Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

The Steel Mags is such a wonderful group to belong to. They provide everyone with a safe place to bond and recieve support. I always feel safe sharing here and getting helpful advice when needed. Other times it good to see how well other's have made it through things. There will always be new members coming in, and some at the beginning of this journey. We share in our struggles and it helps to know you are not alone. I also love seeing when the Steel Mags are able to get out and do things. Seeing a group being able to travel and complete the Army 10 miler run recently was wonderful! I hope to see this group able to do more things like that. We all have our own journey and the leadership in this group is amazing.
October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The Steel Mags not only provides critical support by giving spouses a safe environment to share, grieve, relate and offer helpful tips, but it provides a network of women who lift each other up and help empower each other. The Steel Mags is the one and only place I can go to where I know I am not judged, where I am safe and comfortable discussing some of the hurdles we have faced with my husbands injuries and where I can go to for no nonsense real advice and help. Having a group of women who have lived the same lifestyle and who have dealt with injuries, trauma, loss, uncertainty and who really understand and "get it" is the most valuable resource and source of strength during horrific times that I can think of. Strong, resilient, capable and intelligent women coming together to provide positive inspiration after some of the most devastating events is truly a treasured blessing. Three and a half years at the hospital dealing with surgeries, therapies, juggling specialists, researching alternate options for care, researching specialists and trying to heal a family at the same time is not only time consuming, but emotionally and physically exhausting and can leave you feeling very isolated and alone. Now that my husband is newly medically retired we are finally able to start moving on with our lives. Having the Steel Mags by my side during this new phase of our lives, I'm beyond grateful. Knowing I'm not alone- invaluable.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

With all the groups I have been apart of ,this group has made me relieve i am not alone. They have come to my families aid when needed, and I have learned what it is like to have sisters. My husbands recovery from war and personal death the foundation really helped me help him to rejoin the public after 23 years of deployments. this group his truely a life line
Becky Clements
October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Steel Mags are MY lifeline that I am okay. My hurts, my sorrows, are all valid and at times, when I feel all alone, I can touch base with a fellow sister, and say, "I hurt. I am scared. I am sad." And, she will love me with no judgement. This week I have learned I no longer "fit" in the military realm (FRGs, deployments, etc). But here, I am safe. I am welcomed. I feel "heard". When I cry out, there is another that feels my pain, because she is living it too. THIS has become a part of my identity.
October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a spouse, I know that I have benefited greatly from the organized events and in prompt to get together's that have helped me navigate through the many questions that are always popping up. This isn't help for a few weeks or months, this is help forever. The bonds I have formed with some of the other spouses I know will be there forever. This is MUST JOIN!!
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

We have been helped greatly by this organization. Medical Procedures that were not covered under our health benefit were provided by the Green Beret Foundation. We can't thank them enough. My husband has been Medically Retired now for a year and a half. We know they are there when we need them. They also have a support group for Caregivers of the Wounded Green Berets. They have recently put together a Marriage Building Program complete with web conference with the authors. Thank you Green Beret Foundation!
October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am married to a medically retired Green Beret. When the Army and the VA would not pay for treatments that my husband needed, as they deemed in experimental, the GBF stepped up! They paid for hyberbaric oxygen treatment for my husband allowing him to speak without a speech device, ride a bike, and basically, live a normal life again. The GBF also does a great job offering programs, webinars and activities for spouses...the Steel Mags. I am proud to be a Steel Mag...and so grateful for everything the Green Bert Goundation has done for my husband, my family and me.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I am the mom of a Green Beret who is actively serving and although I have not needed to ask for the services of the Foundation, I know you are there for my son. This is a great comfort to me and to his other family members and the many friends who keep you all in their prayers. I proudly wear my Green Beret Foundation t-shirt whenever possible to let others know of this wonderful organization. Keep up the good work. Keep posting the many ways that you are supporting your brothers and their families. I am happy to donate to this foundation whenever possible.
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

For as long as I have known the about the Green Beret Foundation I have seen a relentless effort to support our special forces soldiers as well as their families. The people at the GBF are some of the most professional and hard working individuals I've had the honor of knowing and working with.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

Always there to provide exactly what their brother and family needs. It's not a charity, it's more like family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have an office on every post a Special Forces unit located

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers