Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
182 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 26, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I became a first-time greyhound owner and volunteer at nearly the same time because I could immediately tell that GALT is a well-oiled machine. Their motto, "no grey turned away," is impressive and since my adopted boy was a stray found with paint-ball marks on his body, I'll be forever grateful they took him in and prepared him for his forever home.

I've never volunteered with an organization that doesn't have to pull teeth to get its volunteers to step up! Everybody is always willing and goes the extra mile--anything for the Greys!
March 26, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 2, 2014

GALT is the first and only group we've worked with, and we know we started with the BEST! We adopted first, donated and then started to foster greyhounds waiting for their forever homes. It is such ... more

March 26, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a GALT volunteer for over 6 years - as a foster family helping greyhounds prepare for their forever homes and as part of a fabulous team that cares lovingly for the greys in boarding. Over the year we have also become the proud parents of 3 amazing GALT greyhounds. It is wonderful to watch these sweet creatures blossom and see the wonder in their eyes as they experience home life for the first time. To see them gain confidence and in some cases, help them to learn to trust us 2-leggers. We have nurtured fosters that were extremely shy and fearful of people; cared for fosters with broken legs; kept some calm and quiet while going through heartworm treatments; and above all, treated them as part of the pack. GALT is an amazing organization and makes sure every single greyhound is placed in the right home.
April 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

GALT is the first and only group we've worked with, and we know we started with the BEST! We adopted first, donated and then started to foster greyhounds waiting for their forever homes. It is such a rewarding experience to know that no grey is turned away and that every greyhound adopted through GALT is lovingly considered part of the family pack while in foster care. To watch a shy, insecure dog blossom before our eyes has be the most rewarding experience imaginable. GALT ensures every dog is healthy and well matched to their new family.

The GALT leadership is totally committed and works tirelessly to raise the funds necessary to provide medical care. It's a wonderful, tight-knit community that really is an extension of family. I am proud to be part of this amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure the next generation of leadership is groomed and ready to take the reigns if people choose to leave their position.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2015

more


4 previous reviews - show all
March 25, 2014

GALT is simply the best! I have been associated with this group for years and just keep coming back for more. Their care and concern for the hounds and the creation of happy families is just unmatche... more

March 25, 2015

Being a GALT supporter is one of the best things that I have ever done - a real first class organization that is truly all about the hounds. I like that I know how the money is being used and that none of it goes to salaries or perks. GALT is just stellar!
March 25, 2014

GALT is simply the best! I have been associated with this group for years and just keep coming back for more. Their care and concern for the hounds and the creation of happy families is just unmatched. I am a GALT supporter for life. Come join the fun and gain a family!
April 8, 2013

It's hard to put my feelings into words about GALT - always there every single time for greyhounds and other sighthounds too. GALT takes the tough cases that other groups won't touch - broken legs, questionable heritage, stray puppies, old and unwanted - you name it.

I feel very proud
of this group and am so happy to be a member. I really recommend spending time with this group. It will be a real life-changing experience. (And you just might gain a new 4 legger for your family!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

I truly believe that GALT is THE best greyhound adoption group anywhere. The dogs are always, always put first - whether it is a greyhound fresh off the track with a broken leg or a poor pup who has been returned due to family changes. GALT finds the right solution for each and every one and even provides training if that is what is needed to get the dog its perfect home. It has been on year since I wrote my first review for GALT and I am even happier to be a GALT supporter today than I was then. I support GALT's "no grey turned away" motto.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing many greyhounds find the love and families that they deserve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing comes to mind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made so many new friends as a result.

October 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I support several greyhound adoption & rescue groups, but GALT is special to me. They go above and beyond and do not hesitate to take the real hardship cases as they arise - no matter what the situation is. That is why they have my support and always will. If someone is looking for a greyhound charity to support, GALT is the one.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing my donations put to good use and seeing all of the happy families enjoying their new additions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them find more money to help more greyhounds.

March 25, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 25, 2014

What a professional operation! I chose GALT hoping that my greyhound adoption would be completed with every attention to detail, and it was. Both our family and our hound received personal attention t... more

March 25, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Yes, run by volunteers, but so professionally—a grade A operation, both efficient and compassionate from start to finish.
March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What a professional operation! I chose GALT hoping that my greyhound adoption would be completed with every attention to detail, and it was. Both our family and our hound received personal attention that ensured a perfect match. We have looked at similar organizations but are simply wowed by GALT's organizational and personal zeal and competence. Our first experience with GALT won us back not only for a second adoption but as volunteers. A class act.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
March 25, 2014

We volunteer and adopt from Greyhound Adoption League of Texas. It is truly amazing for an all volunteer group to be run so efficiently. If we, as foster volunteers, need something for our dog, if w... more

March 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Been a volunteer for years now. Here's a reason why. We have a foster on injured reserve. No vet has yet figured out what exactly is wrong with her, but GALT will not give up. She continues to be treated, tested, fed a special diet. If necessary, GALT will care for her for her entire life. GALT never ever gives up on a dog. People should treat each other with as much respect. Thank you GALT
March 25, 2014

We volunteer and adopt from Greyhound Adoption League of Texas. It is truly amazing for an all volunteer group to be run so efficiently. If we, as foster volunteers, need something for our dog, if we are concerned about our foster, it gets addressed immediately. The dogs are so well cared for and so loved by every person in the group. Perhaps one of the best things about the group is how volunteers work so well together to insure that each dog receives the best care. Or, perhaps the best thing about the group is that no greyhound is turned away, no matter what the medical costs. We're proud to volunteer for such a fine organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes, just wishes that it were easier to find money to support the dogs' medical needs. then some of the volunteers wouldn't have to spend so much time fund raising

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2013

We began fostering for GALT many years ago. Quickly we discovered that this organization was run by the most dedicated and selfless people we had met. There is not a single paid employee on the GALT team. Everyone volunteers time, becomes a member, devotes energy and money and love all in an effort to bring greyhounds to their forever homes. We now are proudly owned by a GALT dog who is trained as a therapy dog. He is the perfect example of a terrible track racer who was taken in by an adoption group so that he could race into people's hearts. Thank you GALT for being there for every greyhound who needs you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more


4 previous reviews - show all
March 26, 2014

I have fostered for GALT for about 3 years and they are a wonderful dedicated team of folks that rescue and adopt out greyhounds. Those of us that volunteer are so grateful for GALT and all they do f... more

March 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

GALT is an amazing rescue organization that has a fantastic group of volunteers. Each and every volunteer does a wonderful job of preparing the hounds for adoption and then following up with new adopters to help make the transition better and a more pleasurable experience for both the hound and the human.
As a GALT volunteer I so enjoy working with the other volunteers and helping with the hounds. it is a first class rescue organization and i am proud to say I am a part of it!
March 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have fostered for GALT for about 3 years and they are a wonderful dedicated team of folks that rescue and adopt out greyhounds. Those of us that volunteer are so grateful for GALT and all they do for the hounds. everyone is so caring and dedicated.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 3, 2013

I am a foster for GALT and help by donating items for benefit auctions. This organization is so wonderful in saving and re homing all greyhounds, off the track and abandoned. Their matto no grey turned away is so true.
I love fostering these wonderful dogs and think this is one of the BEST
rescues ever!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I foster for GALT and this is a wonderful, caring organization that truly cares for all greyhounds. They rescue greyhounds from the tracks or animal shelters and care for them until they find their "forever home". I have never worked with a more caring, professional group of dedicated people. I am very proud to be part of this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2012

I am a foster volunteer and have been doing it for about a year now. It is the most rewarding thing and I love each and every foster. GALT (Greyhound Adoption League of Texas) has done such a wonderful job of rescuing Greyhounds, caring for them, placing them in Foster homes until adopted into their forever home. My experience with the owners and other Foster members of GALT has been such a positive and rewarding experience. By providing a loving, kind foster home for the hounds, we can prepare them for their forever home that will be a success. We have a "Foster Frenzy" site where we can post things / share things about our fosters / and get help with questions about fostering or a specific question about a dogs health / habits. Great support group! So glad to be a part of it all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2015

more


1 previous review
March 28, 2014

After deciding to adopt a greyhound I found GALT and couldn't be happier! Even prior to adopting Lexi I knew I had found a wonderful group of dedicated people! I have an endless supply of answers to a... more

March 24, 2015

I don't know what I would do without GALT! The amount of knowledge and willingness of members and volunteers to step up and help out is amazing. I love the unending support I receive when I needed and enjoy every volunteer opportunity because of the amazing people that make up the group.
March 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After deciding to adopt a greyhound I found GALT and couldn't be happier! Even prior to adopting Lexi I knew I had found a wonderful group of dedicated people! I have an endless supply of answers to any questions and general support. I'm happy to say that I truly enjoy volunteering with them and considering everyone a wonderful new friend!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

Found this group when we adopted our dog. Although he is not a Greyhound, they thought he was and didn't turn him away when it turned out he wasn't! Now we foster greyhounds for them and couldn't have asked for a greater organization to adopt from or be a part of.
April 5, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 16, 2013

I have been a GALT volunteer for almost 8 years. I know for a fact that their motto of "NO GREY TURNED AWAY" is 110% true! They go above and beyond any organization that I know of to help the hound... more

April 5, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

There are not enough words to describe the amazing work that GALT does on a daily basis. The young, the old, the injured and the strays, NOT ONE of them is ever TURNED AWAY!! And they stand behind their statement 110%! I am on my 4th Greyhound, all of them have been from GALT. I am part time volunteer and help out when I can, but the devotion that the members put in every single day is like nothing I've seen before. I have made lifelong friends thru GALT and they will always be apart of my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

How can you fix perfection?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a GALT volunteer for almost 8 years. I know for a fact that their motto of "NO GREY TURNED AWAY" is 110% true! They go above and beyond any organization that I know of to help the hounds in need. I have devoted countless hours volunteering, working events, fostering, transporting the Grey babies to and fro and anything else that was asked of me. From the board members to the countless volunteers, I can truly say that they are an amazing group to work with and I am so very fortunate to be able to say that they are also my friends! I no longer live in the Dallas area but still like to help out when I can. I want to wish GALT a Happy 12th Birthday and many many more successful years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with GALT for 5 years! I have adopted 3 Greys, volunteered thousands of hours, been a foster mom, and loved every single minute of it! I have moved, but when I get a chance to go back to Dallas to see my GALT family and friends you can be sure that I'll find some way to spend some time with the doggers!! I miss all the fun events, going to meet/greets, and spending time with everyone. I love the fact that NO dog is every turned away! There have been some that you didn't even think were going to make it and with a lot of love and care these dogs turn out to be happy and healthy and move on to their "Forever Homes'. John and Susie are amazing! Congrats on your 10th Anniversary!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching the countless hours that are spent with the dogs, and the love and respect that they have for everyone involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes are needed, just volunteers who are willing to donate their time and foster homes so that all dogs will know what it's like to have a warm place to sleep and never ending love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made the most friends and am so thankful to have each and everyone of them in my life.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 3, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 7, 2013

Another year, another dog adopted from GALT! They continue to go to great lengths to take in greyhounds no one else will.. broken legs, dogs abandoned at shelters, strays, Saluki mixes, and get them i... more

April 3, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for GALT for years now and you will not find a more dedicated and passionate group of people. All three of my dogs are from GALT!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Another year, another dog adopted from GALT!
They continue to go to great lengths to take in greyhounds no one else will.. broken legs, dogs abandoned at shelters, strays, Saluki mixes, and get them into great homes. Can't say enough about them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

A year and a half ago I adopted my first greyhound from GALT. I had wanted a greyhound for years but waited until the time was right. I was so impressed with the organization that I soon found myself volunteering to foster. And then to assist with events. I eventually adopted a second dog, kept volunteering, kept fostering, and I wouldn't trade any of it for the world.
My initial impression of GALT has not changed. This is a dedicated group of volunteers who are passionate, professional, and driven to help every greyhound regardless of cost or time. They take dogs from cruelty cases, coyote hunters, shelters, even Craig's list.
And GALT's commitment doesn't end with adoption. If any greyhound (GALT dog or not) gets lost, people show up to help find it with treats and flashlights. That is true dedication to the breed and just one example of the compassion of GALT's volunteers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my experiences adopting greyhounds and as a volunteer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

spend time with our hounds in boarding - walking, playing, grooming and otherwise interacting with them; help out at a GALT fundraiser; or take a hound to a Meet the Greyhounds event. Volunteer