Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.882355
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have served on this Board for over 30 years. I have watched this program grow from a one person operation to a state of the art program addressing all catagories of Homeless people (familes between jobs, folks sleeping on family couches, Veterans, chronic mentally ill, college students with childern) in this greater Wheeling area.
Staff and Boards Member share a dedication to facilating Homeless peoples into and thru supportive housing to independ housing. We do not just give hand outs but rather we offer a steady hand for people to pull themselves to another level of living.
There but by the grace of God goes I. This how I would like to be treated.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

It has been my pleasure to serve on the board for the Homeless Coalition for the past six years, and as the board's president the past several. I have been involved with other organizations, and I have found that few have staff members who are as devoted to their work, as caring about their clients, and as dedicated to providing services to the homeless of our area. The staff's work makes our work as board members easy in one sense, but also challenges us to be more diligent and provide them the tools they need to succeed. Under the Executive Director's leadership, they have grown the organization from being reactive to proactively trying to prevent homelessness. I am happy to continue my involvement with the Coalition and will remain involved even if I leave the board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with the Greater Wheeling Homeless Coalition as a Board Member sence the late 1980's. I have allways been impressed with what good people can do for others. This organzation has always been a collection of people both staff and volunteers that have enjoyed contributing other people's finding as better life. We shelter them and their childern as they develope and start their plan for a better Life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have served on the board of the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless for many years. I have rarely seen an organization so focused and passionate about its mission. It's not a "hand-out" type of organization (not that there's anything wrong with that). It's truly a hand-up organization. It works with its clients to not only help them, but teach them how to help themselves - how to become independent, productive and confident. It moves them from homelessness to self-support, from those who have hit rock-bottom to those who are rock-climbers - slowly and deliberately improving their position in life - with a goal, direction and the strength to get there. The accomplishment of this mission has been a humbling feat for me to watch over the years. I can't begin to explain in words the strength of character the staff of the Coalition possess. They have so much more than just caring hearts. Working with the homeless every day is an extremely challenging and stressful career choice - because they aren't just doing a job. People's lives actually depend on the staff and how dedicated and sincere they are about their "job". It's real, it's serious, it can be heartbreaking at times, and at other times it can be the most rewarding experience imaginable. It's worth becoming involved in. The community can help. Contact the Coalition for more information on how you can help the homeless through your contribution of either time, money or goods. The Coalition is making a difference in people's lives, and with your help they can make that difference faster and better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I have had the privilege of serving on the Executive Board for the GWCH for over ten years. I have witnessed the caring staff truly nurture & care for our clients, daily, in ways that are not in a 'job description', but are from their hearts. They listen, they advise, they put the needs of the clients above all else. In addition to the high quality services provided, the GWCH does so in creative ways, given an ever reduced budget. They are determined to provide the maximum 'hand up' to our clients with minimal resources. I am amazed at the success stories & the lives changed for the people the GWCH serves. It is an organization that makes a difference and does so with the highest level of fiduciary, moral, and personal accountability.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers