Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
169 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 16, 2013

I have been a GALT volunteer for almost 8 years. I know for a fact that their motto of "NO GREY TURNED AWAY" is 110% true! They go above and beyond any organization that I know of to help the hound... more

April 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

There are not enough words to describe the amazing work that GALT does on a daily basis. The young, the old, the injured and the strays, NOT ONE of them is ever TURNED AWAY!! And they stand behind their statement 110%! I am on my 4th Greyhound, all of them have been from GALT. I am part time volunteer and help out when I can, but the devotion that the members put in every single day is like nothing I've seen before. I have made lifelong friends thru GALT and they will always be apart of my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

How can you fix perfection?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2013

I have been a GALT volunteer for almost 8 years. I know for a fact that their motto of "NO GREY TURNED AWAY" is 110% true! They go above and beyond any organization that I know of to help the hounds in need. I have devoted countless hours volunteering, working events, fostering, transporting the Grey babies to and fro and anything else that was asked of me. From the board members to the countless volunteers, I can truly say that they are an amazing group to work with and I am so very fortunate to be able to say that they are also my friends! I no longer live in the Dallas area but still like to help out when I can. I want to wish GALT a Happy 12th Birthday and many many more successful years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2010

I have been with GALT for 5 years! I have adopted 3 Greys, volunteered thousands of hours, been a foster mom, and loved every single minute of it! I have moved, but when I get a chance to go back to Dallas to see my GALT family and friends you can be sure that I'll find some way to spend some time with the doggers!! I miss all the fun events, going to meet/greets, and spending time with everyone. I love the fact that NO dog is every turned away! There have been some that you didn't even think were going to make it and with a lot of love and care these dogs turn out to be happy and healthy and move on to their "Forever Homes'. John and Susie are amazing! Congrats on your 10th Anniversary!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching the countless hours that are spent with the dogs, and the love and respect that they have for everyone involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes are needed, just volunteers who are willing to donate their time and foster homes so that all dogs will know what it's like to have a warm place to sleep and never ending love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made the most friends and am so thankful to have each and everyone of them in my life.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 7, 2013

Another year, another dog adopted from GALT! They continue to go to great lengths to take in greyhounds no one else will.. broken legs, dogs abandoned at shelters, strays, Saluki mixes, and get them i... more

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for GALT for years now and you will not find a more dedicated and passionate group of people. All three of my dogs are from GALT!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2013

Another year, another dog adopted from GALT!
They continue to go to great lengths to take in greyhounds no one else will.. broken legs, dogs abandoned at shelters, strays, Saluki mixes, and get them into great homes. Can't say enough about them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2011

A year and a half ago I adopted my first greyhound from GALT. I had wanted a greyhound for years but waited until the time was right. I was so impressed with the organization that I soon found myself volunteering to foster. And then to assist with events. I eventually adopted a second dog, kept volunteering, kept fostering, and I wouldn't trade any of it for the world.
My initial impression of GALT has not changed. This is a dedicated group of volunteers who are passionate, professional, and driven to help every greyhound regardless of cost or time. They take dogs from cruelty cases, coyote hunters, shelters, even Craig's list.
And GALT's commitment doesn't end with adoption. If any greyhound (GALT dog or not) gets lost, people show up to help find it with treats and flashlights. That is true dedication to the breed and just one example of the compassion of GALT's volunteers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my experiences adopting greyhounds and as a volunteer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

April 3, 2014

more

April 3, 2014

The Greyhound Adoption League of Texas is a well oiled machine of hard working volunteers that get the job done. I have volunteered with this group of dedicated people since 2005 and have seen what working together can get done!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a dog lover and greyhound lover all my life. I decided it was time to get involved and become a foster so I asked around on Facebook and asked some of my other friends who volunteer and they told me to go with GALT. It was so easy to start helping out. The other fosters are so helpful and you can always find someone to talk to if you have a question. If you just want to adopt and not foster, that's very easy, too! These dogs are taken in and treated like family. When you adopt you will find out things about your new family member. He/she won't just be dropped at your house with a hope that you can figure It all out. It's definitely the best way to go if you're able to take in an extra grey or two, or three.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 15, 2013

I became involved with the Greyhound Adoption League of Texas in 2005. This dedicated group of volunteers work together for the good of the greyhounds that come into their program. The extensive work... more

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

No grey turned away. Period. They accept the young, healthy, old, sick, injured, tattooed or not and find forever homes for each greyhound. Incredible group of dedicated volunteers working together to accomplish this mission of no grey turned away.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became involved with the Greyhound Adoption League of Texas in 2005. This dedicated group of volunteers work together for the good of the greyhounds that come into their program. The extensive work they do on the incoming greyhounds to get them ready for a home, the adoption process that does the best possible job matching the right family to the right greyhound and the continuing support given to the adopters and their hound is truly outstanding. GALT gives their all every time, every greyhound.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

The Greyhound Adoption League of Texas is a family of dedicated volunteers working together to find loving homes for greyhounds...all greyhounds. To provide the quality care that each greyhound that passes thru their loving hands receives is a huge financial committent that is funded only thru their tireless fundraising efforts and donations. GALT accepts the healthy, the sick, the broken legs, the old, and young greyhound. GALT volunteers have hearts as big as Texas. Love these people. Suppport GALT!!! Thank roooo!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 2005 our son rescued a greyhound from a local kill shelter and we fell in love with the breed. Soon after we adopted our first greyhound from the Greyhound Adoption League of Texas. We discovered that in our area there are many greyhounds that end up in the local shelter found as strays, injured or sick. GALT has always, without fail, taken in any greyhound we have found, in any condition and given that greyhound the medical attention it needed, no matter what the cost. Then worked tirelessly to find the perfect home for that greyhound. The entire group of Greyhound Adoption League of Texas volunteers is to me like a family united in the cause of helping all greyhounds all the time. We are proud to be a part of GALT.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

GALT is the first and only group we've worked with, and we know we started with the BEST! We adopted first, donated and then started to foster greyhounds waiting for their forever homes. It is such a rewarding experience to know that no grey is turned away and that every greyhound adopted through GALT is lovingly considered part of the family pack while in foster care. To watch a shy, insecure dog blossom before our eyes has be the most rewarding experience imaginable. GALT ensures every dog is healthy and well matched to their new family.

The GALT leadership is totally committed and works tirelessly to raise the funds necessary to provide medical care. It's a wonderful, tight-knit community that really is an extension of family. I am proud to be part of this amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure the next generation of leadership is groomed and ready to take the reigns if people choose to leave their position.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As I write this three of our four greyhounds sleep near me. These three are our precious GALT Girls. Our senior girl Lou healed my heart, our first tripaw Gertie stole my heart and our second tripaw Peggy raced into our hearts spreading lots of wiggly joy. These three girls were all introduced to us through the efforts of the GALT staff and volunteers. GALT works tirelessly to ensure the greys get the best health care and training to help them find the perfect forever homes. GALT is simply the BEST!
April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for several years now and I consider the people and dogs of GALT to be my family. The leadership and dedication shown by the volunteers is absolutely amazing. There is no expense spared to make sure that these dogs receive the best possible care and no grey is turned away! I must admit I have been a foster failure 4 times (adopted my foster)...but have fostered over 40 dogs and fallen in love with all of them. I would strongly encourage anyone who is interested in a loving companion to consider adopting a greyhound.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything. The cost of medical care is very expensive and I only wish more people could perhaps make a monetary donation for the care of these greyt hounds! They are worth every cent and every cent is used wisely!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering as a foster mom with GALT for the entire time it had been in existence - 13 years, and stopped counting at 80 fosters hound. I LOVE the dogs and my GALT family. There is no end to the support, care, patience and love this group gives to both the hounds and the volunteers. The absolute best nonprofit around....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I encountered GALT from a friend's referral when we moved to the DFW area. I didn't look them up at first, but my friend kept nagging me and saying...this is the best greyhound rescue in the country. After awhile, I connected with GALT, and began fostering and volunteering occasionally, but the entire organization is so friendly and well-run that I'm now fundraising for them too. The best part about GALT is that they are an all-volunteer organization, so every single dime goes to the care and placement of the rescued dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

spend time with our hounds in boarding - walking, playing, grooming and otherwise interacting with them; help out at a GALT fundraiser. Volunteer