Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
278 Reviews
1234.053965
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

GREY2K USA is one of those wonderful, underdog organization (but not for long, I hope) that's been working for stronger protection laws for racing greyhounds. They've had great success already in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Florida and even Texas.

They're fighting for incredibly basic
things getting the public informed about the number of greyhounds injured while racing, and forcing breeders and racers to report on the ultimate fate of current and former racing dogs. GREY2K helped pass the first state-funded greyhound adoption trust fund in US history! They're doing the angels' work, and I'm so glad they're around.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

They do great work, and get the job done !!!! for the greyhound dogs..
Very dedicated -- and tirelessly fighting for the greyhound dogs --
and to stop this racing industry that has hurt in so many ways these beautiful loving dogs
and to mention the killing of these dogs from this
horrific industry..

Saying that one of the high members of Grey 2K USA -- should have been at the Marathon bombing -
Well, that shows the mentaility that your dealing with here ??? THAT ALONE IS NOT AN EASY JOB..
So YES -- shut down all dog tracks !!!!!!!!

Best Wishes to ALL THE GREYHOUNDS AND GREY 2K USA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A -- if anything ---------keep going and keep going !!!!!! for the dogs !!!!! eveywhere ....

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

These people seem to be operating some sort of rip-off by preying on people's emotions using lies as their medium.
Almost nothing goes directly to help greyhounds whilst the operators of this shambles pocket nice salaries.
All they ever want is more and more money.
A shame I can't award
zero stars.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down immediately.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

First of all, this is not a charity. All they do is exploit people who know nothing about greyhounds or greyhound racing to get their pity money. The owners of this group pay themselves big salaries, and have never, ever lifted a finger to help one greyhound.

Greyhounds are taken very good
care of at the tracks. Grey2k likes to lie, and to use very old information, usually from other countries to get people to donate to them. The people who follow them don't think for themselves, but follow their "leader".

If you want to learn more about them, it's easy to do your own homework on this "shell" organization.

Now this is the stuff they spew when the truth comes out:

carey2 wrote: September 23, 2013
Virtually every statement in this "review" is false. GREY2K USA is effective in part because we have a full-time staff that is knowledgeable and professional. All of these staff members earn salaries that are modest in the non-profit community. Further, we support greyhound adoption in many ways. We give adoption referrals, we give contributions to greyhound adoption groups across the country, and we regularly encourage our supporters to adopt. Finally, the notion that our data is based on "very old information, usually from other countries" is completely and utterly false. Our data is recent, from sources such as state records and mainstream news reports, and specific to the state in question.

It's very easy to search the internet to find the information that tells the truth. The IRS needs to look into them. Carey2 knows most people will just donate and not question where the money is going, but some of us want to see where the money goes, and doing some digging has proved over and over this is a bogus organization that does indeed need investigating. They do NOTHING to help anything but themselves. Check them out like I did!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put them out of business for lying to people for money.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

AS A rescuer of Engjish Mastiffs I became interested in Grey2K. It is a wonderful organization and helping to stop[ the abuse of Greyhounds to allow another form of gambling!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been rescuing greyhounds since 1992. I have been behind the scenes at tracks, breeding and training farms and in the kennels where these dogs are housed. No person would ever treat their beloved companion animal the way these dogs are treated. They are purely a commodity to the dog racing industry. Make no mistake in believing all these dogs receive daily massages and whirlpool baths. These dogs are expendable - when one breaks down or gets too slow, there are plenty more waiting in the wings to take that dog's place.

Breeder/trainers/owner of racing greyhounds are not concerned about longevity, thus the genetic pool has been contaminated with genes that cause cancer and all sorts of other diseases. This has been proven in a study by one of the world's foremost experts on racing greyhounds, Dr. Guillermo Couto. His findings were published, and specifically stated racing greyhounds are at a higher risk of cancer due to breeding purely for speed. AKC greyhounds do NOT have the same high rate of cancer as those registered through the NGA (National Greyhound Association) for racing.

GREY2K USA understands the only way to protect these greyhounds is to end racing. This organization is committed to their mission, as are those of us who have seen the death, pain and suffering of greyhounds we rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more of my time and money to expedite their mission of shutting down the dog racing industry.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have known about this organization since it's inception. I have written to them many, many times over the past ten years to ask for everything from humane education materials I could distribute in the schools and at animal events to advice on holding a demonstration at our local dog race track. The more I learned about this organization, the more I felt I wanted one myself. Grey2KUSA inspired me to adopt a greyhound from a local rescue organization. I adopted a dog I named Eli and had him for six years before his death of natural causes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more local representatives around the country but I know that all depends on volunteers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This organizations main goal is to siphon money from people who believe they are placing greyhounds into homes. This is a LOBBYING organization that does not place any greyhounds. What that is a lie? When this group did take in 6 greyhounds to place after the tracks closed down, they were placed in a kill shelter. Their success in ending racing has been limited however they are financially stable. A closer look at their tax forms paint an interesting financial setting that is a maze of misinformation. If you believe your money will be placing greyhounds into homes, you are mistaken. Donate to your local greyhound placement organization and not these crooks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

remove their current organizational structure with good honest people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 21, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

This is a scam...They are not helping one greyhound find a home after racing. Less than 1% of their donation money goes to actual greyhound charities. They are strictly a lobbying group to eliminate greyhound racing, and wagering on greyhound racing. They are always saying on their websites, if you want to help greyhounds, donate to grey2k. However if they ever succeed in eliminating greyhound racing there will be 1000's of racing greyhounds with nowhere to go. Grey2K will not help any be adopted. They will have created the problem with zero help in solving it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure people are aware, they do not HELP any greyhound get adopted

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 21, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

There was a protest by G2K on approx. January 28, 2012 at a retail shoe/sneaker outlet in Boston against the store selling their product due to a ad where they displayed a video involving greyhounds racing. Their agenda was "Greyhound Racing Kills" on one of their signs at the protest. I was there in defense of the greyhound and their adoption after racing. As they were telling people passing the negative agenda I was telling the postive side. I asked the G2K people involved how many greyhounds have they adopted out after racing in the past year in finding their "Forever Homes". They had no figures for any adoptions done by this group but continued to try and stop me from my postive agenda by saying" we have no idea why you are here". I told people the money donated to this group does not find homes for greyhounds and it is a waste of your money. I was informed by one of the leaders they would be at the state capital in Florida to continue to aid in the de-coupling of racing from the tracks. They are a political action group, not a adoption group for greyhounds. Told him I would meet him in Florida to add my side of the real truth. The Florida Bill was stopped in committee and never got to the senate floor for discussion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not donate to this group

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

strengthen our grassroots campaign to pass greyhound protection laws and end the cruelty of dog racing. Volunteer