Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
300 Reviews
1234.066675
Write A Review
August 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

GREY2K USA is a very professionally managed organization with an unprecedented track record for saving dogs from a miserable life in the dog racing industry. Its strategic campaigns have played a vital role in the closure of many dog tracks in the US and in achieving state bans on greyhound racing. It has also been successful in stopping the spread of this industry to other nations, including South Africa, India, the Philippines and Jamaica. I can highly recommend supporting this effective organisation.
October 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 24, 2013

It is a never ending source of wonder to me how this organization (Grey2K) can so easily manipulate unknowing people through mass indoctrination of what is often outright lies and self serving propaga... more

October 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

This organization is bogus on so many levels. Grey2K rakes in thousands under the pretense of helping poor abused greyhounds. Firstly, the greyhound racing industry is tightly regulated, greyhounds are well taken care of and I have seen the lies and deceit that this organization stoops to advance its primary goal--which is separating you from the cash in your pocket. Not one solitary dime goes to helping re home ex racing greyhounds. If people want to help dogs in need, I strongly suggest giving to your local animal shelter. That is truly a worthy cause and those animals ARE often abused and neglected.
September 24, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

It is a never ending source of wonder to me how this organization (Grey2K) can so easily manipulate unknowing people through mass indoctrination of what is often outright lies and self serving propaganda. As a person involved in greyhounds and adoption for over two decades, I have seen first hand hundreds of greyhounds that have walked through our doors and on to new homes. They come in as beautiful racing machines and owing to the quality of care and level of professional training, we can adopt them out to new homes with little fostering.

I am greatly saddened to see so many lies and misinformation touted as fact by people who really should know better. I have visions of grey2k advocates wearing white pointed hats and banishing torches, because that is exactly what they are doing. And they aren't doing a damn thing to help those of us who work diligently to adopt out these wonderful canines.

And as a response to the accustions posted by carey2 below, I find it typical of their conduct. Anyone who opposes them is an enemy and labeled as such.

and btw, you may remember carey2, our adoption agency refused your donation of $500, and the strings you wanted to attach. The end of greyhound racing would spell the end of this noble breed of dog. A fact you have not mentioned to your followers . . .not surprised.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expose it for the fraud that it is and donate 100% of money and assets to bona fide greyhound adoption agencies.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 23, 2013

Grey2k does not help find retired greyhounds homes at all. When Massachusetts stopped racing they were no where to be fouund to help re-home all of the dogs that needed places to go. People need to lo... more

October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Grey2k is really good at one thing. Swindling money from people just so they can fatten their pockets. They do nothing for greyhounds what so ever..
September 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Grey2k does not help find retired greyhounds homes at all. When Massachusetts stopped racing they were no where to be fouund to help re-home all of the dogs that needed places to go. People need to look behind the false image that they want the public to see and really do some deep investigating to realize that they are nothing but extremists stealing your hard earned dollar... Recently there was a animal cruelty case in Boston there own back yard why didnt they jump in to help with that? No money in it for them thats why.. I know by the end of the day someone from Grey2k will post a reply on this saying that I am lying blahblahblah... Know this people Greyhound racing does nothing for me financially!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

End it

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 3, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

UPDATE: Carey2’s comments below are not surprising. The first is basically accurate (except for the word “bizarre”) as it was indeed posted by a dog racing supporter as part of an organized campaign to post truthful reviews about Grey2K. If one encounters terrible meals or service in a restaurant, is one not entitled to express one’s opinion with an unfavorable review? If one purchases a product that does not live up to its hype and is a disappointing waste of money, does one not have the right to share one’s unfortunate experience? It’s time the racing industry stands up and defends itself against the bullying tactics of Grey2K, who themselves have perpetuated a “smear” campaign to malign greyhound racing and the good people who own, breed, train, care for and love these dogs. To paint an entire industry as villains because of the sins of a few is unconscionable. Do we close all churches because of a few aberrant priests? Do we shutter all schools because of some vile criminals with guns? Do we outlaw all amateur sports because kids might get injured? Yet Carey2 and Grey2K would have you believe that every person who is involved with greyhound racing is the devil incarnate. It’s disheartening to think that Grey2K and their supporters harbor and spread such hatred.

The only thing factual in Carey2’s second comment is that greyhounds compete 6-8 times per month. The timeline presented below is an accurate depiction of the daily routine of a racer, written by a professional trainer who works with these dogs day in and day out and can attest to the veracity of their habits. Carey2’s assertion that this schedule only holds true on the day of a race is baseless, and patently illustrates his ignorance. On off days, other activities are substituted for the race, as well as allowing time for rest after the enormous expenditure of energy a race entails. And Carey2, PLEASE give the mantra a rest – “cages that are barely large enough for the dogs to stand up or turn around” is a broken record. This notion has been disproved time and again with videos and images posted every day directly from racing kennels.

In summary, if you were contemplating open heart surgery, would you consult your hairdresser or auto mechanic? The last time I looked, Carey2 did not work in a racing kennel, nor does he hold a trainer’s license. That he feels he is more knowledgeable about greyhound racing than the professionals who work with the dogs 24/7 is profoundly absurd - and if you believe him, I’ve got a bridge to sell you.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: Hello, I am a racing greyhound whose official name is KerrysLion, but you can call me "The K." I figured since my distant cousin Zoe is allowed to write letters for her handlers at Grey2K, I would add my own two kibbles as a review. There's been a lot of action here lately, but I just want to address one topic in particular. The folks at Grey2K keep saying over and over and over again that: "Racing greyhounds endure lives of terrible confinement. They live inside warehouse-style kennels in rows of stacked cages that are barely large enough for them to stand up or turn around. They are confined for long hours each day, with shredded paper or carpet remnants as bedding." Nothing could be further from the truth! We spend the first 12 to 16 months of our lives just being dogs! We hang out with our brothers and sisters, competing and chasing each other up and down the huge outdoor runs. We are fed and watered, receive medical care, have shade and shelter, and always have lots of humans handling and playing with us. When we're old enough we get to go to school and start learning manners and how to live in a civilized community with our peers. Most of us who have a strong, inherent desire to run and chase prey will then move on to a racing environment and will compete against our kindred. This is where WE decide our career path: to run or not to run, that is the question! You see, it is impossible to force a greyhound to run or race - we will or we won't. Those who would rather play with the bunny than chase it get a fast track to their second career as a beloved pet.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand. I gave Grey2K one star, because you can't pick no star. Far from living a life of terrible confinement, here is an account of my actual life in a racing kennel:

6.30am: Rise and shine. I get to wake up to all of my caretakers letting us out. I go outside in a group 15 boys, and we hang out outside for about 30 mins. We sniff, smell and take care of nature's call. We have 3 different pens that we get to go into ... and more sniffing and smelling take place. At 7am I come back inside.

7am - 8am: my caretakers are cooking rice and pasta in the kitchen.This will go in our dinner once its cooled. My caretakers start cleaning all of our kennels. Some dogs get to leave the kennel and go exercising.

8am: I get to go back outside with my group of 15 friends, while my caretakers clean my kennel, check my shredded paper bed, change my water and sweep up bed area. I spend 30 minutes outside, relaxing and sniffing ... and going through each of the 3 different pens. At 8.30am, I come back in

8.45am: I get weighed and my weight is recorded in a kennel log. My caretakers groom me, check my feet, check my nails and my ears, and then brush me with a grooming glove. I got back into my kennel and nap till dinner time

9-10am: Dinner time! I get a 1/2lb meat ball with some vitamins and vanilla Ensure on top. Yum! Because I got a 1/2 "snack" that means I am racing today!!!

10am: I go back outside with my group of 15 buddies and we take care of nature's call, do a little sniffing, watch some of the other's kennel staff and just lounge around for 30 mins, getting to go into each of the 3 pens attached to our kennel. 10.30am I go back inside to the kennel. When we come back inside, my caretakers sweep, mop and clean the kennel, so its all clean and comfortable

11am - 11.30: I hear leads clinking!!!!!! Woohoo. I am going racing!!!! My caretakers put a lead on me, and I go walking with 2 of my buddies. We walk from the kennel to the racetrack ... we pass the grassy area with trees, and we sniff and take care of nature's call ... and if we are really lucky, we will see a squirrel!! We love watching the squirrel run up the trees! We walk to paddock area of the track, and get weighed. I have to be within 1.5lbs of my set-weight or I won't be allowed to race. I am 84.5lbs, the clerk of the scale records my weight and my caretaker brings me to the racing kennels. A track employee takes me and puts me into kennels, where I will stay until its time to race

1.30pm: Track leadouts come and get me! They put my leash on, and we go and walk outside in the warm up area. A lady in a lab coat follows me as I take care of nature's call, and my sample goes into a plastic container and a label gets put on it. The track vet is there watching us walk, and making sure that we are all okay. Then we get to go to the Paddock area, where the Paddock supervisor will check my weight and then put on my racing blanket. The Paddock Judge comes and checks my ear tattoo (to make sure I am the correct dog), and then he checks that my racing blanket fits correctly

2pm: I walk onto the racetrack wearing the green blanket of post #4. I am pulling at the leash, and the leadout walks me onto the track for the post parade. We walk in front of the spectators, and I catch a glimpse of the toteboard .. I am 5/1 to win my race. The leadouts walk us to the starting boxes, and we wait for about 5 mins. I get loaded into the starting box, and I can hear the lure coming towards the start .... the boxes open and I am in 3rd place. I close ground on the greyhounds racing in front of me, and when I turn into the homestretch I accelerate and leave the field behind me! I won! I won! I am so excited. The lure stops at the pick-up, and we all stand there wagging our tails, so excited! The leadout puts my leash back on, and I walk off the track to my caretaker

2.15pm: My caretaker brings me to the cool down area, and I get my feet cleaned and cooled off, and then I get to walk through the cool-down tank ... its a cool water tank that we can walk through to cool down on a hot day. I walk back to the kennel with my caretaker, and when we get there they clean my face, feet, and wash my eyes. I go back into my kennel and drink some water. I nap for an hour or two. When I am all cooled down, I get my dinner!!! meat, kibble, rice, pasta and some vitamin supplements. Yum! Then about 4pm, I go back outside for a few mins to take care of nature's call. I come back inside and get a couple of milk bone cookies!!! Yeah!

5.30pm: my caretakers come and let me out with my 15 buddies. We spend about 30 minutes outside

7.30pm: the night races start, and my caretakers are in the kennel taking care of other racers

8.30 - 10pm: my caretakers come and let me outside with my 15 buddies. We are outside for about 30-45 minutes. We get to go through the 3 different pens, and sniff, smell, lounge and hang-out

11pm: my caretakers wash dishes, sweep, mop and tidy up the kennel. They leave about 11.30pm and the radio is left on for us with some easy-listening music. We sleep and dream. I have water if I am thirsty, and a nice bed of shredded paper. I dream of winning races!

6:30 am Rise and Shine!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013
20 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
20 people found this review helpful

It seems that some supporters of this group are still under the mistaken impression that they actually save and rehabilitate greyhounds. This couldn't be farther from the truth, and a close look at their own website and literature will reveal that they are solely a political lobbying group with the goal of ending greyhound racing. Absolutely none of their funds go toward adoption efforts. They do nothing to 'save' greyhounds Unless you think that they can be 'saved' by eliminating the reason for them to exist.

The people who are involved in greyhound racing are just regular people, most of whom care deeply for greyhounds and love to work in a field for which they are passionate. As a veterinarian and adopter of ex-racing greyhounds, I have gotten to know many in the industry, and I've seen how much they care about their dogs. As with any group of people, there are some bad apples, who are quickly dealt with when they are discovered. To fight to eliminate the entire racing industry because there are a few bad apples, is the same as fighting to end pet ownership because there are some owners who abuse their pets. This is an animal rights group who would eliminate our right to live with and love pets if it was up to them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013
23 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
July 9, 2012

I have been involved in the greyhound racing community since the early 1980's. Grey2k USA relies on lies and misinformation to make people think that greyhound racing is inhumane. They lead people to ... more

September 28, 2013
23 people found this review helpful

Just to be clear, this is not a "fake" review. I know more about greyhounds and greyhound racing than Carey Theil or Christine Dorchak. And I have an honest opinion about Grey2k USA.

They are animal rights extremists, much like PETA and ALF (Animal Liberation Front). For Dorchak and
Theil, it's not about specific conditions, it's about humans profiting from animals. Dorchak and Theil are vegans. They are supported by PETA, ALF and the HSUS. They try to hide behind their extremist views by using misleading propaganda, negative connotations and outright lies about greyhound racing.

They lie about the size of the crates and condition of the kennels. They lie about the amount of time greyhounds spend in the kennel. They withhold data about racing injuries. Data that would prove that greyhound racing is very safe.

Why all the lies and propaganda? Because if they simply said that "greyhound racing is bad because people are profiting from animals", they wouldn't get the financial support from the public.

Grey2k USA uses deceptive practices to slander hard working Americans in the greyhound community.

Once again, Carey and his wife caught in a web of lies. Here a link to the ALF Hall of Fame induction for Christine Dorchak:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=368520536614392&set=a.368520513281061.1073741825.
186639528135828&type=3&theater

Carey searches the internet and finds a link describing the "minimum allowable size" for a greyhound crate. He just assumes that all greyhounds are housed in crates of that size. Someone who really wants to find the truth would visit a greyhound kennel and determine if they are in size appropriate crates. And you would find that they certainly are. Visit Grey2k Deception on Facebook for photos of the actual crates used.

Carey, if you don't withhold data from your injury reporting statistics, then how many races and starts were there during the 5 1/2 year reporting period for injures at Wheeling and Tri-State? These numbers are required to determine the possibility of an injury occurring.

As stated, Carey and his wife aren't really interested in the truth. They are interested in generating income to support their lifestyle.

Carey, you seem a little quiet. Care to answer my questions, or are you afraid of a little debate?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only positive change to Grey2k would be to revoke their 501(c)4 status.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

I have been involved in the greyhound racing community since the early 1980's. Grey2k USA relies on lies and misinformation to make people think that greyhound racing is inhumane. They lead people to believe that they are involved with greyhound adoption, which they are not. They actively troll news articles related to greyhounds and attack those who do not support their "cause". No money donated to Grey2k USA helps greyhounds. All money donated to Grey2k USA is allocated to salaries and "miscellaneous expenses".

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2013
22 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
22 people found this review helpful

This review is not intended to drive down your review score Carey. My purpose here as a greyhound lover is to educate people about the misconceptions they have about greyhound racing after joining your group. I think you have every right to stand up for what you beleive, but lying to the public, twisting words and misrepresenting facts is a LOW LIFE way to make a "non profit" You already know that in the greyhound racing industry our biggest threat is your spread of misinformation that is intended to have your supporters donate $ that will ultimately go towards ending greyhound racing and very likely increasing the extinction of this beautiful breed. When we stop breeding where will you get your donations? The fact that our adoption rates far surpass those of any other breed or advocacy groups should be a clear sign that a greyhounds career after racing is not a death sentence, its actually a oppurtunity for families to witness first hand how well this breed has been taken care of from day 1. Your false claims of abuse and neglect have only shown through a handful of bad apples in this business and none of them are involved in racing after the fact. Every industry has a few sucky people, don't let the .001% paint a picture of the other 99.9. If you want an open dialog or a debate of facts stop erasing PRO greyhound statements from your page. Yes we go there to spread truth, not be censored. We watch numbers just like you. Does it sting when one of your supporters hears our story and sees the truth and leaves your organization because they've had enough. Why do you censor the facts and highlight the BS. Google greyhound lies and myths, better yet call any greyhound adoption group (they have no intere$t other than our awesome retirees) and ask them what has Grey2K done for you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus donations to helping the breed. Require the heads to be volunteers like most greyhound groups have. Wouldn't giving away tens of thousands of dollars to a greyhoumd charity be a better investment than lining your pockets?

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a veterinarian, and I support the work of GREY2K USA. They have scientifically brought to the public the statistics of greyhound racing, including the injuries and the lack of profit for this form of animal abuse. Public awareness is one of the most powerful methods of reform.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Grey2K is the only organization that devotes everything they got in changing legislature in helping eradicate a horrible and cruel industry. They have been ridiculed for not rescuing greyhounds. They are the only organization that has been able to make a difference in closing these profit making institutions called race tracks that are one of the most despicable cruel and inhumane organizations out there. True, they don't do adoptions but we have some of the best and wonderful adoption organizations doing this.
They are unique and the only organization that rescues greyhounds by fighting the tracks, breeders, owners, and making the public aware of what goes on and they change legislations. This is why we are seeing less and less tracks due to Grey2K. Thank you Grey2K without you we would not have gotten rid of some of the tracks. Hopefully you will get rid of all of them. and thank you to all the rescues that take in the greyhounds and find homes for them.





Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would employ more and more people to help them with this venture and If I was financially able I would help there also.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013
17 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 24, 2013
17 people found this review helpful

Grey2k is a lobbyist group whose sole mission is to end dog racing and eradicate gambling entertainment options. While this 501c4 is a non profit, it is not a charitable one, nor even one with much ethics. They utilize donations to lobby to eliminate the livlihoods of thousands of dog professionals, wipe out a century of history and thousands of years of careful breeding that make up what the greyhound is today. They pay themselves a salary, take vacations in the name of 'lobbying' and travel the world asking for donations. Even looking at the President's response to some of the honest reviews on here from adoption people, general public, their own donors and, yes.. industry people, you get them actually asking for money to shut down honest reviews. The racing industry has for years had open discussions and offered to open up farms, kennels and operations to Grey2k board members but they refused to accept these invitations. Instead, they delete and ban comments that might have opposing view in their quest for additional dollars in their ongoing donation drive.

I am an adoption person. I have had greyhounds for nearly 20 years as pets. I did come into direct contact with the racing community about 3.5 years ago and realized that there was a lot of good, honest people who love their dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd like to see more transparency. They often put out "reports." Once published, these reports are the only ones sited as facts. I'd love to see Grey2k quit using copyrighted photos without permission, and when they do use photos, use current ones from the United States to depict their claims on the USA. Mr. Theil will say my review is "fake" but I'm a real person that has taken the time to know all the issues. I don't have a donate to me button & I don't make my living off the greyhoun

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

strengthen our grassroots campaign to pass greyhound protection laws and end the cruelty of dog racing. Volunteer