Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
January 6, 2012

more

January 6, 2012

I began working with Green Empowerment through their service learning trips. I traveled with them to Nicaragua (solar water pump) and Philippines (microhydro). They have a great, sustainable strategy and are incredibly efficient - working with local groups and fundraising from a variety of sources. They are also wonderful to work with. Check them out!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 15, 2011

I am continually amazed at how much the organization does to bring electricty and water infrastructure to the most marginalized communities in the world. more

April 5, 2013

This is an organization which has been recognized as doing so very much with very little. Clean water and rural electrification are critical to improved conditions for impoverished communities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 15, 2011

I am continually amazed at how much the organization does to bring electricty and water infrastructure to the most marginalized communities in the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Green Empowerment from the start and am always amazed how much we do to further electrification and potable water, as well as watershed restoration in the most impoverished sections and communities in the world, subsistence or under $1/day in income. Green Empowerment itself is a medium size NGO- 8 staff, 15 regular volunteers, 8 Board members. But the model for Green Empowerment is to work with and through technical NGO partner organizations in the countries in which we work. This is key to Green Empowerment's values of sustainability, local leadership and social justice. As our partners in the various countries have a collective 400-500 staff, it means that Green Empowerment can have an outsize impact. It is not a surprise the Portland Monthly recently chose Green Empowerment as the NGO able to do the most with the least.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have functioned as staff, ED, volunteer, and Board director over the years

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it several million dollars and encourage it to do more of the same.

March 8, 2011

more

March 8, 2011

What I like about Green Empowerment is that it is lean and mean. It does a lot with a little, meaning most of the donated funds go to the work in the field. They believe in capacity building of local partners and networking partners for sharing experiences and technology. Renewable energy is not only green, but it is sometimes the only choice rural communities have for power generation. The staff are wonderful - hardworking, passionate and dedicated. I feel privileged to be part of this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I read the reports, I talk to the staff, I see the beneficiary statements, and I like what I see.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to increase their donor base so they can expand their excellent work to other areas.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers