Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals

Mission: Greenhill Humane Society, SPCA will provide safe shelter for animals in transition, serve as advocates for animals and their people, work to end animal overpopulation and educate the public about compassion and responsibility towards all animals.

Results: From June 09 - July 10, Greenhill Humane Society achieved an 86.3% save rate for cats and an even higher rate for dogs, at 99.6%.  Greenhill found homes for 746 dogs and 956 cats during this same period.  In addition to receiving animals from individuals, Greenhill receives animals from other shelters in their Interagency Transfer Program giving them a second chance at finding a loving home when time and resources have run out at their shelter. Spay/Neuter Services - During the year ended June 30, 2010, Greenhill performed 3,402 surgeries in their regular clinic and 586 surgeries through the trap-neuter-release program. Volunteer & Foster Programs - Greenhill Humane Society has approximately 225 active volunteers and 100 active foster families.  Volunteers and foster families help in the daily care, training, socializing, and rehabilitation of animals brought to the shelter.  The volunteer and foster program works with schools, community service programs, and the general public to help promote humane education through hands-on animal welfare experience.

Target demographics: We shelter homeless companion animals and work to prevent homeless pet over-population through free and low-cost targeted spay/neuter.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Nearly 2,000 animals per year.

Geographic areas served: Oregon

Programs: Sheltering and adoptions - during the year ended june 30, 2015, greenhill humane society spca, operated two animal shelters in eugene, oregon and cared for 3,010 animals in its sheltering, return to owner, adoption and transfer program. During the year ended june 30, 2015, the organization cared for 1,362 cats, 1,560 dogs and 88 other animals. The organization continues to maintain one of the highest live release rates in the country. The organization saved 97% of the dogs that came to the shelters, 88% of the cats, and 92% of the other animals. Overall, the organization's live release rate for the year ended june 30, 2015 is 92%. Continued - see schedule o continued from statement of program services accomplishments the organization runs the second chance program which receives animals from other shelters and animal welfare agencies in oregon and california, giving them a second chance at finding a loving home when the time and resources have run out at their shelter. During the year ended june 30, 2015, 377 animals were cared for through this program. Greenhill humane society, spca has approximately 348 active volunteers and 110 active foster families per month. During the year ended june 30, 2015, approximately 1,100 volunteers contributed 38,377 hours. Volunteers and foster families help in the daily care, training, socializing and rehabilitation of animals brought to the shelter. The volunteer and foster program works with schools, community service programs and the general public to help promote humane education through hands-on animal welfare experience.

spay/neuter services - the organization provides spay/neuter services, a medical clinic, behavior training, and a trap/neuter/return program. All of the animals at the organization are provided with medical care and an environment that includes behavior training and exercise programs. During the year ended june 30, 2015, the organization performed 2,350 spay/neuter surgeries and 395 other essential surgeries in their medical clinic. Trap/neuter/return program (tnr) provides free spay/neuter surgeries for free-roaming cats within lane county. During the year ended june 30, 2015, the organization performed 961 free spay/neuter surgeries through this program.

humane education and community outreach - educating the community and promoting the animals and programs of greenhill humane society, spca is crucial to helping achieve the vision of finding loving homes for all animals. The organization reaches out to schools and other groups to educate about the importance of responsible pet ownership and the humane treatment of animals. The organization participates in off-site adoption and awareness events, and photos and descriptions of animals available for adoption are available on the organization's website and major on-line "petworking" sites. The organization's website receives an average of 1,455 visits per day. In the year ended june 30, 2015, the organization's outreach and education program reached 13,600 children and adults.

Community Stories

23 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Lynda22

Volunteer

Rating: 1

Something Is Wrong at Greenhill
Sydney could have been saved. Rescues were willing to provide care for this beautiful dog, but Jaclyn Rudebeck, Greenhill's operations manager, lied to me. She stated that there were no rescues interested, and there were! She wanted the dog dead, and she did just that. RIP Sydney!

Review from Guidestar

1

Volunteer

Rating: 1

This shelter hides behind their name!!!! We tried pulling a malamute and they euthanized knowing that the dog had a committed rescue and rehabiltaton commitment, All but Furgotten Rescue in Pa. We pleaded and begged them to not ethanize Sydney, but they did anyway. They said he was aggressive and we all know how they change when they are catch poled and thrown into a kennel..SCARED!!!! We cold have taken that dog and transoformed like we had on so many other occasions, but We are in Pa.....We evn set up transport for this dog!!!! NOW with that being said...WHY WHY WHY would you kill him????????????? A shelter you call yourselves???? NBELIEVABLE!!!!!!!!! Hopefully you get repaid to fullest....Ill pray everyday for that with all the lives that you take daily!!! TRUST US YO HAVENT HEARD THE LAST OF US!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review from Guidestar

1

Volunteer

Rating: 1

I volunteer at one of Greenhill's shelters. The are the most crooked group of workers I've ever met. They kill adoptable and treatable dogs and cats. They like to make up lies about why they killed them. They don't like the public to know about the killings. When dogs develop kennel stress behaviors and/or are going kennel crazy (but not dangerous) they put them on a "behavior hold" so that they cannot be adopted so that they continue to deteriorate further until the uncertified "trainer" Sandy decides to have them killed. Sandy is like Hitler in my mind. Her "behavior assessments" are highly flawed and they stress the dogs out. They test dogs for dog and cat aggression by putting a stuffed cat or dog infront of them to see what they do to it.
Usually if dogs are" mouthy" but don't bite, the dog won't make it out of the shelter alive. One dog was going to be killed for body slamming someone one time. The president of Greenhill lies more than any human being I've ever known. Greenhill puts an ENORMOUS amount of effort to try to hide all their dirty secrets. They go to such great lengths to try to keep a clean public image. How about if they just did the right thing, then they would have nothing to hide. They won't even release their records yet they are a public agency. How fishy is that. I personally don't even believe their euthenasia rate they claim... that can be tweaked. Greenhil doesn't like rescue groups to take their dogs, because whenever a rescue group gets the dog they then state how the dog is nothing like what Sandy said they were like, making Greenhill look incompetent, which they are. It is documented that the vet Dr. Schroder has neglected suffering animals. Including a cat with a damaged eye who sat in the back room for weeks without treatment or medication before getting rescued. There is documented proof of them lieing to potential adopters of a dog in order to scare them away.
Staff at Greenhill shelters use emotional blackmail on their volunteers: If dirty secrets are let out by volunteers there are consequences and it affects the dogs.

1 Robyn15

Volunteer

Rating: 1

First off Greenhill is under contract with Lane county to run First Ave. County shelter. They have totally ignored the rules..almost all of them especially transparency! They're unreasonable to ask volunteers to do all that they do, but they're to cheap to hire people. Employees are nasty to customers, probably due to their Director asking them to lie and they're blackmailed. Training volunteers how to handle dogs is ridiculous. They require you to take 5 hours of training on how to walk a dog but volunteers are constantly rewarding dogs for bad behavior. They fire and ban anyone that tries to save an adoptable animal. Rescues refuse to work with them. Volunteers leave because they're depressed seeing so many adoptable pets being killed. ..And they have the nerve to blame all this on a group that spends hours rescuing and cleaning up their mess.
I could go on for days but I get depressed.

Review from Guidestar

4

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have volunteered with 3 animal welfare organizations in Eugene, and Greenhill far exceeds my expectations. I have found the staff and volunteers to all care deeply about the animals in their care.

I also have had the pleasure of adopting an animal from Greenhill, and was impressed with the thoroughness of the process. This is another way they insure the best outcomes for their animals.

It is unfortunate that some people use their time by trying to discredit Greenhill by using half-truths and incomplete, subjective statements. If they truly cared about animals, why not use their time and resources to make the whole animal welfare system better in a positive way?

4

Volunteer

Rating: 1

Organization is very concerned about information getting out to the public. I felt like I had a gag order. Also was micromanaged in regards to statements. Was asked to run everything by management before I said anything publicly. To me that was a red flag.

Believe there's no clear lines of Business protocol between the nonprofit shelter, Greenhill, and the public shelter, First Avenue, they began to manage in July 2012. Not able to find reports on exactly where the $500,000 tax payer money is spent. As a former business manager and bookeeper, this type of reports are simple and I'm not sure why it's so difficult to sort through the mishmash.

Witnesses told me that the Greenhill will take resources from the First Avenue Public Shelter and use them up at the private (main Greenhill shelter). I know the donation button, that appears to be for the stray:neglected animals at the public actually goes to Greenhill general fund. Donations for First Ave may go to Greenhill unless you clearly specify that you want the funds to go to the public animal shelter First Avenue only. And even then there is no assurance the Public Shelter will get the funding.

The stray, neglected, confiscated animals receive less care and behavior modification training then do the animals up at the main Greenhill site which are mostly owner surrendered animals.

There's not enough transparency and they continue to violate the contract for the public shelter on many levels including not notifying the public of animals that are Redalert or on the euthanasia list. Secretly Euthanizing animals who appeared to be suffering from Kennel stress, or animals who have been at the public shelter along time and don't appear to be have adoption option vs truly dangerous of which there have been a few.

In addition, reputable animal rescue groups are repeatedly turned away. Many groups locally still try to work to save the dogs, but dread having to go through all the hoops that Greenhillreq requires. Policy, procedure and rules for adoption a rescue seem to change on a daily basis. Just depends on who's in charge.

Sadly my great hope for Greenhill managers to treat our public animal shelter (formerly No Kill Shelter) is been extremely disappointing. Transition for their takeover was very rough animals were neglected and not treated for medical conditions. Seems as though animals at public shelter are still being euthanized for medical issues when simple medical treatment would suffice...including things like ear infections if the animal is harder to manage when being treated with medication. Greenhill will NOT commit to the No Kill Philosopy despite it being shown, time and time again, that is an extremely cost-effective way to run a shelter. It's a win for the shelter, and win for the animals.

Appears to be advisarial relationship between Greenhill, first Avenue shelter and the no kill community.
I watch both sides and the energy that they put forth against each other, I wonder why that energy can't be put towards saving more animals and cooperating. I know many volunteers have dropped off the roster in favor of no kill… And that just means there is less people to care for the animals. Seems to me that Shelter management should be doing things to keep volunteers instead of chase them away.

I don't know what the solution is is currently Greenhill is under contract and that won't expire until July 2014. I am not aware of another group or organization willing to take over the plight of the public animal shelter First Avenue. I certainly think that First Avenue Shelter, the public dog pound, could be run much more effectively and much more humanely

It is a very sad situation for all of Lane county and their stray, neglected, or confiscated animals. In the end it seems the animals are paying a very heavy price.

Review from Guidestar

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am honored to say that I have been a foster parent for cats at the Greenhill Humane Society for a little more than 2 years. During that time, I have gotten to know many members of the Greenhill staff. I have also had the pleasure of caring for several cats that have been exposed to Feline Leukemia. Normally, these cats would have to be "put down", even though they test negetive for this disease. However, Greenhill finds these cats foster homes for a 3 month quarantine period. During this time, the cats are given a monthly blood test and other care. If the cats test negative for the Feline Leukemia at the end of the quarantine period, they are then put up for adoption. In my case, all of my foster cats have passed their quarantine period and have been quickly and successfully adopted. I can testify that all of the staff members at the Greenhill Humane Society always put the best interests of their animal charges ahead of all else. I can honestly say that "at the Greenhill Humane Society, ...... WE CARE!"

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am so impressed with the absolute dedication by all the people involved with Greenhill Humane Society, both staff and volunteers, toward bettering the welfare of homeless dogs, cats and small animals. As for my personal experience as a volunteer at Greenhill, I have always been treated with great warmth and appreciation for my help.

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The staff is a wonderful, caring group that is determined to help people find the perfect pet for them. They won't stop until every pet that comes in through the door has a loving home. They helped me find my two fantastic cats.

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Greenhill Humane Society, in Eugene, Oregon, is great non-profit humane organization providing shelter, fostering, adoption, and neuter-spaying services. We have had the great pleasure with working with the highly committed staff of both employees and volunteers when we foster kittens until they are ready to be put up for adoption. We can not overstate our appreciation and admiration for the kind, humane, and compassionate services Greenhill provides for our local community and the animals they rescue and provide loving homes for.