Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
123.8028245
| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review
November 7, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

Not impressed with the organization. Spends more time, money, efforts touting lies and spewing misinformation about greyhound treatment than they do working FOR the Greyhounds. It's like watching Fox News and expecting an unbiased opinion. If you want to know how the dogs are treated, talk to the rescue organizations. The FOUNDERS of those organizations. Talk to them about the treatment of the dogs. And remember - unhappy dogs, beaten dogs, unfed dogs - don't race well. Grey2K goals are disingenuous to the true spirit of what greyhound rescue is all about.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

In various ways, I have been a volunteer for GREY2K USA for a bit over ten years. GREY2K USA is focused exclusively on helping the racing greyhounds by eliminating dog racing through legislative means. During this time, I have come to know both Carey and Christine personally. I feel I know their work ethic and values. I have also been impressed with their personal integrity and prudent management of donor funds. They are very careful with money. Their whole lives are devoted to this single and worthy cause. Simply stated, I admire Carey and Christine personally and what they stand for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

The Grey2K Education fund is a fund to send the Staff on vacation for research. It is amazing how many trips must be done for research out of this country. England and India just to name 2 and I am sure there are more. A pitiful amount is ever donated to helping greyhounds find new homes after a track closes down and shouldn't that be the focus, the care of the greyhounds, but they don't care. They are only after getting more donations to continue their vacations and support their homes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Grey2K USA works to make the lives of racing greyhounds better every day. They work to change minds, they work to change laws and to pass legislation that protects the gentle and sensitive greyhound. Grey2K USA leads the fight against the dog racing industry, an industry which profits by exploiting the greyhound and then throwing them away. Grey2K USA works to end dog racing so that greyhounds can live their lives as beloved pets, rather than as money making machines for greedy dog breeders who continue to breed them with no thought as to what will happen to them after they are no longer profitable. I am honored to be a part of Grey2K USA, an organization that works so hard for the dogs I love so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Grey2K is the primary advocacy group for the welfare and protection of greyhounds in the U.S. and, with increasing frequency, throughout the world where the barbarism of dog racing still persists. Their unwavering dedication to legislative and educational efforts has helped close tracks and totally eliminate dog racing in a growing number of states. I live in Florida and have been privileged to participate in two FL campaigns spearheaded by Grey2K USA to try and pass laws to protect the greyhound victims of human greed. And these remarkable, dedicated people will keep pushing until at last it will be the DOGS that win. That's who they are, and that's what they do. And I am proud to give them my support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

Grey2k and its susidaries are a fake, They do nothing for Greyhounds, all they do is line their own fat pockets with the donations of many people. Carey, stop cutting and pasting the same response to all the people that question you, it shows that you dont really have an answer for any of the questions.... I have a couple of questions, why do you deem it ok to pocket the donations instead of using it to re-home Greyhounds, you claim to have helped 7 rescue centres since 2009, thats only 7 in 4 years!!!!, Carey.. be honest.. dont worry about the "missing" greyhounds... tell the people where the "missing millions of $$$$" have gone!! **** Carey in reponse to your reply, I notice you have cut and pasted your usual reply, you have not answered any of the simple questions I have answered, that just proves your are a rip off, one good thing about this "review" you cant "block" everyone who askes a slippery question like you do on Facebook, I asked where the money was going and you blocked me straight away....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

You are so tiresome, Carey2, Carey2 is incorrect. The comment made to my review is not true. I am not part of the racing community. I only do retired racing adoption. We are a small group and run on a shoestring budget. We actually help the dogs. We do not get paid. In fact, we spend much of our own money directly to benefit the greyhounds. What I said is true. I asked for a grant to help with some medical expenses for our greyhounds in fostering. It is true I as immediately 'defriended' by Grey2k for asking for help and asking questions. Carey2 is copy & pasting the same comment to everyone who disagrees with him without checking the facts (as usual). I have a very low tolerance for people who say they are helping greyhounds and then pay themselves huge salaries and take lavish trips abroad. From my original post: I do adoption for retired racing greyhounds. GREY2K does nothing to help any of the organizations that actually deal with the greyhounds. The donations they get never go for the dogs. They pay themselves high salaries and take lavish trips, even trips abroad while the retired racing adoption organizations beg for money to care for the dogs. Grey2k does not deserve accolades. They ban from posting comments anyone who asks for help for the greyhounds or calls into question their incorrect information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

This group do nothing to secure the well being of any greyhound that is racing at present time.They are not interested in rooting out individuals who do missuse greyhounds,just interested in hate mongering nonsense.They pull on the heart strings of the general public by swamping them with old photographs and misleading information. I would love to see a breakdown of their expenditure,an explanation as to where the thousands upon thousands of dollars they have extracted from,in the most,I would hope,well meaning people. They recently came over to the UK,using not their pocket money but donations,to help us poor Brits to recognise the plight of 'all' racing greyhounds. Wouldn't that money that they spent on air fares and accomodation, have been better spent on helping some animal,be it a greyhound,a cat,a rabbit....whatever,to get a home? If Carey wishes to comment on my opinion.............I dare him to!!!! It is because of organisations like his and Christines and wanna be Grey2ks in the UK that I have formed my opinion and instead of believing everything I read,have chosen to look into it properly. Ohhh,do I have to rate it 1 star......reluctantly done!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I have worked in greyhound adoption since 1991. I worked as an individual and also with groups, with trainers, and with kennels. During that time, I have seen Grey2K start up and write up lies about what they do, in order to gain people's sympathy (and money) for their own gain. They spend very little toward helping adoption groups; in fact, they have actually hindered greyhound adoption at times. They are also actively involved in lobbying in several states, using money that many people think 'goes to help the dogs' when in reality it goes to help those who operate it. They are NOT compassionate but abusers of sympathetic people. They have used pictures that are very outdated, and some have been faked. You can look at Guidestar to see what kind of percentages of their money goes to help greyhound groups and what else the money is used for. It is NOT an acceptable percentage to be considered a charitable non-profit organization when the 'owners' of Grey2K make money in excess of 300,000.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

Grey2k are nothing but money collectors and destroyers. They use outdated pictures and phoney videos in order to garner donations from well-meaning people. They destroyed thousands of lives and jobs in MA, a state with 100% adoption. And, yes, I am a pro-racing supporter!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers help us educate the public about greyhound racing and support adoption of rescued racers, and they can work both online and offline. Volunteering could simply involve sharing or re-tweeting our electronic action alerts or holding a full fledged rally or public outreach table. Volunteer