Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
300 Reviews
1234.066675
Write A Review
June 30, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Wow...crazy. Obviously something's fishy here....never saw a person write so many comments defending reviews and comments made about their organization. Apparently anything but a glowing review gets a defense statement. Almost like there is something to hide. Strange. A little tacky too. Oh....and carey2 I don't have anything to do with greyhounds so please don't post your canned response on my review. Thanks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Looks like the leaders need to be changed if there are this many accusations and the person has to write all these comments.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

This review was not posted by a dog racing supporter and is factually accurate.
Grey2KUSA has over a decade long record of obfuscation, manipulation and misinformation.
While living in Massachusetts, I initially fell for their propaganda. My family had adopted a retired racing greyhound
whom we loved greatly. (We have since adopted another) If their claims about the treatment of the hounds were true, who wouldn't want to end this horrible practice?
It was then that we were invited to visit one of the kennels at the track in Raynham Massachusetts. Inside and outside were immaculate. The owner encouraged us to let a couple of the hounds out of their kennels. When we did, they ran the Henry (the owner) and jumped up on him licking his face before making the rounds to be pet and loved by everyone else.
Abused? I've seen abused dogs. these dogs were more spoiled !
So Grey2K succeeded in banishing greyhound racing in the one state that tightly regulated (state police were on the property and could perform inspections without notice) the care of the hounds (based on recommendations by members of grey2k) and in which it is illegal to euthanize a healthy greyhound. (So much for killing them when they no longer could race.)
GuideStar lists this organization a political advocacy (lobbying) fundraising and educational organization. Much like the HSUS, Grey2k does not financially support the actual animals it claims to care so much about. In fact, when they began their campaign Theil and Dorchak did not even own a greyhound. Only when this was pointed out by their opposition, did they adopt their beloved Zoe.
Do your own research before opening your wallet to this, or any organization for that matter, so you are sure that what you have worked hard for is being used in a way that you approve of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honesty and financial transparency.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 17, 2012

After moving from NJ to Florida in 1985, within a short time I found out about the cuelties to greyhounds in the dog racing industry. I really went on a mission, found several groups who tried to hel... more

May 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am a volunteer for Grey2K USA and also happy to be a donor for this wonderful organization. After moving to Florida in 1985, and found out what really happens to racing greyhounds when they no longer turn a profit, I searched for a group which was involved with this issue, that of the horrible conditions in which racing greyhounds are bred, raised, raced, and ultimately, thrown away like garbage. It seemed that so few knew of the abuses that were occuring within this "sport." Then after years of chipping away at this issue more or less by myself, I found GREY2K USA rooted in Massachusetts around the year 2000. Since that time, this group, headed by a dedicated staff and volunteers, has succeeded in shutting down so many tracks around the US, and now live racing is alive in 7 states for a total of 22 tracks, 13 of which exist in Florida. GREY2K USA is working to bring awareness to the cruelty of this industry and I believe greyhound racing is on a downward spiral mainly because of this hard-working group of people of GREY2K USA. I heartily recommend this group for any support needed by individuals who would like to join in the effort to end this atrocity of dog racing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

After moving from NJ to Florida in 1985, within a short time I found out about the cuelties to greyhounds in the dog racing industry. I really went on a mission, found several groups who tried to help and I volunteered to do whatever they suggested. However, these groups were not organized or educated on how to get the public informed on what was really going on. I will not name these groups as they did their best with what they knew. When GREY2KUSA formed, I finally found a group which was well-organized, educated on educating the public, and able to help me and others who had been rather discouraged in our efforts to get the truth out about the atrocities of greyhound racing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

March 10, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

Before Carey even bothers to spam a response, I will start about by saying that I am not in any way affiliated with, or a supporter of, greyhound racing. I am a supporter of greyhounds and have been actively involved in their adoption and promotion of the breed for close to 6 years. In that time, I have run across Grey2k and their propaganda many many times. Sadly, I have been disappointed or downright disgusted every time. They are all about fundraising through fear mongering and misinformation, not about actually helping the breed. They pass of false information about the breed and the conditions they are kept in just to pull peoples' heartstrings and get more donations. Worse, they do precious little to actually help racing greyhounds. They started as a lobby, and they are still primarily a lobby. Back when I first came across them in their campaign to shutdown racing in MA, I actually considered donating. But first, I inquired with them what would be done to help the displaced dogs. I was essentially told "We don't help dogs directly, we lobby for change. Other people are supposed to take care of the actual dogs." The flat out truth is that many of the pro-racing rescues and on-track adoption centers have done far more to help greyhounds with far fewer resources than Grey2k. If you REALLY want to make a difference to the dogs, find a local greyhound rescue and give them your money. They deserve it far more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Grey2K as a donor and volunteer for the last five years. In that time I have been really mpressed with the level of professionalism and dedication shown by the organization as a whole and their leadership in particular. I personally saw what a difference they made in the succesful ballot initiative to ban greyhound racing in Massachusetts four years ago and I am now actively supporting a legislative initiative in Florida to do the same thing. These beautiful dogs deserve better!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Grey2K USA works to make the lives of racing greyhounds better every day. They work to change minds, they work to change laws and to pass legislation that protects the gentle and sensitive greyhound. Grey2K USA leads the fight against the dog racing industry, an industry which profits by exploiting the greyhound and then throwing them away. Grey2K USA works to end dog racing so that greyhounds can live their lives as beloved pets, rather than as money making machines for greedy dog breeders who continue to breed them with no thought as to what will happen to them after they are no longer profitable. I am honored to be a part of Grey2K USA, an organization that works so hard for the dogs I love so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Thanks to Grey2K and their volunteers, greyhound racing was shut down in MA. I congratulate Grey2k and applaud their work for greyhounds across the nation. Ms, Dorchack's devotion and compassion is exceedingly admirable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

GREY2K USA is an amazing organization. A husband and wife grass roots effort to topple a multi-million dollar industry....simple amazing that they are actually winning this battle! I have volunteered and donated to this organization and can strongly attest to their goodwill. I have a greyhound adopted from a track in Florida. Despite the many claims that these gentle animals are cared for and "love to race" my dog is riddled with scars and has severe emotional distress as result of her trauma from the track. There is no enjoyment for these dogs while they are caged for 18-20 hours/day in a warehouse like environment. The idea that shutting tracks down hurts the breed is nothing more than propaganda spread by the tracks/breaders and unfortunately proliferated by a misinformed group of Greyhound owners. Please support GREY2k USA and remember just because they like to run, doesn't mean that should have to race!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

Carey in reading all your comments your statement says you take modest salaries, could you please tell us what you consider a modest salary? It is my understanding that you've recently gave yourself a raise even though donations are down. How much money has been donated by grey2k to adoption groups to help them--- When you brag about closing Mass. tracks did you see that all those animals were place or was that not your problem? And referring to cwood review regarding when you "closed mass race tracks they were given a 14 month notice" well 14 months is nothing in the greyhound industry. A pup doesn't even start on the track until the age of 17-18 months old so what happens to all the pups on the farms, how are they to be fed ? Do you plan on donating money to feed them, pay the farm payments so they have a place to live or finding them a home, I think not -this would be another "not my problem" I don't even think you thought about all those beautiful puppies NEXT TIME YOU DECIDE TO TRY AND CLOSE A TRACK there needs to be a 4-5 year window. We love our animals and they love to run !!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

GREY2K USA is a top notch organization with a genuine grassroots base and excellent staff and volunteers. They work tirelessly on behalf of the greyhounds, period. The only critic of this amazing group is obviously one who makes money off the backs of the innocent greyhounds who are imprisoned and suffer at the greyhound tracks. The dedicated folks at GREY2K USA work hard for our beloved greyhounds to put an end to the horrible practice of greyhound racing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

strengthen our grassroots campaign to pass greyhound protection laws and end the cruelty of dog racing. Volunteer