Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
169 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with the Greyhound Adoption League of TX for about a year now. Their mission statement of "No Grey Turned Away" defines their dedication. What a wonderful group of loving and dedicated volunteers who go the distance for the dogs they take in. I became an official "failed foster mom" just this month when I adopeted Vincent (aka NY Vinny). I

Jackie P.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After deciding to adopt a greyhound I found GALT and couldn't be happier! Even prior to adopting Lexi I knew I had found a wonderful group of dedicated people! I have an endless supply of answers to any questions and general support. I'm happy to say that I truly enjoy volunteering with them and considering everyone a wonderful new friend!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
May 3, 2013

I am a foster for GALT and help by donating items for benefit auctions. This organization is so wonderful in saving and re homing all greyhounds, off the track and abandoned. Their matto no grey tur... more

March 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have fostered for GALT for about 3 years and they are a wonderful dedicated team of folks that rescue and adopt out greyhounds. Those of us that volunteer are so grateful for GALT and all they do for the hounds. everyone is so caring and dedicated.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 3, 2013

I am a foster for GALT and help by donating items for benefit auctions. This organization is so wonderful in saving and re homing all greyhounds, off the track and abandoned. Their matto no grey turned away is so true.
I love fostering these wonderful dogs and think this is one of the BEST
rescues ever!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I foster for GALT and this is a wonderful, caring organization that truly cares for all greyhounds. They rescue greyhounds from the tracks or animal shelters and care for them until they find their "forever home". I have never worked with a more caring, professional group of dedicated people. I am very proud to be part of this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2012

I am a foster volunteer and have been doing it for about a year now. It is the most rewarding thing and I love each and every foster. GALT (Greyhound Adoption League of Texas) has done such a wonderful job of rescuing Greyhounds, caring for them, placing them in Foster homes until adopted into their forever home. My experience with the owners and other Foster members of GALT has been such a positive and rewarding experience. By providing a loving, kind foster home for the hounds, we can prepare them for their forever home that will be a success. We have a "Foster Frenzy" site where we can post things / share things about our fosters / and get help with questions about fostering or a specific question about a dogs health / habits. Great support group! So glad to be a part of it all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 14, 2013

We began fostering for GALT many years ago. Quickly we discovered that this organization was run by the most dedicated and selfless people we had met. There is not a single paid employee on the GAL... more

March 25, 2014

We volunteer and adopt from Greyhound Adoption League of Texas. It is truly amazing for an all volunteer group to be run so efficiently. If we, as foster volunteers, need something for our dog, if we are concerned about our foster, it gets addressed immediately. The dogs are so well cared for and so loved by every person in the group. Perhaps one of the best things about the group is how volunteers work so well together to insure that each dog receives the best care. Or, perhaps the best thing about the group is that no greyhound is turned away, no matter what the medical costs. We're proud to volunteer for such a fine organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes, just wishes that it were easier to find money to support the dogs' medical needs. then some of the volunteers wouldn't have to spend so much time fund raising

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2013

We began fostering for GALT many years ago. Quickly we discovered that this organization was run by the most dedicated and selfless people we had met. There is not a single paid employee on the GALT team. Everyone volunteers time, becomes a member, devotes energy and money and love all in an effort to bring greyhounds to their forever homes. We now are proudly owned by a GALT dog who is trained as a therapy dog. He is the perfect example of a terrible track racer who was taken in by an adoption group so that he could race into people's hearts. Thank you GALT for being there for every greyhound who needs you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 8, 2013

It's hard to put my feelings into words about GALT - always there every single time for greyhounds and other sighthounds too. GALT takes the tough cases that other groups won't touch - broken legs, ... more

March 25, 2014

GALT is simply the best! I have been associated with this group for years and just keep coming back for more. Their care and concern for the hounds and the creation of happy families is just unmatched. I am a GALT supporter for life. Come join the fun and gain a family!
April 8, 2013

It's hard to put my feelings into words about GALT - always there every single time for greyhounds and other sighthounds too. GALT takes the tough cases that other groups won't touch - broken legs, questionable heritage, stray puppies, old and unwanted - you name it.

I feel very proud
of this group and am so happy to be a member. I really recommend spending time with this group. It will be a real life-changing experience. (And you just might gain a new 4 legger for your family!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

I truly believe that GALT is THE best greyhound adoption group anywhere. The dogs are always, always put first - whether it is a greyhound fresh off the track with a broken leg or a poor pup who has been returned due to family changes. GALT finds the right solution for each and every one and even provides training if that is what is needed to get the dog its perfect home. It has been on year since I wrote my first review for GALT and I am even happier to be a GALT supporter today than I was then. I support GALT's "no grey turned away" motto.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing many greyhounds find the love and families that they deserve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing comes to mind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made so many new friends as a result.

October 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I support several greyhound adoption & rescue groups, but GALT is special to me. They go above and beyond and do not hesitate to take the real hardship cases as they arise - no matter what the situation is. That is why they have my support and always will. If someone is looking for a greyhound charity to support, GALT is the one.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing my donations put to good use and seeing all of the happy families enjoying their new additions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them find more money to help more greyhounds.

May 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My husband is a veterinarian and he has done some of the vet work for GALT since they started in 2001. We have both worked with many animal rescue organizations but Greyhound Adoption League of Texas is by far the best. They should write a book on how to run a rescue organization. To date they have found forever homes for over 2100 greyhounds. They work strictly on donations with an operating budget of over $250,000 per year. Their fundraising abilities are just phenomenal and this group works tirelessly to rescue, rehabilitate and adopt greyhounds, all the while, educating the general public about the joys of owning a greyhound. We have never worked with a better group of volunteers and what they do for greyhounds should not go unnoticed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

I initially adopted from GALT. It was the spirit and the professionalism of the volunteers that inspired me to be a part of this organization. I have now been a volunteer for about 2 years. This organization and it's all volunteer 'staff' are superior to any other organization that I have been involved in. The work that is done by this team to support the cause, 'NO GREY TURNED AWAY', is amazing. The dogs benefit, the adopters are supported even AFTER they adopt, there is a sense of community within the organization and the overall goal, to provide outstanding care to sight hounds is accomplished through the tireless efforts of the volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I just became a foster home for two Galt greyhounds. This organization is top notch, and most important, are all about the lives of these beautiful Greyhounds. Please take the time a read everything you can on the Galt's home web site, it will inform you, answer questions, entertain you, make you laugh and yes get the tissue out because you just might cry in happiness and sadness. So far everyone that I have talked to has been so kind, friendly and helpful. I have two fosters at this time, and I just love them. I look forward to getting to know all the wonderful people that make Galt who they are. (a quote I have read before) The Greyhound has such a large chest, but it has to be, because their heart is so big! To ALL the people that make Galt work, thank you. Starr from East Texas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 28, 2010

My husband and I got involved with GALT after adopting our first greyhound in January 2008. Since then, we have become active volunteers, foster parents and donors for this incredible organization (a... more

April 14, 2013

GALT has been in existence since 2001 and helped over 2100 greyhounds find their forever homes in its first 11 years of operation. Now in its 12th year, this all-volunteer 501(c)(3) organization is more committed than ever to its mottof of "No Grey Turned Away." In addition to placing former racing greys, GALT accepts owner returns, strays and victims of neglect situations. The adoption fees charged are quite modest, compared to the money GALT spends to ensure that all dogs are healthy and free of parasites before designating them as available for adoption.

Other than adoption fees, GALT depends entirely on donations to cover it primary operating expenses -- i.e. medical costs and boarding fees. A dedicated group of foster parents helps defray the boarding costs significantly. In addition to to providing a home and food for the foster greys, they also introduce the dogs to a home environment and teach them "house manners" -- including crate and potty training. Many of these foster parents join another large army of volunteers who help take care of dogs in boarding, provide transportation and assist with fundraising.

My husband and I have adopted three GALT greys, and we have fostered many others. We also assist with "TLC" for the dogs in boarding and are active in several GALT fundraisers. We do as much as we can because we truly believe in the work that GALT is doing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2010

My husband and I got involved with GALT after adopting our first greyhound in January 2008. Since then, we have become active volunteers, foster parents and donors for this incredible organization (and we also adopted a second greyhound along the way!) GALT received some greatly needed financial help (and recognition) from people all around the world this summer when word spread of its efforts to rescue several dogs in the horrible abuse case in Fort Worth (as documented in some of the other reviews on this site.) However, the need for funds is never-ending, since GALT relies heavily on donations in order to live up to its primary mission of never turning away a greyhound in need.



GALT has taken in several retired racers with broken legs in the past few months, along with several strays and other greys with severe illnesses. Medical expenses for each of these cases total several thousand dollars -- and they are still mounting. While some of the Fort Worth dogs have finally become healthy enough for adoption, there are still several who are continuing to receive special medical treatment.



GALT charges very reasonable adoption fees -- which only cover a portion of normal medical / processing costs. Another terrific thing about GALT? Before allowing a greyhound to be considered for adoption, this organization spends whatever is required for medical care to return the dog to full health. When you adopt a GALT dog, you know you are getting a completely HEALTHY animal with current vaccinations. As a result, the post-adoption "surprises" are held to an absolute minimum. Owner returns are relatively rare, but GALT's contract specifies that it will take back ANY adopted greyhound if problems do arise -- even if the problems have nothing to do with the dog (economic reasons, death, divorce, etc.) As a matter of fact, the contract REQUIRES the adopter to return the dog to GALT; that's how committed this organization is to each and every dog for the LONG term!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In addition to the volunteer projects outlined below, I've also fostered several of GALT's greyhounds and experienced the joy of delivering them to their new "forever homes." I have seen many very sick and/or seriously injured dogs arrive in GALT's care. After receiving the necessary medical treatment from GALT's vet partners, these dogs have gone to special "Injured Reserve" foster homes where they are lovingly nursed back to health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them some more money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Recruit more volunteers to help!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have really enjoyed my GALT friendships, and I have learned several new computer skills in some of my administrative duties.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It makes me feel like I am making a difference in the lives of these wonderful animals -- but also in the lives of the fabulous people who adopt them!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

Greyhound Adoption League of Texas has a goal of, No Grey Turned Away. I do my part to support that goal by fostering Greyhounds for GALT.

GALT makes it easy to foster - they provide all the vetting, the monthly heartworm and flea/tick preventative, and the support of and knowledge from
very experienced vets and volunteers. All I provide is food and love!

I believe that GALT helps me make a difference in the lives of Greyhounds, as well as a difference in my own life.

Thank you, GALT!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

spend time with our hounds in boarding - walking, playing, grooming and otherwise interacting with them; help out at a GALT fundraiser. Volunteer