Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
169 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

I adopted my greyhound this past February. GALT was wonderful to work with. The process was easy and pie and now I own a wonder, sweet grey. I enjoy the news letters, as well as the fundraisers to help with the vet bills for some of the incoming greys who need medical attention. I look forward to possibly adopting another grey and working and/or volunteering for this wonderful organization in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

We adopted our first greyhound 3 years ago from another organization. When we decided to adopt another greyhound this year, we reached out to GALT. We have been amazed at this incredible group of people who have dedicated their time, dollars and hearts to helping a breed considered by some to be disposable. They spent time getting to know us, meeting our family, including our other greyhound, and answering our questions to ensure that we found the right fit for our family and lifestyle. We ended up adopting a hound who was injured during a race on a track near the gulf coast. GALT volunteers transported him to the DFW area, sought medical evaluation for his badly broken leg, and after it was determined that the leg should be removed, they made sure he got the necessary surgery and then the post-surgery care and love he needed to heal. He had wonderful foster parents who cared for him until he hopped into our lives. We've been loving him ever since and he has become a special part of our family... we can't imagine our family without him now and we have the wonderful folks of GALT to thank!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

GALT does an amazing job of taking in any greyhound and helping them to get proper medical care when needed, loving foster homes, and carefully selected forever homes. They are professional and do amazing work to get support for the cost of what they do with great marketing efforts that take a lot of volunteer coordination. The love for the hounds is clearly their biggest motivator, and they do a wonderful job helping bridge the gap for these special creatures between the track and life as a dog, or sometimes unknown origins and horrible neglect and/or abuse. The fact that no hound is turned away is one of the most amazing things about this great organization. I am have two beautiful greyhounds from them, and they are wonderful companions. Can't say enough good stuff about this group!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

GALT is hands down the most amazing animal-welfare nonprofit I have been interacted with. We have rescued many dogs over the past twenty years, and GALT hands down was the best agency to work with. We adopted a greyhound with them in the Fall of 2011 and I continue to follow their work to this day. They are 100% dedicated to their greyhound rescue work. For a volunteer-run, non-profit, they operate with the professionalism of a big corporation. The efforts they go to for the sake of greyhounds are admirable. They are a role model for all animal welfare agencies.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

I recently adopted a rescue from GALT who was found abandoned in a trailer with 10 other greyhound and greyhound mixes. GALT does an amazing job of getting available dogs out at meet and greets, provide tons of information for new greyhound owners, and are generally warm and welcoming people. Their dedication to rescuing and rehabilitating injured and abandoned greyhounds is astounding. No greyhound is turned away, no matter what their situation is, and trust me, they get a lot of injured greyhounds that need expensive medical treatments. It's a truly amazing organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012

more

January 26, 2012

GALT is a wonderful organization that puts the greyts first and foremost in anything they do. The dogs' welfare is of upmost importance and the adoption coordinators are very well trained to ascertain whether a greyhound is the best pet for your family. My family went to several meet and greets to find our sweet Trixie. During that time, we were treated professionally, with courtesy and care. Finding the right combination of pet and family is the most important thing for these folks. They tirelessly devote themselves to raising money and taking care of these sweet dogs and generally educating the public on how wonderful greyhounds truly are.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 21, 2011

more

December 21, 2011

We first came to know GALT when a friend of ours let us know about a greyhound that needed a new home. We got to know the people running the organization at that time, and now have our second greyhound as a part of our family. The leadership and volunteers of GALT are all around wonderful people, who help greyhounds find their forever homes. The volunteers who foster greyhounds do a wonderful job transitioning the dogs from their life at the racetrack to a life with a family. GALT make sure the dogs are completely healthy, and prepared for home life prior to allowing them to be adopted. The cost to GALT to prepare each animal for adoption is far greater than the adoption fee that they receive from the adopting family, and GALT does a great job raising funds. In the past, we owned restaurants, and partnered with GALT for fundraising activities. The truly wonderful thing about GALT is that they live up to their motto of "No grey turned away." Anytime they are contacted they take in the hound and prep him or her for adoption. GALT is a top-flight organization, and one I'm proud to have helped, and will continue to support them as best I can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

When we decided to adopt a greyhound, little did we know we were truly blessed when we met GALT. They're the premier greyhound adoption group in the country and have the most committed and loving volunteers. I have witnessed first-hand that they do whatever it takes (however much it costs) to improve each greyhound's health to 100% normal before they're available for adoption. And they do all this while keeping costs as low as possible. We can't imagine life without our sweet Diva (former racing name, Killer Diva). She is the light of our lives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their superior volunteer services and strong commitment to greyhound rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

refer as many people as possible!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

They had a display with available greyhounds at an event we attended. That's where we met, and fell in love with, our sweet greyhound!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

GALT is a collection of volunteers who work tirelessly to educate the public about greyhounds and offer fostering and adoption services for these wonderful pets. They have been very helpful in answering questions and providing advice about caring for my dog. Highly recommended!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

asking questions from volunteers staffing weekend adoption events

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them even more visibility. Possibly consider merging with other greyhound orgs to increase size & reduce duplication of effort

August 28, 2011

more

August 28, 2011

GALT is a greyt organization that will always help a greyhound in need. They make sure the new greyhound owners are educated on the breed and that the dog makes a smooth transition into the new family. They truly care about the greyhounds.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

adopted greyhound from them

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it so they don't have to worry about money to help all the injured and sick greyhounds

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

spend time with our hounds in boarding - walking, playing, grooming and otherwise interacting with them; help out at a GALT fundraiser. Volunteer