Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
123.7681245
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I’m the Florida Director for GREY2K USA. Over the years while tabling and organizing rallies in front of the 12 tracks in Florida, I have come in contact with many people who have experienced behind the scenes activities that are part of the racing industry. For example, one vet tech wrote to me prior to a rally, “Hi! My name is ----- , and I am coming to that protest come hell or high water! It’s funny, I JUST posted something on my Facebook about how horrible racing is. See, I am a vet tech at a local animal hospital where we work with the track dogs (all the different kennels). We bath, vaccinate, do blood work & dentals, sterilize and repair broken legs on the greyhounds that are blessed enough to have a chance at a real life. We have to put soooo many beautiful, sweet greyhounds to sleep for nothing more than broken hocks that the kennel owners don't feel that it's worthwhile enough to pay for fixing. And then the tragic ones that come in right off the track terribly suffering from heatstroke that we euthanize- These things just shouldn't happen! I can't stand to look another beautiful greyhound in the eyes as it licks my face as we're injecting the euthanasia solution into its vein. All over a snapped hock that no one would pay to have repaired. Let's start by telling everyone what a tragedy racing is!!!”
At this time, we do not know how many of the racing greyhounds are suffering injuries in Florida since Florida is one of two states out of the seven racing states that does not have injury reporting. I will proudly work with GREY2K USA to get injury reporting on the books in Florida. GREY2K USA is a well-run organization dedicated to the protection of the racing greyhounds worldwide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After teaching for 30 years within the public school system in Albuquerque, New Mexico, I retired and am now working as the Education Director for Animal Protection of New Mexico. The Grey2K USA Education Fund has been overwhelmingly helpful and generous in supplying beautifully illustrated books for primary grade children in my Humane Education programs. "Pele's Forever Home" tells the story of a racing greyhound who dreams about a forever home, with a family, away from the track. The story is a precious one, and elicits empathy from the children for all dogs looking for their forever homes. The children gather in a circle and read out loud to Rico, my rescued greyhound (now therapy dog). Rico does not judge his readers' abilities, but basks in the comfort of their little hands reaching out to touch him, pet him, as they read about his "friend" Pele. This books have been donated by GREY2K USA Education Fund by the hundreds and each child is allowed to keep his/her copy and share it with his/her family. This program is in highly disadvantaged neighborhoods, where books would not typically find their way into the students' home. What an incredible gift to these children and what an incredibly caring message it delivers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See to it that it was liberally funded!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

I am a proud board member of GREY2K USA and a long time supporter of its work to promote the adoption of greyhounds like my dog Molly. I also applaud its efforts to educate the public about the crue... more

April 30, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Kathy Florida wrote:
I have been a supporter/volunteer for over ten years and a board member for almost one year.

During that time span, the GREY2K USA Education Fund has provided me with material to conduct educational classes at the local Humane Society and schools throughout Dade,
Broward and Palm Beach County. The children learn about these beautiful dogs and the need for adoption through videos and books that have been supplied by the GREY2K USA Education Fund. This is important work that needs to continue.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a proud board member of GREY2K USA and a long time supporter of its work to promote the adoption of greyhounds like my dog Molly. I also applaud its efforts to educate the public about the cruelty of dog racing.

As long as greyhound racing continues, these gentle dogs will
suffer. In Iowa, state records showed nearly 200 greyhounds injuries from January 2011 through July 2012. The most common injury was a broken leg and other injuries included sprains, muscle injuries and a broken neck. Additionally, twenty-four greyhounds were euthanized during this 18-month period.

I will keep educating the public through rallies and classroom presentations through the GREY2K USA and its sister organization the GREY2K USA Education Fund.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

The allegations that GREY2K USA and the Education Fund are wasting "millions" of dollars or "lining their pockets" instead of helping greyhounds are simply ludicrous. These organizations operate extremely efficiently on shoe-string budgets. (Want proof? Check out their audited financial statements on their web sites.) They are a group of dedicated, caring people who have made great sacrifices in their own lives so these beautiful animals can live better lives. They take their commitments to the dogs -- and the organizations' donors -- very seriously and base their information on data that comes directly from the tracks. I know, because I count myself lucky to have worked with them for a decade. And, like many of the organizations' volunteers, I also worked with a local greyhound rescue and adoption organization. During that time I saw hundreds of broken, emaciated, and traumatized dogs come directly off of tracks in the U.S. and Europe. But don't take my word for it. Volunteer at a local rescue kennel for a few hours or a few days and decide for yourself what's true and what isn't.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 16, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

The GREY2K USA Education Fund helps to educate members of the public about the current situation facing greyhounds, their plight, and ways to help these magnificent dogs. What a wonderful outreach program to help spread the word about greyhounds!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers help us educate the public about greyhound racing and support adoption of rescued racers, and they can work both online and offline. Volunteering could simply involve sharing or re-tweeting our electronic action alerts or holding a full fledged rally or public outreach table. Volunteer