Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.166675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 16, 2013

more

December 16, 2013

I was a founder of the GYC, and here writing under a pseudonym. So I have been a member of the GYC since the early 1980s when we established it. It was first the Greater Yellowstone Alliance. A place like the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem (Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem) that sprawls into 3 states and many jurisdictions needs an overarching organization.

The GYC has done a good job conserving the environmental and scenic resources of the GYE. Over time the organization has had its great moments and some that were less. Some staff now have been with them from the start, and are retiring.

When I was on their Board of Directors, I noticed the caution with which they approached things and how well they secured the financial status of the group. They also paid the executive director a lot for an organization like this, but compared, of course, to corporate CEOs even back in the day, it was a token. I do not know about the Board's demeanor today. I have just scant experience with their Board today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In the past, this caution under one executive directors led to too much effort at good relations with the rural interests that are inherently antagonistic to the vision of most Americans and conservationists for the Park and is surroundings. I can't speak for the present. They should be more militant in these days of the Tea Party.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2012

As a board member who was instrumental in helping the Greater Yellowstone Coalition purchase and renovate the new building, I am extremely pleased with the results in particular the fiscal benefits our headquarters will perpetually yield for our conservation programs.

The GYC board and
staff began thinking about purchasing a building when the real estate market in Bozeman was spiraling upward. Our rented offices sold twice during our tenure and correspondingly our rent increased substantially. Our Board of Directors concluded that owning our offices was a prudent fiduciary move that would provide long-term fiscal stability to the organization. After 30 years as the leading conservation organization in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem, GYC now has a permanent home that speaks to and financially supports our conservation values.

Every dollar of money invested into our building project was raised separately from our annual conservation and operational fundraising efforts. At no point during the building project did GYC curtail our programmatic work. In fact, during the two years of renovation work on the building--which coincided with the brunt of the national economic downturn--GYC maintained or increased its commitment to our wide variety of conservation programs in and around Yellowstone National Park.

Immediately upon occupancy of the new building, GYC began saving operational money. Within the next two years, we will realize approximately $75,000 in annual savings--money saved over paying rent and lower energy expenses due to the L.E.E.D. certified building's solar thermal water and PV electric systems. All of the savings gained from the new building will be directly reinvested in our critical conservation work. The new building is not only the organization's permanent home, but it also strengthens GYC's position to continue building for the future of the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

My professional career is in academia (Professor) where I teach, research, and publish on animal biology, population restoration, and conservation. I agreed to and was honored to join the GYC board after recognizing the deep commitment and success of the organization in protecting the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem, its natural functioning, and its threatened animals. I also recognized the professionalism of the Board and the high degree to which the Board considers scientific evidence to guide their conservation decisions. GYC seeks cooperation and coordination first, but fights if necessary to protect the ecosystem. It is an excellent organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

This is an outstanding conservation organization. Its quarterly publication, The Advocate, is fantastic - full of information and it's beautiful, too. GYC sets ambitious goals and it gets things done. It works well with partners. It's a highly effective organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

I have been following GYC for 12 years and I am continually impressed with the organization's effective advocacy. They know what they are doing. They choose important campaigns and they win. If GYC hadn't been defending Greater Yellowstone for the last 30 years, the Ecosystem would be a much diminished place.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2012

more

February 12, 2012

Greater Yellowstone Coalition has wasted millions of dollars of donor money on building themselves excessively expensive facilities at $278.00 per sq ft (their published figure, see Bozeman Chronicle article) and then leasing a solar system that will further waste donor money. These kinds of self serving actions from GYC makes it clear their managements direction is not in the best interest of the agenda they sell to their donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers