Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
169 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...14 |
Write A Review
April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for several years now and I consider the people and dogs of GALT to be my family. The leadership and dedication shown by the volunteers is absolutely amazing. There is no expense spared to make sure that these dogs receive the best possible care and no grey is turned away! I must admit I have been a foster failure 4 times (adopted my foster)...but have fostered over 40 dogs and fallen in love with all of them. I would strongly encourage anyone who is interested in a loving companion to consider adopting a greyhound.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything. The cost of medical care is very expensive and I only wish more people could perhaps make a monetary donation for the care of these greyt hounds! They are worth every cent and every cent is used wisely!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering as a foster mom with GALT for the entire time it had been in existence - 13 years, and stopped counting at 80 fosters hound. I LOVE the dogs and my GALT family. There is no end to the support, care, patience and love this group gives to both the hounds and the volunteers. The absolute best nonprofit around....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I encountered GALT from a friend's referral when we moved to the DFW area. I didn't look them up at first, but my friend kept nagging me and saying...this is the best greyhound rescue in the country. After awhile, I connected with GALT, and began fostering and volunteering occasionally, but the entire organization is so friendly and well-run that I'm now fundraising for them too. The best part about GALT is that they are an all-volunteer organization, so every single dime goes to the care and placement of the rescued dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with the Greyhound Adoption League of TX for about a year now. Their mission statement of "No Grey Turned Away" defines their dedication. What a wonderful group of loving and dedicated volunteers who go the distance for the dogs they take in. I became an official "failed foster mom" just this month when I adopeted Vincent (aka NY Vinny). I

Jackie P.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After deciding to adopt a greyhound I found GALT and couldn't be happier! Even prior to adopting Lexi I knew I had found a wonderful group of dedicated people! I have an endless supply of answers to any questions and general support. I'm happy to say that I truly enjoy volunteering with them and considering everyone a wonderful new friend!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
May 3, 2013

I am a foster for GALT and help by donating items for benefit auctions. This organization is so wonderful in saving and re homing all greyhounds, off the track and abandoned. Their matto no grey tur... more

March 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have fostered for GALT for about 3 years and they are a wonderful dedicated team of folks that rescue and adopt out greyhounds. Those of us that volunteer are so grateful for GALT and all they do for the hounds. everyone is so caring and dedicated.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 3, 2013

I am a foster for GALT and help by donating items for benefit auctions. This organization is so wonderful in saving and re homing all greyhounds, off the track and abandoned. Their matto no grey turned away is so true.
I love fostering these wonderful dogs and think this is one of the BEST
rescues ever!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I foster for GALT and this is a wonderful, caring organization that truly cares for all greyhounds. They rescue greyhounds from the tracks or animal shelters and care for them until they find their "forever home". I have never worked with a more caring, professional group of dedicated people. I am very proud to be part of this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2012

I am a foster volunteer and have been doing it for about a year now. It is the most rewarding thing and I love each and every foster. GALT (Greyhound Adoption League of Texas) has done such a wonderful job of rescuing Greyhounds, caring for them, placing them in Foster homes until adopted into their forever home. My experience with the owners and other Foster members of GALT has been such a positive and rewarding experience. By providing a loving, kind foster home for the hounds, we can prepare them for their forever home that will be a success. We have a "Foster Frenzy" site where we can post things / share things about our fosters / and get help with questions about fostering or a specific question about a dogs health / habits. Great support group! So glad to be a part of it all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

GALT is wonderful and has a team of very committed volunteers. We adopted both of our beloved Greyhounds from GALT, and they have been such a joy to have in our family. GALT takes "greyt" care of every Grey in their possession, from providing for their medical needs to giving love in their foster home. GALT also makes it easy to volunteer at events and stay connected with the Greyhound community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 3, 2013

I can not say enough wonderful things about GALT. We live in Tennessee and support GALT as well as our Local GPA group. They set a wonderful example for All nonprofit rescue groups. We will always con... more

March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I live in Tennessee and have followed and Donated over the last 5 years. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this group. They are first class and professional in every way. I only wish they were closer so that I could participate in person!!!! Thanks for all the Hard work you do for the Hounds.
May 3, 2013

I can not say enough wonderful things about GALT. We live in Tennessee and support GALT as well as our Local GPA group. They set a wonderful example for All nonprofit rescue groups. We will always continue to Donate to help them continue there wonderful works!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2013

Wonderful Group, I live in Tenn. and have 4 Greyhounds,I support this group and Donate to there cause. Cant say enough good things about them. Keep up the wonderful works you all do. Thanks!!!!
Sallie Brady and Randy Stone and our Livestock LOL

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 4, 2011

Our beloved greyhound, Jenny, had to be re-homed when we moved out of the country. She was not adopted from GALT, but the wonderful people from this organization not only took her in, but found the b... more

March 25, 2014

After agonizing about what to do with our beloved greyhound because we were being transferred out of the country,
Greyhound Adoption League of Texas stepped in and found the greyest home for her. The thoughtful volunteers kept us abreast of every part of the re home, and, now that we are
permanently here in the US, will help us now find our next grey. They are efficient, kind, and extremely knowledgable . They are the perfect people to help all of us find our next perfect pet!
February 4, 2011

Our beloved greyhound, Jenny, had to be re-homed when we moved out of the country. She was not adopted from GALT, but the wonderful people from this organization not only took her in, but found the best new home for her possible. Their volunteers and staff were concerned about her well being, as well as ours. I HIGHLY recommend this organization to any would-be adopters, and will be glad when we return from our foreign assignment and retire so we can be parents to a set of greys. First time adopters would be wise to allow these folks to help you through the learning curve, as all of the staff know the dogs and understand that a happy home for ALL is the objective in any adoption.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Our greyhound was taken in and fostered when we had to suddenly move out of the country for a long period of time. She was placed with the perfect new home, and the staff was kind and understanding about our grief and guilt about having to leave what had become a member of our family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

I was so impressed with GALT, I wrote a book called "A Tale of Two Tails" about adopting two greyhounds through them. They are the most dedicated group of people whose main concern is making the sure the greys are placed in good loving homes. The volunteers are all dedicated to the dogs. They go way above and beyond what a rescue group normally does to help place dogs. Should something happen that the "forever home" can no longer take care of the greys, then they take them back to help find another home for them. I would highly recommend anyone to them. They know the dogs and help find just the right one for you to meet your needs.

sue wagstaff gibson

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

spend time with our hounds in boarding - walking, playing, grooming and otherwise interacting with them; help out at a GALT fundraiser. Volunteer