Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals

Mission: Greenhill Humane Society, SPCA will provide safe shelter for animals in transition, serve as advocates for animals and their people, work to end animal overpopulation and educate the public about compassion and responsibility towards all animals.

Results: From June 09 - July 10, Greenhill Humane Society achieved an 86.3% save rate for cats and an even higher rate for dogs, at 99.6%.  Greenhill found homes for 746 dogs and 956 cats during this same period.  In addition to receiving animals from individuals, Greenhill receives animals from other shelters in their Interagency Transfer Program giving them a second chance at finding a loving home when time and resources have run out at their shelter. Spay/Neuter Services - During the year ended June 30, 2010, Greenhill performed 3,402 surgeries in their regular clinic and 586 surgeries through the trap-neuter-release program. Volunteer & Foster Programs - Greenhill Humane Society has approximately 225 active volunteers and 100 active foster families.  Volunteers and foster families help in the daily care, training, socializing, and rehabilitation of animals brought to the shelter.  The volunteer and foster program works with schools, community service programs, and the general public to help promote humane education through hands-on animal welfare experience.

Target demographics: We shelter homeless companion animals and work to prevent homeless pet over-population through free and low-cost targeted spay/neuter.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Nearly 2,000 animals per year.

Geographic areas served: Oregon

Programs: Sheltering and adoptions - during the year ended june 30, 2015, greenhill humane society spca, operated two animal shelters in eugene, oregon and cared for 3,010 animals in its sheltering, return to owner, adoption and transfer program. During the year ended june 30, 2015, the organization cared for 1,362 cats, 1,560 dogs and 88 other animals. The organization continues to maintain one of the highest live release rates in the country. The organization saved 97% of the dogs that came to the shelters, 88% of the cats, and 92% of the other animals. Overall, the organization's live release rate for the year ended june 30, 2015 is 92%. Continued - see schedule o continued from statement of program services accomplishments the organization runs the second chance program which receives animals from other shelters and animal welfare agencies in oregon and california, giving them a second chance at finding a loving home when the time and resources have run out at their shelter. During the year ended june 30, 2015, 377 animals were cared for through this program. Greenhill humane society, spca has approximately 348 active volunteers and 110 active foster families per month. During the year ended june 30, 2015, approximately 1,100 volunteers contributed 38,377 hours. Volunteers and foster families help in the daily care, training, socializing and rehabilitation of animals brought to the shelter. The volunteer and foster program works with schools, community service programs and the general public to help promote humane education through hands-on animal welfare experience.

spay/neuter services - the organization provides spay/neuter services, a medical clinic, behavior training, and a trap/neuter/return program. All of the animals at the organization are provided with medical care and an environment that includes behavior training and exercise programs. During the year ended june 30, 2015, the organization performed 2,350 spay/neuter surgeries and 395 other essential surgeries in their medical clinic. Trap/neuter/return program (tnr) provides free spay/neuter surgeries for free-roaming cats within lane county. During the year ended june 30, 2015, the organization performed 961 free spay/neuter surgeries through this program.

humane education and community outreach - educating the community and promoting the animals and programs of greenhill humane society, spca is crucial to helping achieve the vision of finding loving homes for all animals. The organization reaches out to schools and other groups to educate about the importance of responsible pet ownership and the humane treatment of animals. The organization participates in off-site adoption and awareness events, and photos and descriptions of animals available for adoption are available on the organization's website and major on-line "petworking" sites. The organization's website receives an average of 1,455 visits per day. In the year ended june 30, 2015, the organization's outreach and education program reached 13,600 children and adults.

Community Stories

7 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

2

Board Member

Rating: 5

I have always been an animal lover but couldn't always donate as much financially as I would've liked. I see being a Board Member as another way to contribute. While I've always heard great things about Greenhill, never could I have imagined how wonderfully managed this facility would be. Everyone involved (staff, volunteers, board members, etc.) is top notch. I couldn't imagine a better non-profit to be a part of. Greenhill provides such a valuable community service and they do it incredibly. Kudos to Greenhill!

1

Board Member

Rating: 5

As a member of the community I dream of a world where all companion animals have a loving, safe home and where pet over-population is prevented through spay/neuter. As an individual I used to wonder - how can I contribute to making this a reality? I adopted from Greenhill and became a volunteer board member because I saw that Greenhill staff, volunteers, and supporters are a collective group working to achieve this vision. I continue to support Greenhill because I believe they are succeeding in making a difference!

1

Board Member

Rating: 5

Greenhill Humane Society is a fantastic organization that works tirelessly to improve the lives of animals in Lane County. On noting but dedication and effort, Greenhill has been able to put animals first and improve the lives of many cats, dogs, and other small animals in the area. Even when the economy is down, Greenhill has found a way to keep its adoption rate high and provide great on-site care for the shelter animals still looking for their forever home.

1

Board Member

Rating: 5

Greenhill Humane is an organization that has quietly lead a change in our community to improve the welfare of our companion and outdoor animals. It is all about the animals, whether in Greenhill's care or elsewhere, for the staff at GHS. Keep up the good work!

1

Board Member

Rating: 5

Greenhill is a fantastic organization, which is why I adopted my dog, Simon, from the shelter nearly 4 years ago. Since that time, I've joined the board and volunteer LOTS of my time to this wonderful organization. They are dedicated to increasing spay/neuter rates in the area, helping to reduce animal overpopulation in the area. They have hired a full-time staff vet, who serves as an invaluable resource to Greenhill shelter animals as well as the animal welfare community in general. They have incredibly high "live release rates," meaning nearly all of the animals who come through the shelter find homes. They are organized and always striving to improve. I am proud to serve on the board of this fantastic organization.

1

Board Member

Rating: 5

As a board member and volunteer with Greenhill for the last several years, I have seen first hand the committment Greenhill's staff and its voluteers have to serving this community and its animals. Greenhill is constantly striving to improve itself and have a greater positive impact on animal welfare in the community.

1

Board Member

Rating: 5

As a Board Member, I see the hard work that goes on behind the scenes to make the most of the budget and continue to improve the organization, and I have been continually impressed with the passion for animal welfare shown by everyone involved. The staff and volunteers at Greenhill are incredibly dedicated to making the lives of the animals in their care as pleasant as possible before they find their forever homes. Greenhill's administration is committed to expanding and improving its services by improving medical care and updating their facilities when their budget allows to better serve the animals. Greenhill's management works very hard to try to coordinate services with other animal care organizations in our region to care for the animal population as efficiently and effectively as possible. They also frequently take animals in from "high kill" shelters - even as far away as Los Angeles, to save the animals from being euthanized. Greenhill is generally regarded as a fantastic asset to Lane County. I am proud to represent Greenhill in our community and I love all the positive feedback I hear when I mention the shelter. Unfortunately, there are some people with serious misconceptions about Greenhill, who are committed to trying to damage its reputation. This negativity helps no one - least of all the animals we are trying to save. I encourage anyone interested in Greenhill to visit the shelter and see its great work firsthand!