Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
300 Reviews
1234.066675
Write A Review
November 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Laws are changing, stadiums are closing, fewer dogs are being bred, less money is being wagered, and the inherent cruelty of the greyhound racing industry is being exposed. GREY2K USA Worldwide continues to push for the elimination of commercial greyhound racing. It's no surprise that a small but vocal minority of people intimately involved in the industry try to cast aspersions, but their claims are baseless and completely exposed with even a modicum of research. GREY2K USA Worldwide has earned top status from Great Nonprofits because of their transparency and thoroughness. You will certainly not see anything of the sort from the industry.
August 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

GREY2K USA is the largest non profit organization in the entire U.S. who advocates for
the welfare of greyhounds in our country. They care so deeply and continue to reach out
in all directions to help the greyhounds, both nationally and now internationally as well.
I give them a solid
5 paws up (I mean stars).... !!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be more creative in coming up with nouveau ideas in order to help fund them with money, which in turn would help them achieve their mission on advocating for greyhounds worldwide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have always had a heart for greyhounds from the track and worked locally with rescuing and finding forever homes for these gentle dogs. Grey2K USA-Worldwide is a non-profit that forms the universal voice for greyhounds who, otherwise, have no voice. Their owners and trainers see them as commodities, not living entities. This organization knows they are sentient beings. Their concern for the well being of these animals is tempered by a down to earth, pragmatic, honest approach to educate the public to the cruelties suffered by greyhounds brought on by those who measure their worth by how much money the dogs can bring in... The facts and statistics reported by this organization are documented facts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide for them a budget that would allow the truth about dog racing to be exposed to the public in all countries that allow and profit from the cruelties inflicted on greyhounds in their training and racing careers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I’m the Florida Director for GREY2K USA. Over the years while tabling and organizing rallies in front of the 12 tracks in Florida, I have come in contact with many people who have experienced behind the scenes activities that are part of the racing industry. For example, one vet tech wrote to me prior to a rally, “Hi! My name is ----- , and I am coming to that protest come hell or high water! It’s funny, I JUST posted something on my Facebook about how horrible racing is. See, I am a vet tech at a local animal hospital where we work with the track dogs (all the different kennels). We bath, vaccinate, do blood work & dentals, sterilize and repair broken legs on the greyhounds that are blessed enough to have a chance at a real life. We have to put soooo many beautiful, sweet greyhounds to sleep for nothing more than broken hocks that the kennel owners don't feel that it's worthwhile enough to pay for fixing. And then the tragic ones that come in right off the track terribly suffering from heatstroke that we euthanize- These things just shouldn't happen! I can't stand to look another beautiful greyhound in the eyes as it licks my face as we're injecting the euthanasia solution into its vein. All over a snapped hock that no one would pay to have repaired. Let's start by telling everyone what a tragedy racing is!!!”
At this time, we do not know how many of the racing greyhounds are suffering injuries in Florida since Florida is one of two states out of the seven racing states that does not have injury reporting. I will proudly work with GREY2K USA to get injury reporting on the books in Florida. GREY2K USA is a well-run organization dedicated to the protection of the racing greyhounds worldwide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I became involved in greyhound adoption when we adopted our first grey from a local adoption group. I started volunteering for that group soon after. As I learned more about the greyhound racing industry, I became increasingly disgusted by it. I then became involved in greyhound advocacy. I became a member of the GREY2K USA Board of Directors because I fully support their mission and the work they do. All of the members of the Board of Directors are volunteers. We don't make a dime off the greyhounds, despite claims by industry supporters to the contrary.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My work as a greyhound advocate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through my work as a greyhound adoption volunteer and greyhound advocate.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Ending greyhound racing in the states where it is still conducted.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Banning greyhound racing in all states and ending greyhound racing worldwide.

May 16, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I have never come across a more dedicated, hard-working knowledgeable group of people than the staff of GREY2K USA. They are indefatigable in their mission to end the cruel 'sport' of dog racing, and thus save the lives of countless greyhounds in the process.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

The fact that GREY2K USA is not an adoption group has been addressed many times on many forums. I can’t say why the handful of those who try to detract from GREY2K USA seem not to understand the difference between a greyhound advocacy group and a greyhound adoption group, but here goes:

Greyhound advocacy groups are IRS 501(c)4 charitable organizations that have the ability to lobby and legislatively pass laws without restriction (but donations are non-tax-deductible);

Greyhound adoption groups are IRS 501(c)3 charitable organizations that can only spend an "insubstantial part" of their budget to lobby (and donations are tax deductible).

This is easy to understand, and since GREY2K USA is an advocacy group, I’m wondering why GREY2K USA is criticized for not adopting greyhounds, except possibly . . it is an easy criticism to try to make in the hope that it sticks.

When speaking about greyhound racing in Massachusetts, I can’t say why the handful of GREY2K USA detractors seems not to understand, but here goes:

Greyhound racing ended in Massachusetts because it was voted out by the public. Question 3 on the ballot was brought by GREY2K USA, because that’s what advocacy groups do. But the outcome of Question 3 was the will of the voting public.

That statute to end racing in Massachusetts, which was authored by GREY2K USA President and General Counsel Christine Dorchak, provided for a 14-month phaseout, from Nov 2008 to Jan 2010. That’s 14 months’ longer notice, or 60 weeks’ longer notice, or 420 days’ longer notice than so many people receive from employers. During that time, the racing greyhound owners and kennel operators in Massachusetts could have (and in my opinion, should have) made provision for each and every greyhound in their care / possession. They could have made arrangements to move their greyhounds (and themselves, if they desired) to racetracks in other states; or they could have made arrangements for each of their dogs to go to adoption groups if they themselves chose to go into another line of work. 14 months is a long time to accomplish either of those decisions. Also quite unusual, during that 14-month period, and afterward, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts offered free job re-training to greyhound industry workers, supplementing a federal program that was already in place.

Thankfully, it is worth mentioning that the high majority of greyhounds leaving Wonderland and Raynham Parks were made available for adoption (nearly 1000), while others were sent on to continue racing at tracks in other states. This was the decision of their legal owners, and greyhound advocates could not force their release to rescue groups.

These facts are also easy to understand, which makes me wonder why GREY2K USA detractors don’t point out that when racetrack owners have decided to close tracks, there were no such provisions for industry workers. In 2009, Phoenix Greyhound Park announced its impending closure out of the blue and gave 90 days’ notice. Also in 2009, Dairyland Greyhound Park announced its impending closure on short notice. No job re-training was offered in each of those instances.

No one expects everyone to be on the same page regarding greyhound racing. But, for those in the greyhound racing industry to actually not understand what I’ve just described, or try to make it seem as if they don’t understand, just falls short.

As a board member of GREY2K USA, it is my opinion that the greyhound racing industry’s own reputation is a major contributor to the public’s (and lawmakers’) increasing disdain for dog racing. On a personal level, my experiences (since 1997) seeing firsthand the condition of greyhounds coming to adoption from the tracks keeps me engaged more than any pro- or anti-racing discussion ever could.

GREY2K USA works to get to the root of the problem - - to end the inhumane existence racing greyhounds have no choice but to suffer - - by ending an outdated activity. Greyhound racing's popularity is over; today's general public does not support it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

strengthen our grassroots campaign to pass greyhound protection laws and end the cruelty of dog racing. Volunteer