Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

We have been totally blown away by the support we have received from the Green Beret Foundation. When my husband was first injured we received a check from the GBF to help with unexpected expenses in those early weeks while being hundreds of miles from home. But that is just the beginning of their generosity. They have also provided the funding for my husband to do 80 sessions of hyperbaric chamber therapy as a part of his recovery from his head injury. No other organization has matched the speed or comprehensive support that you have provided, and we cannot thank you enough!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

The transition from the military to private sector is quite difficult. Unfortunately, most qualifications SF veterans earn are not transferable to the civilian world. I asked the GBF for help. With a phone call, my problem of tuition assistance for a prerequisite course in the energy industry was fixed. Not much talk, just fast results. A brother asked for help, and they came forward. My family is grateful and I hope I can help in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The GBF provides things that SF guys need after they have been injured through their Ruck Program. I know because I was wounded in Afghanistan, and the GoRuck along with its contents are things that seem small but mean a lot to guys in the community who get injured. A great Non-profit that knows how to tailor their resources to provide the right things to wounded Green Berets.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

By far- the most professional nonprofit org I've had the pleasure of doing business with. Amazing people supporting amazing people- I can't think of a more worthy organization, and one who has their hands in helping a lot of people. Top notch.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

The Green Beret Foundation has always been extremely professional each and every time I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with anyone within the organization. Their constant and unwaivering philanthropic efforts to better the lives of those who have served, as well as those who are still serving, should be mimicked by any organization.

I had the opportunity to serve with both Matt Pucino and Brian Woods, and the efforts of the GBF to continue to provide support and aid to foundations of our fallen have always provided me and my brothers
in arms such a sense of the brotherhood of those that have worn the Green Beret have.

Thank you GBF, and continue to lead the way as the quiet professionals that you are!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

GBF donated multiple items for a silent auction to build a memorial room for fallen Green Berets. There outstanding support resulted in $2000 raised. GBF is a great organization that over delivered.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it a larger organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I can say that this is a group founded by members of the community it supports and has helped everyone from soldiers to their families. Whether it be medical treatment, counseling or a friend this organization is dedicated to helping Green Beret families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. Great group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

I am a former Green Beret turned student, with the overall goal to have a career as a Physicians Assistant. Switching from active duty life with an income into the life of an independent student with a much more constrained budget has really challenged me to stay afloat financially. I applied for a merit based scholarship that the GBF was awarding to students who met the requirements (http://greenberetfoundation.org/scholarships.html). I was blessed to receive a five thousand dollar scholarship. The award is so important to my continued path to success because it came at such a critical time: graduate admissions have cost so much, augmenting my savings base for graduate school, and helping to ease some of the additional academic costs I have accrued.

This organization is outstanding and truly lives up to its mission statement to support Green Berets and their families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was just medically retired from the Army with 24 years in service. I have been dealing with severe headaches for almost 5 years since my vehicle hit a landmine in Afghanistan in 2008. I have tried a lot of treatments and have been told I would have to live with my headaches for the rest of my life. I received HBOT (Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy) treatment in 2010, which the USSOCOM Care Coalition found an organization that took care of housing and the treatment cost. The Army started a study on HBOT treatment during the same time frame that I was receiving treatment. However, the Army did not approve the use of HBOT due to the lack of evidence. Therefore, if a Soldier wants to receive HBOT treatment they would have to find a way to pay for the treatment on their own. Because the USSOCOM Care Coalition works for the Department of Defense, they are no longer allowed to aid the service member in finding a way to fund treatments because of the study’s inconclusive results.

This is where the Green Beret foundation comes in. I know the treatment works, even though it is for a short time. I have been told that the more treatments a person receives the longer the affects last. I went to greenberetfoundation.org and completed an application for help and was contacted by the Green Beret Foundation the following day and in less than a week I was called and told that the funds for the treatment had been taken care of.

I start treatment tomorrow and look forward to the benefits of HBOT. I hope it last longer this time, but even a couple of weeks of headache free days are worth the 40 treatments that are planned. If I could afford the treatments myself I would pay for them. The Department of Defense may think a few weeks of feeling normal does not justify the treatment, but they are not the ones that live with the headaches every day, with cluster headaches that can hit you at any moment making driving dangerous for everyone, nor do they have to wear sunglasses both day and night because of light sensitivity or deal with double vision. The Green Beret Foundation only asked that I let them know of my progress and the outcome of the treatment. This is the first time I have gone through the Green Beret Foundation and I found the process to be easy and the people there have been awesome.

I have many “brothers” who have been helped by the Green Beret Foundation and all have told me what a great organization it is. I thank the Green Beret Foundation for this opportunity and their service in helping my brethren and me with our issues.

BC
MSG (R)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing. I have never talked to anyone who has been helped by the GBF and has complained or thought that something should change about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am SFC Justin Menchaca. I'm with 3rd grp, based out of Ft. Bragg, NC. I was critically wounded in Afghanistan In July of 2011, shot in the head. I spent a month in CCU, followed by 7 months of inpatient rehab at a Polytrauma Rehabilitation Center. I had paralysis on my right side (both arm &leg) and it took out my speech. I had to learn how to do everything again, walking, eating, writing, talking.

What I appreciate most about the GBF is its simplicity. No red tape, miles of forms and paperwork, just how can we help and what do you need? My parents got a check while I was in CCU to help cover expenses for what ever was needed. Once I returned home to continue my therapies out patient, they paid for a month of hyperbaric oxygen chamber treatments because Tricare wouldn't. I researched and found a doc in NC that did neurological rehabilitation and laser therapy. I was willing to try anything to help aide in my recovery. The GBF, once again, were willing to fund this therapy not covered by Tricare. Their only request was for updates from time to time to keep them up to date on my progress.
When I was getting the run around from the VA on my adaptive housing grant, the GBF paid to have all my door knobs changed out for lever handles and gutters put on my house to help keep the rain off my steps and handrails. Just a simple request and they help.

Thank you isn't enough to express my gratitude to this organization that has helped and supported not only me in my recovery but some many others as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers