Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.882355
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

CHANCEmy name is judy and after leaving the valley and getting home sick after nine months I returned back to wheeling. after moving in with my daughter, I realized that was a big mistake. I felt discouraged, depressed,and above all hopeless. I was told to go to the homeless coalition to see if they could help me. I would be doing an intake, and then taken to talk to a case manager. from the time I walked through the door @ the homeless coalition until I left , I was treated with warm kindness . I was offered a cup of coffee (fixed exactly the way I like it ) I was treated like I was someone special . then I AND went back to talk to a case manager . her name was Janet and she greeted me with a warm smile . I was placed in the ymca in which Janet is still my case manager and I now reside @ Windsor manor .everyone is especially awesome . the homeless coalition has saved my life . not to mention my case manager Janet played a huge part in the outcome of my life today . I am so blessed to have come to the coalition for I don't truly know where I would be today. thank you Jesus . I am so amazed @ the way everyone works here (together, over-whelming with kindness, treating everyone with respect and making sure everyone is treated the same . everyone is always so happy working here and ready to help the next person that walks through the door. I just want to say THANK YOU JANET,KIM,ANGEL,RANA,BRANDON ALSO LISA, JORDAN AND MELISSA. ALL OF YOU ARE GOD-SENTS AND GREAT APPRECIATED BECAUSE OF ALL THE GOOD THAT THE HOMELESS COALITION DOES IS WHY I DECIDED TO BECOME A VOLUNTEER TO HAVE THE CHANCE TO GIVE BACK A TOKEN OF APPRECIATION FOR ALL THE GREATNESS OF KINDNESS THAT IS DISPLAYED TO EVERYONE THAT WALKS THROUGH THE FRONT DOOR . THANK YOU

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NEVER REPLACE YOUR STAFF HOW DO YOU REPLACE ANGLES

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I moved back to Wheeling after being gone for over 20 yrs. I am a retired social worker and was looking for volunteer opportunities. I tried a few other places before I found GWHC. This is a wonderful place to volunteer! The staff are just great-and I've had the opportunity to meet all kinds of folks who come through the door. Here I am able to talk with everyone, offer coffee (we make the best!) and generally just try to allow everyone to smile a bit, regardless of their circumstances. I would encourage anyone to volunteer here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless in the summer of 2009. I found the services and attention provided for the staff to be far above the norm, and I believe this is an undervalued organization in the Ohio Valley. If more places put the effort into caring for those around them like the GWCH does, the area would be a better place overall.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

I have volunteered through unpaid internships at the Coalition twice, and have had a positive experience each and every time. The Coalition is one of those agencies that takes their mission to heart; everyday, the case managers and staff focus their work towards ending the cycle of homelessness permanently in the community. I was blessed that I had the opportunity to intern here, and be inspired by the strength and resiliency of Coalition clients, supported continually towards achieving their goals by skilled, caring staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011

more

December 1, 2011

I am a student at a nearby university. I am volunteering for this non-profit as a receptionist, making coffee, signing clients into the agency and answering the phone, as well as doing any filing or odd jobs that need completing while I'm here. It has been extremely rewarding as I get to interact and speak directly with clients on a regular basis. I have always felt welcome and appreciated as a volunteer by both clients and Coalition personnel alike. Volunteering at the Coalition has proved genuinely enjoyable, and has given me valuable insight into the way non-profit agencies operate and provide aid to clients. The Coalition has provided me with ample training and guidance to best help them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I very much value interacting with clients. It is extremely rewarding to talk with people that come through the Coalition.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers