Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
123.7073245
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
February 25, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
February 21, 2010

I tried to adopt a dog from Greenhill and met w/ terrible customer service and an overall negative reaction to any of my questions about the dog. I was dismissed and disregarded. Upon leaving the pr... more

February 25, 2014

I went to Greenhill before I knew about local rescues, in the hopes that I would find a dog. I went to the shelter and found a young male what looked like Rottie-mix - he had that classic, big blockhead although he was mostly black. I thought he was beautiful. I took him to one of the yards to see how he was outside of his pen and we spent a long time together. I was interested in knowing more about his personality than what I could gather from just watching him run around so went to ask a staff person about him. She said they knew very little about him, that he'd come from a town about 50 miles away, and that he was not a Rottie-mix but rather a pitbull. I asked how he was with cats and other dogs and she told me they had no idea. The woman's attitude was rather negative; she seemed unhappy at having to talk to me. I became irritated because I felt that if she'd really wanted to help him be adopted, she'd be less negative and do more to answer my questions.
I voiced my displeasure at the goings-on on my way out and someone must have called somebody because I was intercepted by a woman who called herself a Supervisor. She offered to "cat-test" the dog in her office with a stuffed animal. I didn't think that made any sense at all so thanked her but left.
I took to Craigslist to vent, funnily enough, in the PETS section later that day and to my surprise, the dog's former owner contacted me. She knew his name - it was an odd name - and told me his history, including that he was half Rottweiler (she'd met his parents). She told me he'd run away too many times for them to want to keep him any longer. She told me he'd never seen a cat he hadn't chased. When I told her how he'd been billed at Greenhill, she was unhappy. I encouraged her to contact them to give them this history; she said she already had when she had surrendered him.
I contacted Greenhill's Director to lodge my complaint later that week and he emailed me back and wanted to know everything. He also told me that he would love it if I could become involved with them in improving the shelter. I said I'd be delighted. I never heard from him again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve lots of things, including the attitudes of the shelter staff whose job it is, in part, to help animals in need make important connections. I'd also encourage the Director to be more honest than he is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2010
5 people found this review helpful

I tried to adopt a dog from Greenhill and met w/ terrible customer service and an overall negative reaction to any of my questions about the dog. I was dismissed and disregarded. Upon leaving the premises, I registered my disapproval with how I was treated and suddenly a supervisor arrived and tried to placate me. My concerns were on several levels - they knew next to nothing about the dog and did not offer to cat-test him (the supervisor eventually did after my complaint,) and were generally rude and unhelpful. I asked questions about the dog's intake paperwork and was essentially dismissed with a "We don't know anything." They had the dog down as a pitbull mix but he looked more Rottie; I mentioned this and once again was dismissed. That's when I left. I posted my concerns on Craiglist and, funnily enough, the former owner of the dog contacted me through that forum. She told me she'd surrendered him to Greenhill because she didn't have a fenced yard & he kept getting out, and confirmed that he was no more a Pitbull mix than a poodle. She expressed both concern & frustration when I told her what his intake papers said and remarked that she knew both his mother & father and had told Greenhill staff what his genetic make-up was. She expressed concern that he had been labeled a pitbull mix, as they can be harder to adopt out. I ended up emailing the new (at the time) director, Cary, who expressed concern and apologized for the staff's behavior, and asked me if I'd like to become involved with helping Greenhill evolve. I said I would; he was going to contact me later on once he'd been in the position for a while. I never heard from him again. This wasn't the first negative experience I had w/ Greenhill, but it was my last - I have never been back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that my staff understood how important it is for the animals in their care to be seen in the best light possible.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

disinterested and seemingly burned-out.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make an enormous difference in the lives of the animals it serves.

Ways to make it better...

Greenhill staff cared about the animals in their care as well as their customers and understood how important it is for the animals to be marketed properly and cared for w/ love and affection.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Staff who don't understand what customer service is.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I get tired about hearing how wonderful Greenhill is when I've seen and experienced the opposite on more than one occasion.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

I volunteer at one of Greenhill's shelters. The are the most crooked group of workers I've ever met. They kill adoptable and treatable dogs and cats. They like to make up lies about why they killed them. They don't like the public to know about the killings. When dogs develop kennel stress behaviors and/or are going kennel crazy (but not dangerous) they put them on a "behavior hold" so that they cannot be adopted so that they continue to deteriorate further until the uncertified "trainer" Sandy decides to have them killed. Sandy is like Hitler in my mind. Her "behavior assessments" are highly flawed and they stress the dogs out. They test dogs for dog and cat aggression by putting a stuffed cat or dog infront of them to see what they do to it.
Usually if dogs are" mouthy" but don't bite, the dog won't make it out of the shelter alive. One dog was going to be killed for body slamming someone one time. The president of Greenhill lies more than any human being I've ever known. Greenhill puts an ENORMOUS amount of effort to try to hide all their dirty secrets. They go to such great lengths to try to keep a clean public image. How about if they just did the right thing, then they would have nothing to hide. They won't even release their records yet they are a public agency. How fishy is that. I personally don't even believe their euthenasia rate they claim... that can be tweaked. Greenhil doesn't like rescue groups to take their dogs, because whenever a rescue group gets the dog they then state how the dog is nothing like what Sandy said they were like, making Greenhill look incompetent, which they are. It is documented that the vet Dr. Schroder has neglected suffering animals. Including a cat with a damaged eye who sat in the back room for weeks without treatment or medication before getting rescued. There is documented proof of them lieing to potential adopters of a dog in order to scare them away.
Staff at Greenhill shelters use emotional blackmail on their volunteers: If dirty secrets are let out by volunteers there are consequences and it affects the dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a No Kill director, so that all the facets of a no kill shelter can be in place. Get a vice president who cares about animals (currently she is happy to sign off on any euthenasias Sandy wants to happen). Use their donations more for the animals instead of other things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 24, 2014

First off Greenhill is under contract with Lane county to run First Ave. County shelter. They have totally ignored the rules..almost all of them especially transparency! They're unreasonable to ask volunteers to do all that they do, but they're to cheap to hire people. Employees are nasty to customers, probably due to their Director asking them to lie and they're blackmailed. Training volunteers how to handle dogs is ridiculous. They require you to take 5 hours of training on how to walk a dog but volunteers are constantly rewarding dogs for bad behavior. They fire and ban anyone that tries to save an adoptable animal. Rescues refuse to work with them. Volunteers leave because they're depressed seeing so many adoptable pets being killed. ..And they have the nerve to blame all this on a group that spends hours rescuing and cleaning up their mess.
I could go on for days but I get depressed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire upper management and their trainers know nothing and condemn dogs to death for chewing stuffed animals and Dr. Death who jokes about killing adoptable and treatable pets. Also, records show her refusal to treat animals in terrible pain which is immoral and against the dvm code of ethics.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with 3 animal welfare organizations in Eugene, and Greenhill far exceeds my expectations. I have found the staff and volunteers to all care deeply about the animals in their care.

I also have had the pleasure of adopting an animal from Greenhill, and was impressed with
the thoroughness of the process. This is another way they insure the best outcomes for their animals.

It is unfortunate that some people use their time by trying to discredit Greenhill by using half-truths and incomplete, subjective statements. If they truly cared about animals, why not use their time and resources to make the whole animal welfare system better in a positive way?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Organization is very concerned about information getting out to the public. I felt like I had a gag order. Also was micromanaged in regards to statements. Was asked to run everything by management before I said anything publicly. To me that was a red flag.

Believe there's no clear
lines of Business protocol between the nonprofit shelter, Greenhill, and the public shelter, First Avenue, they began to manage in July 2012. Not able to find reports on exactly where the $500,000 tax payer money is spent. As a former business manager and bookeeper, this type of reports are simple and I'm not sure why it's so difficult to sort through the mishmash.

Witnesses told me that the Greenhill will take resources from the First Avenue Public Shelter and use them up at the private (main Greenhill shelter). I know the donation button, that appears to be for the stray:neglected animals at the public actually goes to Greenhill general fund. Donations for First Ave may go to Greenhill unless you clearly specify that you want the funds to go to the public animal shelter First Avenue only. And even then there is no assurance the Public Shelter will get the funding.

The stray, neglected, confiscated animals receive less care and behavior modification training then do the animals up at the main Greenhill site which are mostly owner surrendered animals.

There's not enough transparency and they continue to violate the contract for the public shelter on many levels including not notifying the public of animals that are Redalert or on the euthanasia list. Secretly Euthanizing animals who appeared to be suffering from Kennel stress, or animals who have been at the public shelter along time and don't appear to be have adoption option vs truly dangerous of which there have been a few.

In addition, reputable animal rescue groups are repeatedly turned away. Many groups locally still try to work to save the dogs, but dread having to go through all the hoops that Greenhillreq requires. Policy, procedure and rules for adoption a rescue seem to change on a daily basis. Just depends on who's in charge.

Sadly my great hope for Greenhill managers to treat our public animal shelter (formerly No Kill Shelter) is been extremely disappointing. Transition for their takeover was very rough animals were neglected and not treated for medical conditions. Seems as though animals at public shelter are still being euthanized for medical issues when simple medical treatment would suffice...including things like ear infections if the animal is harder to manage when being treated with medication. Greenhill will NOT commit to the No Kill Philosopy despite it being shown, time and time again, that is an extremely cost-effective way to run a shelter. It's a win for the shelter, and win for the animals.

Appears to be advisarial relationship between Greenhill, first Avenue shelter and the no kill community.
I watch both sides and the energy that they put forth against each other, I wonder why that energy can't be put towards saving more animals and cooperating. I know many volunteers have dropped off the roster in favor of no kill… And that just means there is less people to care for the animals. Seems to me that Shelter management should be doing things to keep volunteers instead of chase them away.

I don't know what the solution is is currently Greenhill is under contract and that won't expire until July 2014. I am not aware of another group or organization willing to take over the plight of the public animal shelter First Avenue. I certainly think that First Avenue Shelter, the public dog pound, could be run much more effectively and much more humanely

It is a very sad situation for all of Lane county and their stray, neglected, or confiscated animals. In the end it seems the animals are paying a very heavy price.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No more secrecy and implement No Kill. Separate the two shelters into two business models. Expectation of transparency public shelter (Not private shelter). Reports easily accessible on the website. Separate fundraising for public shelter. Separate volunteer programs for private and public shelter. Team cooperation of shelters management and all animal advocacy groups, rescue organizations and animal trainers behaviorist. Create an environment so the community can help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am so sick over all the stories I see on Facebook about the INhumane treatment of animals at Greenhill. Not just INhumane treatment but actual mistreatment or lack of needed treatment. Greenhill looks for reasons to kill the dogs in their care, they even test dog/cat and dog/human compatibility and safety by giving dogs stuffed animals. Greenhill turns down rescue groups that want to save a dog then if the rescue complains at all Greenhill just bans them completely by revoking their pulling privileges. What a disgraceful organization that is entrusted by the public to take care of the animals. Taxpayer dollars going to waste and used for killing. Furthermore, contrary to claims in some reviews, there is NO proof of a 90% live release rate because Greenhill is NOT transparent and they have no accountability. They refuse to release any information to back their claim of 90%

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire current leadership and hire a compassionate leader, a No Kill Director. Fire the vet that withholds treatment for sick animals and hire one that will work to save ALL healthy/treatable animals. Insist that the contract Greenhill has with the local communities be enforced!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I tried to get help for a stray cat that was harassing my cat and the only help the could off was ask me if the cat ate any of my cats food. I said yes it came into my house & hurt my cat & ate her food. They said well it's your problem now. I was appalled & asked what I can do. They told me I have to keep it or I need to find a home for it. Really?! They where no help at all. I felt brushed off. I did find a home but it took awhile. My cat was traumatized & afraid to go anywhere in our home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More help to the community at large. And become a no kill shelter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

If I could give this "shelter" less than one star I would. Greenhill tests dogs for "aggression" by throwing keys in their kennel and "testing" by seeing if the dog tears up either a dog or cat shaped stuffed animal. If the dog acts like a normal dog and plays with or tears up the cat shaped stuffed animal, Greenhill says that dog is cat aggressive. This is pure nonsense and many dogs have been labeled using this ridiculous method, that is not supported by any sane professional. Since being called on this asinine practice, Greenhill denies they do this. However, we have community members who are willing to testify this is what they were told. Volunteers know this as well. It is bizarre, unprofessional and downright deadly for the animals in Greenhill's "care"

Greenhill has stated that if the community that supports them calls in concerned about an animal, they deem that harassment. They want your money, but do not want to be bothered by questions, or be transparent or accountable.

No doubt there will be posts on here by Greenhill claiming that those who support No Kill Lane County are crazy, but we aren't the ones testing for aggression by seeing if a dog plays with a stuffed animal, are we? There are heinous abuses that go on behind the scenes at Greenhill and we can prove it.

Greenhill's Executive Director and his girlfriend the Ops Manager have been caught in lie after lie after lie, and we can prove that too! (Conflict of interest and a blatant violation of Greenhill's own policies)

www.facebook.com/NoKillLaneCounty




Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire all the management including the vet that withholds treatment from animals causing suffering. See Greenhill's medical records here: http://www.nokilllanecounty.org/2013/05/violation-of-state-statute-greenhills.html The Board of directors looks the other way while Greenhill's management violate their own personnel policies. They need to go.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Greenhill Humane Society and 1st Avenue Shelter are life-saving shelters. Over the past five years they have saved more than 90% of the animals in their care. The animals they could not save were irredeemably suffering or dangerous to humans with poor prognosis of rehabilitation. Animals are never euthanized due to lack of space or time limitation. Per the no-kill movement, success within a community is measured by achieving a 90% live-release rate. Greenhill has surpassed that goal. Animals at both shelters are well cared for, and staff and volunteers are friendly and knowledgeable.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Greenhill records indicate that treatment is withheld from some animals by their veterinarian. When this information with documentation went to the Director, and the Board, it was ignored. This is a serious breach of their own policies, and a violation of Oregon Statute. See this documentation and other issues at www.NoKillLaneCounty.org.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers