Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
123.896145
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
March 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I believe that there are people out there writing comments to try to make Grey2k look bad by saying
that they do not help adoptions of greyhounds enough.
Grey2k is set up to "end racing", there are many groups out there who are set up to take in and adopt out greyhounds.
But is only
one non profit that i know of, "Grey2k" who is set up to stop racing.

If no one stops it, when will these poor creatures ever have normal lives
like other breeds of dogs enjoy?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have reviewed this charity on "Guidestar.org" and Making $41,500/yr is not what I call getting rich. Traveling to "work" to close down other tracks in other states or countries is not fun or glamorous.
I have traveled in my own job, it stinks. This group's Mission is to "end racing", not to
adopt out greyhounds, there is an abundance of groups who do that. There is only one group "Grey2k" who
is actually trying to to stop racing so that this vicious cycle of cruelty can end.

I was there in Massachusetts when it ended. Less than 200 dead end ,close to or at minimum wage jobs
were lost and one big corrupt thug got put out of business! That was about 10 tears ago. Think
about how many dogs were not bred for that track and didn't suffer years of abuse at the hands of
those greedy owners since then! Now whose the bad guy? Not Grey2k!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been adopting greyhounds since 1994. These dogs are the sweetest creatures! They don't deserve to be exploited by the racing industry. GREY2K has been doing wonderful work, helping to legislate against racing, educating the public about racing greyhounds and promoting adoption!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After teaching for 30 years within the public school system in Albuquerque, New Mexico, I retired and am now working as the Education Director for Animal Protection of New Mexico. The Grey2K USA Education Fund has been overwhelmingly helpful and generous in supplying beautifully illustrated books for primary grade children in my Humane Education programs. "Pele's Forever Home" tells the story of a racing greyhound who dreams about a forever home, with a family, away from the track. The story is a precious one, and elicits empathy from the children for all dogs looking for their forever homes. The children gather in a circle and read out loud to Rico, my rescued greyhound (now therapy dog). Rico does not judge his readers' abilities, but basks in the comfort of their little hands reaching out to touch him, pet him, as they read about his "friend" Pele. This books have been donated by GREY2K USA Education Fund by the hundreds and each child is allowed to keep his/her copy and share it with his/her family. This program is in highly disadvantaged neighborhoods, where books would not typically find their way into the students' home. What an incredible gift to these children and what an incredibly caring message it delivers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See to it that it was liberally funded!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The GREY2K USA Education Fund does an amazing job sharing with the public how wonderful greyhounds can be as companions, instead of disposable commodities for the racing industry. I am proud to be a part of their efforts to protect this sweet breed from those who want to exploit them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

Christine and Carey (and their volunteers) are the most dedicated people I know. I have been adopting greyhounds as pets for most of my life, and absolutely love these beautiful animals. I hate that t... more

May 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Thank God for the GREY2K USA Education Fund; I can't think of another group that is so dedicated to its mission within the greyhound welfare world. The group has grown in size and scope since I first became involved as an advocate, donor and volunteer. They are still relatively small, but I am impressed by the level of professionalism, quality of resources and dedication to the mission of educating the public about the rampant abuses within the greyhound racing industry.

The racing industry has some very outspoken supporters, but they do not have the data to back up their claims. GREY2K Education Fund has performed and acquired huge amounts of data, reports, studies, and public records, as well as anecdotal evidence from people who have now turned their backs on the industry.

I trust their information completely and have used it in presentations and letter-writing campaigns to lawmakers around the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Christine and Carey (and their volunteers) are the most dedicated people I know. I have been adopting greyhounds as pets for most of my life, and absolutely love these beautiful animals. I hate that the racing industry creates greyhounds and then destroys them when they can no longer race and therefore stop earning money for their owners. While the public like to see the dogs, they are mostly unaware of what happens to the dogs and what conditions exist (including injuries, drug use, and animal abuse). GREY2K USA Education Fund uncovers the truth and does not let the industry brush the situation under the rug anymore. Like journalists, they see a story from beginning to end and do not shy away from taking on some powerful, outspoken racing supporters. They are tireless, focused, and really care about their work. If the Fund did not exist, greyhounds would have a very bleak future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer and supporter of Grey2kusa since the late 1990's about when they formed. I met and come to know the two founders, Christine and Carey, and they are the most professional, honorable people working on behalf of improving the lives of greyhounds. As an animal lover and guardian of several rescued dogs, we know what many of these dogs go through and the life of a racing greyhound is not a happy one. As an animal advocate I have dealt with many animal groups and I have found that Christine and Carey and the rest of the staff at Grey2k make greyhounds and their well being their first priority! I have nothing but praise for this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 4, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I 100% support this group for it's efforts to stop inhuman treatment of greyhound dogs. They have made a great impact of dog racing in Massachusetts and in doing so have reduced the cruel treatment of dogs in the racing industry.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

GREY2K has worked tirelessly on behalf of the Greyhounds. I am a supporter of their Education Fund which spreads the word through educational outreach and special public events. I, as well as my organization, have learned a great deal about the lives of greyhounds and how they are inhumanely treated in kennels and racetracks nationwide for the pleasure/entertainments of others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

GREY2KUSA has done more to protect racing greyhounds than any organization devoted to the goal of ending the suffering and killing of greyhounds. All animal lovers would be proud of the accomplishmen... more

May 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Having been involved in greyhound rescue since 1992 and seeing the abuse and neglect so common in the dog racing industry, I was thrilled to see the formation of GREY2K USA in the late nineties. These dogs need advocates to help end their suffering. I knew long ago that we needed to start educating people about the plight of the racing greyhound. The work GREY2K USA Education Fund has so successfully introduced is proving to be one of the most effective programs in teaching children the importance of kindness to animals. Thanks to GREY2K USA Education Fund, children across the country are learning exploitation of animals is the opposite of compassion.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

GREY2KUSA has done more to protect racing greyhounds than any organization devoted to the goal of ending the suffering and killing of greyhounds. All animal lovers would be proud of the accomplishments of this esteemed group. I've been rescuing greyhounds since 1992 and have seen the worst of what the shameful dog racing industry can do to a magnificent creature. Without the efforts of GREY2KUSA and others who support their work, abuse and killing would still be the hideous secret of an industry that has no defense for what they do to make a buck.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers help us educate the public about greyhound racing and support adoption of rescued racers, and they can work both online and offline. Volunteering could simply involve sharing or re-tweeting our electronic action alerts or holding a full fledged rally or public outreach table. Volunteer