Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
169 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 3 4 5...14 |
Write A Review
April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I just became a foster home for two Galt greyhounds. This organization is top notch, and most important, are all about the lives of these beautiful Greyhounds. Please take the time a read everything you can on the Galt's home web site, it will inform you, answer questions, entertain you, make you laugh and yes get the tissue out because you just might cry in happiness and sadness. So far everyone that I have talked to has been so kind, friendly and helpful. I have two fosters at this time, and I just love them. I look forward to getting to know all the wonderful people that make Galt who they are. (a quote I have read before) The Greyhound has such a large chest, but it has to be, because their heart is so big! To ALL the people that make Galt work, thank you. Starr from East Texas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 28, 2010

My husband and I got involved with GALT after adopting our first greyhound in January 2008. Since then, we have become active volunteers, foster parents and donors for this incredible organization (a... more

April 14, 2013

GALT has been in existence since 2001 and helped over 2100 greyhounds find their forever homes in its first 11 years of operation. Now in its 12th year, this all-volunteer 501(c)(3) organization is more committed than ever to its mottof of "No Grey Turned Away." In addition to placing former racing greys, GALT accepts owner returns, strays and victims of neglect situations. The adoption fees charged are quite modest, compared to the money GALT spends to ensure that all dogs are healthy and free of parasites before designating them as available for adoption.

Other than adoption fees, GALT depends entirely on donations to cover it primary operating expenses -- i.e. medical costs and boarding fees. A dedicated group of foster parents helps defray the boarding costs significantly. In addition to to providing a home and food for the foster greys, they also introduce the dogs to a home environment and teach them "house manners" -- including crate and potty training. Many of these foster parents join another large army of volunteers who help take care of dogs in boarding, provide transportation and assist with fundraising.

My husband and I have adopted three GALT greys, and we have fostered many others. We also assist with "TLC" for the dogs in boarding and are active in several GALT fundraisers. We do as much as we can because we truly believe in the work that GALT is doing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2010

My husband and I got involved with GALT after adopting our first greyhound in January 2008. Since then, we have become active volunteers, foster parents and donors for this incredible organization (and we also adopted a second greyhound along the way!) GALT received some greatly needed financial help (and recognition) from people all around the world this summer when word spread of its efforts to rescue several dogs in the horrible abuse case in Fort Worth (as documented in some of the other reviews on this site.) However, the need for funds is never-ending, since GALT relies heavily on donations in order to live up to its primary mission of never turning away a greyhound in need.



GALT has taken in several retired racers with broken legs in the past few months, along with several strays and other greys with severe illnesses. Medical expenses for each of these cases total several thousand dollars -- and they are still mounting. While some of the Fort Worth dogs have finally become healthy enough for adoption, there are still several who are continuing to receive special medical treatment.



GALT charges very reasonable adoption fees -- which only cover a portion of normal medical / processing costs. Another terrific thing about GALT? Before allowing a greyhound to be considered for adoption, this organization spends whatever is required for medical care to return the dog to full health. When you adopt a GALT dog, you know you are getting a completely HEALTHY animal with current vaccinations. As a result, the post-adoption "surprises" are held to an absolute minimum. Owner returns are relatively rare, but GALT's contract specifies that it will take back ANY adopted greyhound if problems do arise -- even if the problems have nothing to do with the dog (economic reasons, death, divorce, etc.) As a matter of fact, the contract REQUIRES the adopter to return the dog to GALT; that's how committed this organization is to each and every dog for the LONG term!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In addition to the volunteer projects outlined below, I've also fostered several of GALT's greyhounds and experienced the joy of delivering them to their new "forever homes." I have seen many very sick and/or seriously injured dogs arrive in GALT's care. After receiving the necessary medical treatment from GALT's vet partners, these dogs have gone to special "Injured Reserve" foster homes where they are lovingly nursed back to health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them some more money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Recruit more volunteers to help!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have really enjoyed my GALT friendships, and I have learned several new computer skills in some of my administrative duties.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It makes me feel like I am making a difference in the lives of these wonderful animals -- but also in the lives of the fabulous people who adopt them!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 9, 2012

We have been very lucky to have been "adopted" by two wonderful Greyhound boys in the past eight years through GALT. Our first, Mackie, passed away unexpectedly four years ago. Of course, we were dev... more

April 14, 2013

GALT's commitment to "No Grey Turned Away" is appreciated by individuals near and far who are watching our organization's every move and all that we do. However, most importantly, GALT is appreciate most by those who benefit most from GALT - the Greyhounds themselves who find their way into in loving and forever homes.

For example, our first Greyhound, Mackie, he was found wandering with his brother, Luke, on the streets of Fort Worth. We "met him" online nine years ago. We loved Mackie for oh so short of a time as he crossed the Rainbow Bridge much too early. Then we met Sammy in Rockwall, and he found his way into our hearts and home four and a half years ago. He also brought us to a new found friend/family member, his original owner. Our lives are complete.

I can't think of a better organization that lives and breathes each day to make sure every Greyhound that comes to GALT WILL be safe, loved and find its forever home .



More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

We have been very lucky to have been "adopted" by two wonderful Greyhound boys in the past eight years through GALT. Our first, Mackie, passed away unexpectedly four years ago. Of course, we were devistated, but three months later we adopted our second furkid through GALT. Sammy and he is a total joy in our lives. GALT makes this happen for Greyhounds and their potential parents every day of every year of their existance. There is not ONE GREY ever turned away by this incredible group of volunteers who sole purpose is to find a greyt home for these greyt dogs. I know there are others like me who count their blessings every day that GALT is here and ready to help when we are called upon. Thank you GALT for past, present and future placements of Greyhounds into their forever homes.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

Greyhound Adoption League of Texas has a goal of, No Grey Turned Away. I do my part to support that goal by fostering Greyhounds for GALT.

GALT makes it easy to foster - they provide all the vetting, the monthly heartworm and flea/tick preventative, and the support of and knowledge from
very experienced vets and volunteers. All I provide is food and love!

I believe that GALT helps me make a difference in the lives of Greyhounds, as well as a difference in my own life.

Thank you, GALT!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

This is such an amazing organization. Everyone involved truly cares about the cause and will do whatever it takes to save and rescue these amazing dogs. The other volunteers are wonderful, it's just a greyt group!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

I am familiar with a lot of greyhound adoption groups throughout the United States, and GALT has earned my respect and appreciation for all they do for the breed. Many adoption groups have strict criteria for the dogs they accept, including the age of the dog, the general health and injuries suffered at the track, such as broken bones. GALT takes ALL greyhounds, no matter how dire the situation, or how much potential expense may be involved.

Their keen understanding of fundraising is also key to their continued success. Some event is always going on-- to raise money, as well as awareness. This requires a huge volunteer base, and kudos to GALT for keeping their volunteers happy and involved. Many volunteers also serve as fosters, which helps incoming dogs adjust to life outside a kennel, and with a loving family.

GALT is one of the rare nonprofit organizations that does everything well, and yet is not complacent about its success. Those are some of the reasons the people of GALT are my heroes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 11, 2012

I am part of a small scale rescue in Belgium, being involved in Greyhound rescue and a facebook user, you look for kindred spirits on the net. I was browsing on facebook and stumbled on the cutest gr... more

April 8, 2013

I have been following GALT for a couple of years on FB and thought they did a fabulous job ! I got to know a few of their volunteers pretty well and saw them as my dear friends even though I had never met them in person as I live in Belgium. Last februari I set off to meet these wonderful people in real life and made the trip to Dallas. I had so much fun meeting them and talking with them, they made me feel right at home. GALT does so much for the dogs and for the people who are supporting them. GALT is my favourite rescue in the States! Keep up the good work and maybe till next year? :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am part of a small scale rescue in Belgium, being involved in Greyhound rescue and a facebook user, you look for kindred spirits on the net. I was browsing on facebook and stumbled on the cutest greyhound ever, GALT's Blind Spot. I fell madly in love with him, but as I live in Belgium I was not able to adopt this beautiful boy. So the only other thing I could do was donate. Even though I was on the other side of the world, I felt welcome in the GALT family. GALT does amazing work, they go the extra mile to save any greyhound that crosses their path. Through Spot, I got to "know" some fantastic people (and 4 leggers). I am very happy that I found this rescue!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm very happy that GALT updates their site very often and I follow them an facebook also, were I read about what's happening.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are doing greyt!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The medical conditions of GALT's Blind Spot

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I hoped that I could help a little with the medical expenses

What would you tell others about this organization?

For those living in TX: if you are considering to adopt a greyhound, be sure to get in contact with these wonderful people. I 'm certain they will find the right dog for your home. For the rest of the world: please donate to this wonderful organisation, they need more funds to continue their work

April 7, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
December 30, 2011

A year has passed since my first review of GALT, and every word that I wrote in that review rings just as true today. GALT continues to live it's motto "No Grey Turned Away" each and every day. GALT... more

April 7, 2013

Working with GALT is one of the most satisfying experiences in all of my years of volunteering. GALT volunteers are simply the most dedicated, selfless people that I have ever met. The GALT board leads by example - taking on the hardest tasks year after year and never forgetting to say "thank you." It is this environment that makes it easy to step up time and again to help the GALT greyhounds.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

A year has passed since my first review of GALT, and every word that I wrote in that review rings just as true today. GALT continues to live it's motto "No Grey Turned Away" each and every day. GALT volunteers give so freely of their time, their resources, their energy and creativity - even opening their homes freely to injured, neglected and abused greyhounds that it is truly inspiring. I am thrilled to be associated with GALT and look forward to 2012 as a dedicated member, volunteer and donor.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing "throw away" greyhounds happily living out their days in loving homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them gain additional resources to be able to help even more hounds.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made many wonderful friends across the globe because of my involvement with GALT.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I know that I am doing something positive for not only the greyhounds, but for the humans that come into contact with them through the program and then ultimately in their forever homes.

November 27, 2010

Greyhound Adoption League of Texas, Inc. (GALT) is THE premier greyhound adoption group in the nation. GALT distinguishes itself by never turning away a greyhound in need. This was evidenced in July, 2010, when GALT took in 9 greyhounds found in deplorable condition by Fort Worth Animal Control Cruelty investigators. Unfortunately, four could not be saved, but the others have been nursed back to health and are now finding their permanent homes.

Then in August, 2010, GALT received the call again from Fort Worth - even more greyhounds were in need. GALT welcomed 2 puppies and 3 more adult hounds into their program despite the fragile condition and long-term medical needs of these hounds.

And, all of this is in addition to accepting dogs with health issues that other groups turn away.

Simply put, GALT always steps up. It is an all volunteer organization that relies totally on donations to do its work. I never have any worries about where my money is going or how it will be spent when donating to GALT. It is a very wise and safe investment, and I highly recommend this charity to anyone wanting to help greyhounds and see them placed in safe, reliable homes.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing greyhounds placed in loving homes. I have two adoptive greyhounds myself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Seizure of maltreated dogs needing extensive medical treatment and rehabilitation from life-threatening conditions.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Was able to do so and the need was so dire.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Don't hesitate; donate.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 13, 2012

more

October 13, 2012

GALT is an organization that really cares about the welfare of their dogs. When I was ready to adopt another greyhound I was walked step by step through the process from the intial application, attending meet & greets, an in-home visit to see the desired dog, and the final delivery of the dog (Jiffy) to my home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2012

more

October 13, 2012

I've been involved with (and adopted from) Greyhound adoption groups up and down the East Coast, and I follow a number of them through private chat groups , Facebook and community boards, all over the world. GALT is the cream of the crop of adoption groups - they are very active, organized and completely devoted to the dogs that they bring into their group. They are racing-neutral and are devoted to adoptions, rehoming, and always there to give a caring loving hand to the dogs that have been found and did not have the right owners and had medical issues and needed much care, Galt was there with a caring hand till all was OK and placing these dogs in loving forever homes as well as supporting and educating the families that adopt them from GALT. Their members are very devoted, giving time, dollars and caring advice. If I lived closer to GALT I would adopt my next greyhound from this very caring group. I have only been able to help GALT in Auctions but if I lived closer it would be a honor to be able to be a volunteer for GALT.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

spend time with our hounds in boarding - walking, playing, grooming and otherwise interacting with them; help out at a GALT fundraiser. Volunteer