Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
182 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 3, 2014

more

April 3, 2014

The Greyhound Adoption League of Texas is a well oiled machine of hard working volunteers that get the job done. I have volunteered with this group of dedicated people since 2005 and have seen what working together can get done!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a dog lover and greyhound lover all my life. I decided it was time to get involved and become a foster so I asked around on Facebook and asked some of my other friends who volunteer and they told me to go with GALT. It was so easy to start helping out. The other fosters are so helpful and you can always find someone to talk to if you have a question. If you just want to adopt and not foster, that's very easy, too! These dogs are taken in and treated like family. When you adopt you will find out things about your new family member. He/she won't just be dropped at your house with a hope that you can figure It all out. It's definitely the best way to go if you're able to take in an extra grey or two, or three.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 15, 2013

I became involved with the Greyhound Adoption League of Texas in 2005. This dedicated group of volunteers work together for the good of the greyhounds that come into their program. The extensive work... more

April 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

No grey turned away. Period. They accept the young, healthy, old, sick, injured, tattooed or not and find forever homes for each greyhound. Incredible group of dedicated volunteers working together to accomplish this mission of no grey turned away.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became involved with the Greyhound Adoption League of Texas in 2005. This dedicated group of volunteers work together for the good of the greyhounds that come into their program. The extensive work they do on the incoming greyhounds to get them ready for a home, the adoption process that does the best possible job matching the right family to the right greyhound and the continuing support given to the adopters and their hound is truly outstanding. GALT gives their all every time, every greyhound.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

The Greyhound Adoption League of Texas is a family of dedicated volunteers working together to find loving homes for greyhounds...all greyhounds. To provide the quality care that each greyhound that passes thru their loving hands receives is a huge financial committent that is funded only thru their tireless fundraising efforts and donations. GALT accepts the healthy, the sick, the broken legs, the old, and young greyhound. GALT volunteers have hearts as big as Texas. Love these people. Suppport GALT!!! Thank roooo!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 2005 our son rescued a greyhound from a local kill shelter and we fell in love with the breed. Soon after we adopted our first greyhound from the Greyhound Adoption League of Texas. We discovered that in our area there are many greyhounds that end up in the local shelter found as strays, injured or sick. GALT has always, without fail, taken in any greyhound we have found, in any condition and given that greyhound the medical attention it needed, no matter what the cost. Then worked tirelessly to find the perfect home for that greyhound. The entire group of Greyhound Adoption League of Texas volunteers is to me like a family united in the cause of helping all greyhounds all the time. We are proud to be a part of GALT.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As I write this three of our four greyhounds sleep near me. These three are our precious GALT Girls. Our senior girl Lou healed my heart, our first tripaw Gertie stole my heart and our second tripaw Peggy raced into our hearts spreading lots of wiggly joy. These three girls were all introduced to us through the efforts of the GALT staff and volunteers. GALT works tirelessly to ensure the greys get the best health care and training to help them find the perfect forever homes. GALT is simply the BEST!
April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for several years now and I consider the people and dogs of GALT to be my family. The leadership and dedication shown by the volunteers is absolutely amazing. There is no expense spared to make sure that these dogs receive the best possible care and no grey is turned away! I must admit I have been a foster failure 4 times (adopted my foster)...but have fostered over 40 dogs and fallen in love with all of them. I would strongly encourage anyone who is interested in a loving companion to consider adopting a greyhound.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything. The cost of medical care is very expensive and I only wish more people could perhaps make a monetary donation for the care of these greyt hounds! They are worth every cent and every cent is used wisely!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering as a foster mom with GALT for the entire time it had been in existence - 13 years, and stopped counting at 80 fosters hound. I LOVE the dogs and my GALT family. There is no end to the support, care, patience and love this group gives to both the hounds and the volunteers. The absolute best nonprofit around....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I encountered GALT from a friend's referral when we moved to the DFW area. I didn't look them up at first, but my friend kept nagging me and saying...this is the best greyhound rescue in the country. After awhile, I connected with GALT, and began fostering and volunteering occasionally, but the entire organization is so friendly and well-run that I'm now fundraising for them too. The best part about GALT is that they are an all-volunteer organization, so every single dime goes to the care and placement of the rescued dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with the Greyhound Adoption League of TX for about a year now. Their mission statement of "No Grey Turned Away" defines their dedication. What a wonderful group of loving and dedicated volunteers who go the distance for the dogs they take in. I became an official "failed foster mom" just this month when I adopeted Vincent (aka NY Vinny). I

Jackie P.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My husband is a veterinarian and he has done some of the vet work for GALT since they started in 2001. We have both worked with many animal rescue organizations but Greyhound Adoption League of Texas is by far the best. They should write a book on how to run a rescue organization. To date they have found forever homes for over 2100 greyhounds. They work strictly on donations with an operating budget of over $250,000 per year. Their fundraising abilities are just phenomenal and this group works tirelessly to rescue, rehabilitate and adopt greyhounds, all the while, educating the general public about the joys of owning a greyhound. We have never worked with a better group of volunteers and what they do for greyhounds should not go unnoticed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

I initially adopted from GALT. It was the spirit and the professionalism of the volunteers that inspired me to be a part of this organization. I have now been a volunteer for about 2 years. This organization and it's all volunteer 'staff' are superior to any other organization that I have been involved in. The work that is done by this team to support the cause, 'NO GREY TURNED AWAY', is amazing. The dogs benefit, the adopters are supported even AFTER they adopt, there is a sense of community within the organization and the overall goal, to provide outstanding care to sight hounds is accomplished through the tireless efforts of the volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

spend time with our hounds in boarding - walking, playing, grooming and otherwise interacting with them; help out at a GALT fundraiser; or take a hound to a Meet the Greyhounds event. Volunteer