Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I have been volunteering at Green Map and I'm very impressed with the its global impact! There are so many countries around the world that are adapting the Green Map System, together making our earth more sustainable! If you want to chart a sustainable area in your neighborhood, be sure to check out the website.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

My involvement with Green Map has been longstanding and almost universally satisfying. Being involved with tools and networks that help people make connections within their communities, not only to challenges but to resources and opportunities for change, has been a huge personal and professional benefit. Especially since most of my work is policy oriented and deals with 'big' security issues, being able to maintain the connection to communities and their sustainability leaders has kept me (and others) grounded and energized.

Green Map operates on a shoestring, but if there is a lesson to be learned in our time it is that there is only a modest relationship between the size of your budget and the size of your impact. The creative and entrepreneurial spirit of people still makes the difference and Green Map has been able to tap such spirit in abundance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Green Map struggles to find technology that is both sustainable and appropriate to its mission. Green Map also struggles to maintain healthy balances between leadership in New York and the needs of diverse project leaders in the field. The fact that such balances are negotiated, for the most part, bilaterally is a clear strength.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Green Maps manages to be global and local at the same. Using grassroots efforts, Green Maps allows any community to better understand its sustainability capacity. We in Pierre, SD made an open green map to showcase those assets that make our community green so now we join cities such as New York and Chicago. Creating a map is simple, no GIS experience is necessary. The icons are clean and descriptive. Great support documents and a positive "vibe" from their social media. Very responsive to inquiries.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

1. Have customizable promotional materials. 2. Maybe a short video or Prezi explaining the difference between Open and Green maps? 3. A stat counter accessible by the map maker to track hits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

We have worked with Green Map since 1998. I am also on their Advisory. They have been core to the development of our own Community Mapping work, our UVIC Community Mapping Collaboratory and the Common Ground Mapping network - Info: mapping.uvic.ca . They have attended many of our conferences, we have co-produced publications with them and they have supported the process and production of over 15 community green map projects and maps in our own region here in Victoria British Columbia. Many sectors have benefited from their expertise and global vision.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a solid long-term partnership and funding strategy. We are trying to consolidate academic partnership support in Canada and Europe for Green Map in the coming year.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Visual, simple, friendly, the Green Map System is a strategic tool to knowledge and outreach our identity from a rediscovery environmental, social and cultural of our communities.
No walls or borders. A global group of mapmakers, ready to collaborate, exchange experiences, ideas and make a
diference around the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when my hometown, Montclair, NJ, was selected to become a recipient of a Sustainable Jersey grant enabling us to acquire an Open Green Map. Thanks to our volunteers, and Wendy Brawer's guidance and technical assistance, our results are much greater than I could have even hoped. We have identified over 100 sustainability assets and attributes in our community - from electric charging stations to our Farmers' Market, and from historical places and our Recycling Zones to the Montclair Art Museum - and the OGM is now available to all residents and will soon also be available on our Township Website. We've had input from people I wouldn't have thought even cared, and we are excited about opportunities to be able to work with school kids as well. Wendy even came to our town for a day-long presentation and Map demonstration! The Green Map organization is a well-organized, successful, and generous group and we are proud to be a part of the international Green Map movement.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

The Green Map System is spreading worldwide to help communities and groups
understand and act for sustainable development. Communicating among so many
different groups in so many countries makes this a truly valuable tool for all ages
and can even change the thinking of the
inhabitants and the local governments.
Bravo Green Map keep sharing the icons and making the change.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do my best to get the Green Map System known to even more people worldwide.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Green Map System's Youth Mapmaking initiative is a wonderful approach for anyone to comfortably participate from society to connect, collaborate and learn while charting out environmentally friendly actions and sustainable directions. The organization's uniquely designed environmental iconography is not only a visual treat to the eye but is even simple to interpret, too.
Green mapmaking with Green Map System is so much more exciting, enjoyable and effective than ever before!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

GreenMap has made making community maps in British Columbia a joy rather than a chore. Our community partners love the icons and the icons draw out their stories: superb seeding!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Green Map System has been empowering communities around the world based on local action strategies. The biggest asset of the organization is the global network of mapmakers who support each other - a sustainable model of community development.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers