family.

GALT is one of the rare nonprofit organizations that does everything well, and yet is not complacent about its success. Those are some of the reasons the people of GALT are my heroes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 11, 2012

I am part of a small scale rescue in Belgium, being involved in Greyhound rescue and a facebook user, you look for kindred spirits on the net. I was browsing on facebook and stumbled on the cutest gr... more

April 8, 2013

I have been following GALT for a couple of years on FB and thought they did a fabulous job ! I got to know a few of their volunteers pretty well and saw them as my dear friends even though I had never met them in person as I live in Belgium. Last februari I set off to meet these wonderful people in real life and made the trip to Dallas. I had so much fun meeting them and talking with them, they made me feel right at home. GALT does so much for the dogs and for the people who are supporting them. GALT is my favourite rescue in the States! Keep up the good work and maybe till next year? :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am part of a small scale rescue in Belgium, being involved in Greyhound rescue and a facebook user, you look for kindred spirits on the net. I was browsing on facebook and stumbled on the cutest greyhound ever, GALT's Blind Spot. I fell madly in love with him, but as I live in Belgium I was not able to adopt this beautiful boy. So the only other thing I could do was donate. Even though I was on the other side of the world, I felt welcome in the GALT family. GALT does amazing work, they go the extra mile to save any greyhound that crosses their path. Through Spot, I got to "know" some fantastic people (and 4 leggers). I am very happy that I found this rescue!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm very happy that GALT updates their site very often and I follow them an facebook also, were I read about what's happening.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are doing greyt!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The medical conditions of GALT's Blind Spot

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I hoped that I could help a little with the medical expenses

What would you tell others about this organization?

For those living in TX: if you are considering to adopt a greyhound, be sure to get in contact with these wonderful people. I 'm certain they will find the right dog for your home. For the rest of the world: please donate to this wonderful organisation, they need more funds to continue their work

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a financial donor, it is important to know the Mission of an organization; to see the members of that charitable group act proactively to bring that Mission to fruition and to see the organization grow not only in members, but also in success stories. GALT (Greyhound Adoption League of TX) embodies this model. When describing "why" someone should donate their time or money to GALT; I simple explain the "Three R's: RESCUE, REHAB and REHOME". Without fail, GALT is there for ANY sighthound (retired racers, lurchers and unregistered greyhounds) in need: legally taking possession of the hound and obtaining the neccessary medical care to stabilize the dog before placing them into foster care and ultimately, a FUREVER HOME. It takes great skill to bring a group of volunteers together to achieve a common goal. GALT has not only completed this task...they have mastered it. Clearly, IT IS ALL ABOUT THE HOUNDS with GALT!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reading the multiple success stories of the dogs that have come into their care as evidenced by: the surrender of the hound; addressing the medical needs/charting the recovery and wellness of the hound and ultimately, the placement of the hound.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

GALT provides medical care to the hounds, regardless of the need or cost. Vet. care is costly...and can easily put an organization out of business. Financial assistance is always a welcome "gift".

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Someone had recently helped me when I was having a medical crisis for my personal hound. I wanted to repay their gift however; it was refused. I chose to hold a fundraiser in an effort to "PAY IT FORWARD" for the kindness and financial assistance that was shown to me.

What would you tell others about this organization?

If you need an example of what a 501c3 should be...please, follow GALT's activities/examples of caring for the hounds; creative fundraising and membership recruitment. This organization is run like a "FUN" business...and that business is taking care of the discarded hounds.

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

GALT is a wonderful organization with dedicated people who work tirelessly to make the greyhounds lives better. GALT has saved many, many greyhounds, an extroidinary number the last few years in a bad economy ... somehow they find the money & resources to help these gentle dogs heal in order to enjoy a better life. My two furbabies are from GALT. WE LOVE GALT ♥

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

I met friends from GALT via FB two years ago, and admire their amazingly consistent approach toward saving abandoned, abused and runaway greyhounds. This group's motto - No grey will be turned away - is a credo, an oath that all their members honor. Their ability to raise the funds for the care of so many examples of this beautiful breed is exemplary and includes the participation of interested people from many cities and states. I live in Ohio and took part in their recent auction of items donated. It was fun, and very well-organized. GALT has so many greys that they have to call on people in their area to foster the dogs until they are adopted to forever homes. So many foster homes answer the call, and some already are fostering other greys in their care. Their updates on how their rescued groups are coming along are heartwarming and informative. The updates have in many ways made me feel close to the greys and the members. GALT represents the best of what animal rescue is meant to be. I, for one, am in awe of their many accomplishments.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

After many years of donating art to fund-raisers and non-profit events, I had given up even trying. When the representatives of GALT contacted me I was apprehensive but decided to donate one last time. The entire operation went so smoothly and professionally, and I was alerted that all the proceeds from the auction of art went directly to GALT (rather than to offshoot satellite organizations who pulled the event together.) I may not donate art again but would definitely work with and donate money to GALT in the future. A stellar organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

spend time with our hounds in boarding - walking, playing, grooming and otherwise interacting with them; help out at a GALT fundraiser. Volunteer