Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

CHANCEmy name is judy and after leaving the valley and getting home sick after nine months I returned back to wheeling. after moving in with my daughter, I realized that was a big mistake. I felt discouraged, depressed,and above all hopeless. I was told to go to the homeless coalition to see if they could help me. I would be doing an intake, and then taken to talk to a case manager. from the time I walked through the door @ the homeless coalition until I left , I was treated with warm kindness . I was offered a cup of coffee (fixed exactly the way I like it ) I was treated like I was someone special . then I AND went back to talk to a case manager . her name was Janet and she greeted me with a warm smile . I was placed in the ymca in which Janet is still my case manager and I now reside @ Windsor manor .everyone is especially awesome . the homeless coalition has saved my life . not to mention my case manager Janet played a huge part in the outcome of my life today . I am so blessed to have come to the coalition for I don't truly know where I would be today. thank you Jesus . I am so amazed @ the way everyone works here (together, over-whelming with kindness, treating everyone with respect and making sure everyone is treated the same . everyone is always so happy working here and ready to help the next person that walks through the door. I just want to say THANK YOU JANET,KIM,ANGEL,RANA,BRANDON ALSO LISA, JORDAN AND MELISSA. ALL OF YOU ARE GOD-SENTS AND GREAT APPRECIATED BECAUSE OF ALL THE GOOD THAT THE HOMELESS COALITION DOES IS WHY I DECIDED TO BECOME A VOLUNTEER TO HAVE THE CHANCE TO GIVE BACK A TOKEN OF APPRECIATION FOR ALL THE GREATNESS OF KINDNESS THAT IS DISPLAYED TO EVERYONE THAT WALKS THROUGH THE FRONT DOOR . THANK YOU

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NEVER REPLACE YOUR STAFF HOW DO YOU REPLACE ANGLES

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

I moved back to Wheeling after being gone for over 20 yrs. I am a retired social worker and was looking for volunteer opportunities. I tried a few other places before I found GWHC. This is a wonderful place to volunteer! The staff are just great-and I've had the opportunity to meet all kinds of folks who come through the door. Here I am able to talk with everyone, offer coffee (we make the best!) and generally just try to allow everyone to smile a bit, regardless of their circumstances. I would encourage anyone to volunteer here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I have served on this Board for over 30 years. I have watched this program grow from a one person operation to a state of the art program addressing all catagories of Homeless people (familes between jobs, folks sleeping on family couches, Veterans, chronic mentally ill, college students with childern) in this greater Wheeling area.
Staff and Boards Member share a dedication to facilating Homeless peoples into and thru supportive housing to independ housing. We do not just give hand outs but rather we offer a steady hand for people to pull themselves to another level of living.
There but by the grace of God goes I. This how I would like to be treated.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

It has been my pleasure to serve on the board for the Homeless Coalition for the past six years, and as the board's president the past several. I have been involved with other organizations, and I have found that few have staff members who are as devoted to their work, as caring about their clients, and as dedicated to providing services to the homeless of our area. The staff's work makes our work as board members easy in one sense, but also challenges us to be more diligent and provide them the tools they need to succeed. Under the Executive Director's leadership, they have grown the organization from being reactive to proactively trying to prevent homelessness. I am happy to continue my involvement with the Coalition and will remain involved even if I leave the board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I had been seen by the Coalition since 2003. I had a long history or addiction and mental health issues and have been in and out of shelter for years. Each time I went to the Coalition I was treated with respect and encouraged to change. I have been sober and in treatment for 2 years now and I have my own apartment. None of this would have been possible without the positive encouragement of the Coalition's staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I volunteered for the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless in the summer of 2009. I found the services and attention provided for the staff to be far above the norm, and I believe this is an undervalued organization in the Ohio Valley. If more places put the effort into caring for those around them like the GWCH does, the area would be a better place overall.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

I have know this agency for many years and have been blessed to watch them grow to where they are now. The staff from the Director down are an inspiration to all of us when it comes to caring for those who need services the most. We could all learn from this team.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I have been involved with the Greater Wheeling Homeless Coalition as a Board Member sence the late 1980's. I have allways been impressed with what good people can do for others. This organzation has always been a collection of people both staff and volunteers that have enjoyed contributing other people's finding as better life. We shelter them and their childern as they develope and start their plan for a better Life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I have served on the board of the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless for many years. I have rarely seen an organization so focused and passionate about its mission. It's not a "hand-out" type of organization (not that there's anything wrong with that). It's truly a hand-up organization. It works with its clients to not only help them, but teach them how to help themselves - how to become independent, productive and confident. It moves them from homelessness to self-support, from those who have hit rock-bottom to those who are rock-climbers - slowly and deliberately improving their position in life - with a goal, direction and the strength to get there. The accomplishment of this mission has been a humbling feat for me to watch over the years. I can't begin to explain in words the strength of character the staff of the Coalition possess. They have so much more than just caring hearts. Working with the homeless every day is an extremely challenging and stressful career choice - because they aren't just doing a job. People's lives actually depend on the staff and how dedicated and sincere they are about their "job". It's real, it's serious, it can be heartbreaking at times, and at other times it can be the most rewarding experience imaginable. It's worth becoming involved in. The community can help. Contact the Coalition for more information on how you can help the homeless through your contribution of either time, money or goods. The Coalition is making a difference in people's lives, and with your help they can make that difference faster and better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I heard of the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless from a few friends. Decided to walk in and see if they could help me. I now have a roof over my head through their transitional housing program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers