Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
300 Reviews
1234.066675
Write A Review
September 21, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 21, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

This is a scam...They are not helping one greyhound find a home after racing. Less than 1% of their donation money goes to actual greyhound charities. They are strictly a lobbying group to eliminate greyhound racing, and wagering on greyhound racing. They are always saying on their websites, if you want to help greyhounds, donate to grey2k. However if they ever succeed in eliminating greyhound racing there will be 1000's of racing greyhounds with nowhere to go. Grey2K will not help any be adopted. They will have created the problem with zero help in solving it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure people are aware, they do not HELP any greyhound get adopted

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 21, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

There was a protest by G2K on approx. January 28, 2012 at a retail shoe/sneaker outlet in Boston against the store selling their product due to a ad where they displayed a video involving greyhounds racing. Their agenda was "Greyhound Racing Kills" on one of their signs at the protest. I was there in defense of the greyhound and their adoption after racing. As they were telling people passing the negative agenda I was telling the postive side. I asked the G2K people involved how many greyhounds have they adopted out after racing in the past year in finding their "Forever Homes". They had no figures for any adoptions done by this group but continued to try and stop me from my postive agenda by saying" we have no idea why you are here". I told people the money donated to this group does not find homes for greyhounds and it is a waste of your money. I was informed by one of the leaders they would be at the state capital in Florida to continue to aid in the de-coupling of racing from the tracks. They are a political action group, not a adoption group for greyhounds. Told him I would meet him in Florida to add my side of the real truth. The Florida Bill was stopped in committee and never got to the senate floor for discussion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not donate to this group

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I adopted my first retired racing greyhound in 2001. When I first heard about this group, I assumed it was a non-profit 501c3 that supported the rehoming of retired racers. After learning more about retired and current racing greyhounds, I also discovered this is NOT a 501c3, but a 501c4. BIG difference when it comes to what I "thought" was a group supporting greyhound adoption after the track. Instead, this is a group trying to put the end to greyhound racing and our NGA racing greyhounds. They do NOT support ANY greyhound adoption group, but spend their money on lobbying efforts to close down the greyhound industry. NEVER will I allow myself to be so fooled and NEVER will I give another cent to Grey2K. Their are misrepresenting what they are all about. Any potential donor, dig a bit and all their nastiness comes right to the surface.
OF COURSE CAREY2 WOULD RESPOND. I AM NOT PART OF AN ORGANIZED GROUP NOR DO I REPRESENT ANY GREYHOUND OWNER,BREEDER, KENNEL OR TRACK. I SUPPORT ADOPTION GROUPS AND HAVE RETIRED RACERS. G2KUSA MIGHT WANT TO CHECK THEIR MAILING LISTS AS THEY CONTINUE TO SEND ME SOLICITATIONS FOR DONATIONS SEVERAL TIMES A YEAR. WHAT GROUPS DO THEY DONATE TO AND WHAT PERCENTAGE OF THEIR DONATIONS GO DIRECTLY TO HELP GREYHOUNDS? I HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH AND ANY DONATION IS MINISCULE IN SCOPE OF THE MONEY THEY RAKE IN TO SPEND ON FIGHTING RACING - NOT SUPPORTING ADOPTION. PEOPLE - YOUR DONATIONS ARE BETTER USED DIRECTLY TO ADOPTION GROUPS IN YOUR AREA - NOT THIS 501c4!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Represent my organization for what is is and quit trying to pass for what it is not. They do not care about retired racers - only about feathering their own nest wIth donations fleeced from unsuspecting people who believe they are donating to help retired racers find their forever home after the track. AWW SHUCKS CAREY, YOU COULD AT LEAST SPELL MY NAME CORRECTLY. BUT PERSONALLY, YOU FOLKS COULD DO SO MUCH GOOD HELPING THE GALGOS WITH ALL THOSE DONATIONS AND BE LEGIT WHEN IT COMES TO HELPING .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

Carey in reading all your comments your statement says you take modest salaries, could you please tell us what you consider a modest salary? It is my understanding that you've recently gave yourself a raise even though donations are down. How much money has been donated by grey2k to adoption groups to help them--- When you brag about closing Mass. tracks did you see that all those animals were place or was that not your problem? And referring to cwood review regarding when you "closed mass race tracks they were given a 14 month notice" well 14 months is nothing in the greyhound industry. A pup doesn't even start on the track until the age of 17-18 months old so what happens to all the pups on the farms, how are they to be fed ? Do you plan on donating money to feed them, pay the farm payments so they have a place to live or finding them a home, I think not -this would be another "not my problem" I don't even think you thought about all those beautiful puppies NEXT TIME YOU DECIDE TO TRY AND CLOSE A TRACK there needs to be a 4-5 year window. We love our animals and they love to run !!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 18, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

Scam Artists! This group pretends to be about greyhound welfare. In fact, everything they do hurts greyhounds!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

Any group that spreads falsehoods in order to perpetuate its views is pretty worthless in my estimation. This group uses shock photos of greyhound racing atrocities that are either decades old, predating most animal cruelty laws, or that originate outside the USA where there are no such laws. They allow the public to think their funds are going directly to help find homes for greyhounds, when in fact, none of the money goes for this purpose. Lots of money, however, goes toward salaries for its board members. Give this one a miss and give your donations to a group that prefers finding homes for hounds over lining their pockets.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

GREY2KUSA is a great organization. They work tirelessly to help greyhounds.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Tertullian said “The first reaction to truth is hatred” and you can certainly see that in the virulence of the reaction to Grey 2K from members of the greyhound racing industry. Grey 2K was substantially responsible for ending greyhound racing in Massachusetts; they have been involved in campaigns to end the cruelty of greyhound racing from Arizona to Florida, and have been successful. They constantly shine the light of public awareness on an industry that treats living, sentient creatures as commodities to be used and discarded. It's no wonder they've made enemies, but the enemies they've made are fighting to maintain a brutish industry built on brutality and one that, thanks to the efforts of Gery 2K is slowly moving to the ash heap of history.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

That last review was written by Carey Thiel, the head of Grey2K. I have been involved with GHs for over 15 years and NEVER have had a GOOD interaction with Grey2K. They are lobbyists.. They raise money for themselves.. Their tax returns speak the truth.. Hundreds of thousands of dollars raised.. and NONE spent on the hounds they profess to protect. They have made adoption groups work hundreds of times harder, trying to place "displaced " hounds.. And they are supported by another money making organization HSUS (Humane Society of the US) NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH YOUR LOCAL HUMANE SOCIETY.. Neither of these organizations are worth the public dollar.. but the public is duped into making contributions by the lies they tell and the distortions they make. I bred and raced GHs for several years. I no longer do that. I DO,however, adopt and foster hounds to this day. I also, when possible, take part in transporting hounds going to their forever homes.. I do fundraisers for my local adoption groups (I am a professional photographer).. and I don't take money that belongs to the hounds and PUT IT IN MY BANK ACCOUNT!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

Grey2k started out with an idea: to end greyhound racing. It is possible that they started out with the best of intentions, but, their two directors have turned it into a cash cow for themselves: a way to make hundreds of thousands of dollars off the very dogs they say they are trying to protect. Their media savvy is impressive, and their ability to turn a phrase, and to twist any news story to their own advantage is quite extraordinary. Their support of greyhound adoption groups has been dismal. During their successful efforts to close the tracks in Massachusetts for instance, they promised to help adoption groups place dogs when the tracks closed. They said that they had lists of hundreds of adopters and organizations prepared to help. What happened when the tracks did close? Grey2k was nowhere to be found. Recently I read a blog post from Carey Thiel, one of the directors. He was bragging that his organizations has since 2009 made financial contributions to 50 adoption organizations. Nowhere in his blog did he say how much: for all we know it could be $1 each. Neither did he explain why there were no contributions in the eight previous years of Grey2k's existence, though with $300,000 to $500,000 per year in donations, you'd think that they could find a few dollars to actually "protect greyhounds". We find Grey2k tactics and honesty questionable at the very least.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

strengthen our grassroots campaign to pass greyhound protection laws and end the cruelty of dog racing. Volunteer