Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.8755
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I have had the privilege of serving on the Executive Board for the GWCH for over ten years. I have witnessed the caring staff truly nurture & care for our clients, daily, in ways that are not in a 'job description', but are from their hearts. They listen, they advise, they put the needs of the clients above all else. In addition to the high quality services provided, the GWCH does so in creative ways, given an ever reduced budget. They are determined to provide the maximum 'hand up' to our clients with minimal resources. I am amazed at the success stories & the lives changed for the people the GWCH serves. It is an organization that makes a difference and does so with the highest level of fiduciary, moral, and personal accountability.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

In the fall of 2010, I was lucky enough to be hired by the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless as Programs Coordinator. Although my employment at the Coalition was far more brief than I would have liked, I cherished the months I spent there and the people I met. Like most people, before I worked there, I thought that the Homeless Coalition was primarily a shelter for the homeless, when in fact, it is not. While the Coalition does work in conjunction with several other agencies, including local shelters, it's primary function and goal, is to end homelessness. When a person who is homeless becomes a client of the Coalition, they avail themselves to, many programs that have the potential to truly change their lives. The Coalition staff works closely with individuals to provide them with immediate shelter, and for those who qualify, help in finding long-term housing and even permanent housing, all while providing education and support in essential life skills, such as securing employment, learning to budget and navigating the often-confusing path to earned government benefits. The staff at the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless are a rare bunch, always ready with a warm greeting and a cup of the city's best coffee. They truly are the kindest, most compassionate people I have ever worked with, treating each client with respect and dignity. Every employee makes it his/her mission to identify the best, most effective options available to help each client find his/her way to a better life. Clients who ask for, and receive, assistance are required to actively partake in making life changes, in educational opportunities, and to serve their own hours of service to better their living environments or that of those in the community. They are constantly seeking out new programs that may benefit the homless population of the Ohio Valley, or crafting new ways to pay for the continuation of programs that have proven successful in the past. In short, any individual who finds themselves down on their luck and chooses to step inside the doors of the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless, has already taken the first step to a better life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

I have volunteered through unpaid internships at the Coalition twice, and have had a positive experience each and every time. The Coalition is one of those agencies that takes their mission to heart; everyday, the case managers and staff focus their work towards ending the cycle of homelessness permanently in the community. I was blessed that I had the opportunity to intern here, and be inspired by the strength and resiliency of Coalition clients, supported continually towards achieving their goals by skilled, caring staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 2, 2011

more

December 2, 2011

Married couple homeless for 8 years, traveled the U.S. working day labor, construction, clean up disasters. Came back home to Wheeling, stayed at the Salvation Army. We then went into the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless' residential program where the staff helped us get our WV identification cards, our birth certificates, marriage license and WV medicaid mental health services and a doctor. We are now receiving SSI and just moved into a private market apartment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

by sticking with our case manager through think and thin we received mental health treatment and help with our physical problems. Our case manager also helped us through the SSI process and find our own apartment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Salvation Army

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

faith and trust in ourselves. That we can stop traveling and settle in one place to take proper care of ourselves.

December 2, 2011

more

December 2, 2011

I have been homeless at least 8 times before 2008. In October of 2008, I got into the Residential program at the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless, it saved my life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having my bills paid on time, having a roof over my head, case manager that reminds me of my appointments and even drives me to them if I need a ride.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

I was referred by a Northwood case manager.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

As long as I follow the guidelines of the program I will always have a roof over my head. I receive a lot of support from the Coalition staff in every part of my life.

December 1, 2011

more

December 1, 2011

I am a student at a nearby university. I am volunteering for this non-profit as a receptionist, making coffee, signing clients into the agency and answering the phone, as well as doing any filing or odd jobs that need completing while I'm here. It has been extremely rewarding as I get to interact and speak directly with clients on a regular basis. I have always felt welcome and appreciated as a volunteer by both clients and Coalition personnel alike. Volunteering at the Coalition has proved genuinely enjoyable, and has given me valuable insight into the way non-profit agencies operate and provide aid to clients. The Coalition has provided me with ample training and guidance to best help them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I very much value interacting with clients. It is extremely rewarding to talk with people that come through the Coalition.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers