Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
123.896145
Write A Review
November 7, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

Grey2k and its susidaries are a fake, They do nothing for Greyhounds, all they do is line their own fat pockets with the donations of many people. Carey, stop cutting and pasting the same response to all the people that question you, it shows that you dont really have an answer for any of the questions.... I have a couple of questions, why do you deem it ok to pocket the donations instead of using it to re-home Greyhounds, you claim to have helped 7 rescue centres since 2009, thats only 7 in 4 years!!!!, Carey.. be honest.. dont worry about the "missing" greyhounds... tell the people where the "missing millions of $$$$" have gone!! **** Carey in reponse to your reply, I notice you have cut and pasted your usual reply, you have not answered any of the simple questions I have answered, that just proves your are a rip off, one good thing about this "review" you cant "block" everyone who askes a slippery question like you do on Facebook, I asked where the money was going and you blocked me straight away....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

You are so tiresome, Carey2, Carey2 is incorrect. The comment made to my review is not true. I am not part of the racing community. I only do retired racing adoption. We are a small group and run on a shoestring budget. We actually help the dogs. We do not get paid. In fact, we spend much of our own money directly to benefit the greyhounds. What I said is true. I asked for a grant to help with some medical expenses for our greyhounds in fostering. It is true I as immediately 'defriended' by Grey2k for asking for help and asking questions. Carey2 is copy & pasting the same comment to everyone who disagrees with him without checking the facts (as usual). I have a very low tolerance for people who say they are helping greyhounds and then pay themselves huge salaries and take lavish trips abroad. From my original post: I do adoption for retired racing greyhounds. GREY2K does nothing to help any of the organizations that actually deal with the greyhounds. The donations they get never go for the dogs. They pay themselves high salaries and take lavish trips, even trips abroad while the retired racing adoption organizations beg for money to care for the dogs. Grey2k does not deserve accolades. They ban from posting comments anyone who asks for help for the greyhounds or calls into question their incorrect information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

This group do nothing to secure the well being of any greyhound that is racing at present time.They are not interested in rooting out individuals who do missuse greyhounds,just interested in hate mongering nonsense.They pull on the heart strings of the general public by swamping them with old photographs and misleading information. I would love to see a breakdown of their expenditure,an explanation as to where the thousands upon thousands of dollars they have extracted from,in the most,I would hope,well meaning people. They recently came over to the UK,using not their pocket money but donations,to help us poor Brits to recognise the plight of 'all' racing greyhounds. Wouldn't that money that they spent on air fares and accomodation, have been better spent on helping some animal,be it a greyhound,a cat,a rabbit....whatever,to get a home? If Carey wishes to comment on my opinion.............I dare him to!!!! It is because of organisations like his and Christines and wanna be Grey2ks in the UK that I have formed my opinion and instead of believing everything I read,have chosen to look into it properly. Ohhh,do I have to rate it 1 star......reluctantly done!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I have worked in greyhound adoption since 1991. I worked as an individual and also with groups, with trainers, and with kennels. During that time, I have seen Grey2K start up and write up lies about what they do, in order to gain people's sympathy (and money) for their own gain. They spend very little toward helping adoption groups; in fact, they have actually hindered greyhound adoption at times. They are also actively involved in lobbying in several states, using money that many people think 'goes to help the dogs' when in reality it goes to help those who operate it. They are NOT compassionate but abusers of sympathetic people. They have used pictures that are very outdated, and some have been faked. You can look at Guidestar to see what kind of percentages of their money goes to help greyhound groups and what else the money is used for. It is NOT an acceptable percentage to be considered a charitable non-profit organization when the 'owners' of Grey2K make money in excess of 300,000.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

Grey2k are nothing but money collectors and destroyers. They use outdated pictures and phoney videos in order to garner donations from well-meaning people. They destroyed thousands of lives and jobs in MA, a state with 100% adoption. And, yes, I am a pro-racing supporter!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

Grey2k USA uses lies and propaganda about the greyhound racing industry to collect donations for their political lobby group. The operators of this "non-profit" (Christine Dorchak and her "husband" Carey Theil) rake in hundreds of thousands of dollars each year. Less than 1.5% of that has been used for greyhound adoption and welfare. The rest is for salary and benefits for themselves, as well as travel, entertainment and 'miscellaneous expenses" incurred throught the year.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

Grey2KUSA is strictly a political lobbying group with strong ties to anti-gambling. The operate under the guise that greyhound racing is cruel and inhumane which enables them to collect millions of dollars via donations to help the plight of the greyhound. In reality, less than one per cent goes to actually help greyhounds. Grey2K does no adoptions, but rather recommends adoption groups of their choice, they give no support for food, transportation, housing of dogs in need. The groups they choose must support their policy and agenda. In early years they were rather forthright about doing nothing for the dogs, and just recently have decided tho include "adoption" - but still do not donate any sizeable amounts to helping dogs......It is easier to dupe people into giving money when the pity quotient reaches the supersonic level. By promoting their agenda with misquotes, partial truths and relentless "high fives" heaped upon themselves, they have convinced people to vilify an entire industry, the people who work with in and anything associated with greyhound racing. Contrary to the belief by followers Grey2KUSA has not ended greyhound racing in any states.....

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Over the past 15 years, I have adopted four ex racing greyhounds. They are gentle, faithful, loving creatures and all they ask from life is a loving home, good food, walks and a comfortable bed. They are not demanding dogs, they rarely bark and they are accepting of any treatment meted out to them. This makes them ideal for the hell that is the life of the racing dog. They are fed the bare minimum and often sleep in cages, stacked two high. It is a miserable life. They are brought out for training and for racing and that's it. No affection, no cuddles and I've even heard of some trainers who remove the water bowls if the dogs knock them over more than once. What sort of life is this? These dogs make wonderful pets and my son, who is on the autistic spectrum, adores our current 'girls', Amber, Rosie and Cleopatra. They have brought a whole new dimension into our lives and I believe Christine and all at GREY2K USA deserve recognition and support. They do sterling work, bringing to people's attention the plight of the racing greyhound, working to get the whole hideous so called 'sport' banned, both in the US and in the UK. Go go go GREY2K USA, go go go Christine, you are doing wonderful work and I am a huge fan of yours!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Thank you to GREY2K USA for the great work it does in getting information out about the cruelty of greyhound racing. The public needs to know the truth about the racing industry and GREY2K USA is doing just that. Thank you so much!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Grey2KUSA is a group of incredibly intelligent people who understand that Greyhound racing is a cruel and inhumane practice that needs to be phased out. In order to do this, laws need to be changed and Grey2KUSA has the capacity to see this through. They are relentless in their quest for doing this, and doing it correctly and diplomatically.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers help us educate the public about greyhound racing and support adoption of rescued racers, and they can work both online and offline. Volunteering could simply involve sharing or re-tweeting our electronic action alerts or holding a full fledged rally or public outreach table. Volunteer