Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
123.7681245
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

I have worked as a volunteer with Grey2k for almost nine years now, down here in Florida, trying to put an end to the cruel and abusive industry of greyhound racing. Civilized people are not amused a... more

June 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I became aware of Grey2K and their mission to end the cruel and inhumane "sport" of greyhound racing back in 2004. We became volunteers and donors when Carey visited Florida to advocate for the defeat of Amendment 4 which was going to help pave the way for slot machines and help the tracks recoup profits that were being lost while maintaining their dog racing (unfortunately it passed). As ardent dog lovers and animal advocates we believed in their mission and in the sincerity and passion they showed towards achieving it. We realize what amazing and gentle creatures these greyhounds are and continue to sympathize with their plight. We don't believe that any animal should be used for entertainment and that no one should be able to profit from their exploitation. There's a reason that greyhound racing is illegal, or was never made legal, in 38 states.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Set up the newsletters so they can be shared on Facebook directly, without have to go to the Facebook page to share them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I have worked as a volunteer with Grey2k for almost nine years now, down here in Florida, trying to put an end to the cruel and abusive industry of greyhound racing. Civilized people are not amused and entertained by the exploitation of animals. Apparently some of the reviewers on this page never got the memo. What is wrong with wanting to treat an animal that has been used and abused for centuries, like a companion pet? No animal, Greyhounds included, should be exploited for entertainment. When will these misinformed detracters of Grey2k wake up and realize that Greyhound Racing is a dying industry? I think that what Christine Dorchak and Carey Theil of Grey2k and those of like compassion have done for the Greyhounds of Massachusetts and Rhode Island is nothing short of fantastic. They speak for those who have no voice of their own. I can only hope now, that the people of Florida, with the help of Grey2k, can fight this cruel and abusive industry with the same passion that those in Massachusetts and Rhode Island did. "If we see cruelty or wrong that we have the power to stop, and do nothing, we make ourselves sharers in the guilt." (Black Beauty by Anna Sewell)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The GREY2K USA Education Fund does an amazing job sharing with the public how wonderful greyhounds can be as companions, instead of disposable commodities for the racing industry. I am proud to be a part of their efforts to protect this sweet breed from those who want to exploit them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer and supporter of Grey2kusa since the late 1990's about when they formed. I met and come to know the two founders, Christine and Carey, and they are the most professional, honorable people working on behalf of improving the lives of greyhounds. As an animal lover and guardian of several rescued dogs, we know what many of these dogs go through and the life of a racing greyhound is not a happy one. As an animal advocate I have dealt with many animal groups and I have found that Christine and Carey and the rest of the staff at Grey2k make greyhounds and their well being their first priority! I have nothing but praise for this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

" Keep in mind that Carey's two "non-profits" (Grey2k USA Education Fund / Grey2k USA), rake in several hundred thousand dollars per year. Carey and his wife, Christine Dorchak, take a very large percentage of that money as their personal income. Less than 2% of donations benefit greyhounds. " rxallen. This is how idiotic and sometimes toddler-esque the racing industry's supporters are. ONE: This award honors Grey2KUSA.org's great work and top rating as recognized by a surveyor of ideal nonprofits, and they stupidly think that their hatred for the group will have some effect on this outcome. TWO: Everything plays against them, from countless videos (from the tracks' OWN cameras) and newspaper articles, to the tracks' OWN injury reports, showing Greys being killed because they were no longer raceable. It is a non-defensible position and, as more and more states outlaw racing and/or stop the gov't financing of racing, supporters are becoming more and more desperate in their hatred, both in their lies against Grey2KUSA.oeg, the most effective organization to ever take them on, and of moral people.

The Faustian Bargain
Grey2KUSA.org ACTUALLY gets the numbers from the tracks themselves when they report them to the states, as required by law in some states. So, NO, their numbers are as far from made up as your claims of the innocence of Grey racing is from the truth. As you said (as a racing supporter), when you get your numbers from a skewed source... Do you people EVER read this stuff through before posting it? My word, Swiss cheese can only DREAM of having so many holes! As for GPI, I feel they are a great group. They have wonderful things for one particular Grey who holds the most special place in my heart. However, they are only "neutral" on racing because most tracks REFUSE TO ADOPT OUT TO GROUPS WHO OPENLY OPPOSE GREY RACING! Therefore, no matter how vile they find racing (and they DO find it vile!), GPI agrees to not speak ill of the tracks, because the tracks will then go back to killing the Greys, instead.
A Faustian Bargain, definitely, but it saves thousands of Greys from death. Grey2KUSA.org works VERY well at closing the tracks, Over half of all US tracks have been closed in the last 12 years due to their efforts. Whether they were the prime mover or acted as a supporting role, their results speak for themselves, and have made them (us, really) they most hated group to Greyhound racing's immora; supporters. Just a couple samples here of the clips the racing industry fears you will see, and they come from the racing industry's OWN cameras. The brutality forced upon these noble animals is horrendous, and now, the racing immoralists are REALLY scared, because their continued lies about Grey2KUSA.org finances have been soundly defeated by a natinal organization.
You can follow these links, or search for “Greyhound disaster”, “Greyhound accident”, “Greyhound death”, “Greyhound abuse”, or many others search terms. You can find countless videos recorded by the tracks (for simulcast), so their authenticity cannot be doubted.
http://www.greyhounds.org/gpl/contents/media_cases.html http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1tLAtBG__bY ...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nZjzY3COods
http://www.greyhounds.org/gpl/contents/media_cases.html
http://planetgreyhound.com/2011/11/19/greyhound-racing-beyond-the-track/ http://www.greyhounds.org/gpl/contents/media_cases.html http://planetgreyhound.com/tag/greyhound-abuse/
Any questions as to who is telling the truth and who is lying to protect their immoral industry? Video evidence provided by the tracks refuting their own claims, or an organization awarded nationally for being best at non-profit work. Hmmm....I wonder who the more trustworthy group is?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

the negative reviews by individuals about this charitable orginization is disgusting! these negative people are obviously involved in the racing industry and are being prodded to write this bs about Grey2K to hopefully discourage donations and volunteers for them! But i know first hand Grey2K are wonderful and are doing great work in trying to end greyhound racing everywhere and I hope for the greyhounds and the many supporters of this campaign they succeed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Volunteering for GREY2K has been a wonderful experience. I began volunteering for this organization a few months ago as one of their social media correspondents. Since then, I've learned a lot about what they do for the greyhounds. They try their best to let the people know the facts about these amazing animals and how badly they are treated in the racing industry. They are extremely committed to their cause and have already saved many greyhounds. Additionally, they are very good about not getting carried away with their opinions and what they say; they are very positive and never offensive as far as I've seen. They let people know what the facts are, and I really like that. Keep up the great work GREY2K!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Grey2K USA is one of my favorite charities they do fantastic work in speaking out against dog racingand education about dog racing. They have saves countless greyhounds who have been used up and spit out by the racing industry Grey2K USA will go anywhere they are needed to help dogs they are a fantastic organization truly worthy of suppoort from myself and countless others

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

There is no doubt that when animals are used for exploitation to make money for humans there is ALWAYS abuse. Whether it be dog racing, horse racing, dog fighting, etc., etc. As far as the greyhounds, you have to be pretty stupid not to believe they are abused. From the time they are born to the time they stop making money at the track they are abused. Where do all the slow puppies go and where do all the losers go??? There are not enough rescue groups to save them all. However, with the help of Rescue groups that adopt out dogs and save them from the track to organizations like Grey2K who educate and try to abolish the tracks, both have different ways of helping the dogs. Grey2K is no in the business of finding homes for the greyhounds, like the groups who do find homes for the ones that can be saved. Grey2K is a tremendous help in educating the public on how badly these dogs endure a horrible life and most of all they try to get the tracks closed down. They do one part of greyhound rescue and the adopters do another. You need both. You can't have one without the other. Most rescue organizations are too busy trying to save the dogs before the tracks kill the dogs and don't have time trying to close down tracks or change legislation, that where Grey2K comes in. I thank all of you, the rescue groups who save the dogs and find homes for them and Grey2K for trying to rid our country of dog racing. Keep up the good work. Helene Jones

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Grey2K has worked untiringly throughout the world, educating people about animal welfare, but more importantly bringing awareness of the concept of animal rights. The old format of animals for entertainment is no longer acceptable. As the world in many other arenas seeks peace and reconciliation of diverse thinking, the validity of animals as toys is dying. However, those who seek monetary gain at any cost are still promoting heinous deeds and professions. Awareness is exposing these societal elements, often causing a backlash of anger and mendacity. Grey2K stands in the forefront as a role model for all effective and humane activities; especially for the knowledgeable youth in the world who, via internet data, are no longer accepting of cruelty to animals and no longer gullible about entrepreneurial schemes at the sacrifice of others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

Christine and Carey (and their volunteers) are the most dedicated people I know. I have been adopting greyhounds as pets for most of my life, and absolutely love these beautiful animals. I hate that t... more

May 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Thank God for the GREY2K USA Education Fund; I can't think of another group that is so dedicated to its mission within the greyhound welfare world. The group has grown in size and scope since I first became involved as an advocate, donor and volunteer. They are still relatively small, but I am impressed by the level of professionalism, quality of resources and dedication to the mission of educating the public about the rampant abuses within the greyhound racing industry.

The racing industry has some very outspoken supporters, but they do not have the data to back up their claims. GREY2K Education Fund has performed and acquired huge amounts of data, reports, studies, and public records, as well as anecdotal evidence from people who have now turned their backs on the industry.

I trust their information completely and have used it in presentations and letter-writing campaigns to lawmakers around the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Christine and Carey (and their volunteers) are the most dedicated people I know. I have been adopting greyhounds as pets for most of my life, and absolutely love these beautiful animals. I hate that the racing industry creates greyhounds and then destroys them when they can no longer race and therefore stop earning money for their owners. While the public like to see the dogs, they are mostly unaware of what happens to the dogs and what conditions exist (including injuries, drug use, and animal abuse). GREY2K USA Education Fund uncovers the truth and does not let the industry brush the situation under the rug anymore. Like journalists, they see a story from beginning to end and do not shy away from taking on some powerful, outspoken racing supporters. They are tireless, focused, and really care about their work. If the Fund did not exist, greyhounds would have a very bleak future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers help us educate the public about greyhound racing and support adoption of rescued racers, and they can work both online and offline. Volunteering could simply involve sharing or re-tweeting our electronic action alerts or holding a full fledged rally or public outreach table. Volunteer