Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.846155
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

It has been my pleasure to serve on the board for the Homeless Coalition for the past six years, and as the board's president the past several. I have been involved with other organizations, and I have found that few have staff members who are as devoted to their work, as caring about their clients, and as dedicated to providing services to the homeless of our area. The staff's work makes our work as board members easy in one sense, but also challenges us to be more diligent and provide them the tools they need to succeed. Under the Executive Director's leadership, they have grown the organization from being reactive to proactively trying to prevent homelessness. I am happy to continue my involvement with the Coalition and will remain involved even if I leave the board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I had been seen by the Coalition since 2003. I had a long history or addiction and mental health issues and have been in and out of shelter for years. Each time I went to the Coalition I was treated with respect and encouraged to change. I have been sober and in treatment for 2 years now and I have my own apartment. None of this would have been possible without the positive encouragement of the Coalition's staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I volunteered for the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless in the summer of 2009. I found the services and attention provided for the staff to be far above the norm, and I believe this is an undervalued organization in the Ohio Valley. If more places put the effort into caring for those around them like the GWCH does, the area would be a better place overall.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

I have know this agency for many years and have been blessed to watch them grow to where they are now. The staff from the Director down are an inspiration to all of us when it comes to caring for those who need services the most. We could all learn from this team.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I have been involved with the Greater Wheeling Homeless Coalition as a Board Member sence the late 1980's. I have allways been impressed with what good people can do for others. This organzation has always been a collection of people both staff and volunteers that have enjoyed contributing other people's finding as better life. We shelter them and their childern as they develope and start their plan for a better Life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I have served on the board of the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless for many years. I have rarely seen an organization so focused and passionate about its mission. It's not a "hand-out" type of organization (not that there's anything wrong with that). It's truly a hand-up organization. It works with its clients to not only help them, but teach them how to help themselves - how to become independent, productive and confident. It moves them from homelessness to self-support, from those who have hit rock-bottom to those who are rock-climbers - slowly and deliberately improving their position in life - with a goal, direction and the strength to get there. The accomplishment of this mission has been a humbling feat for me to watch over the years. I can't begin to explain in words the strength of character the staff of the Coalition possess. They have so much more than just caring hearts. Working with the homeless every day is an extremely challenging and stressful career choice - because they aren't just doing a job. People's lives actually depend on the staff and how dedicated and sincere they are about their "job". It's real, it's serious, it can be heartbreaking at times, and at other times it can be the most rewarding experience imaginable. It's worth becoming involved in. The community can help. Contact the Coalition for more information on how you can help the homeless through your contribution of either time, money or goods. The Coalition is making a difference in people's lives, and with your help they can make that difference faster and better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I heard of the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless from a few friends. Decided to walk in and see if they could help me. I now have a roof over my head through their transitional housing program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I have had the privilege of serving on the Executive Board for the GWCH for over ten years. I have witnessed the caring staff truly nurture & care for our clients, daily, in ways that are not in a 'job description', but are from their hearts. They listen, they advise, they put the needs of the clients above all else. In addition to the high quality services provided, the GWCH does so in creative ways, given an ever reduced budget. They are determined to provide the maximum 'hand up' to our clients with minimal resources. I am amazed at the success stories & the lives changed for the people the GWCH serves. It is an organization that makes a difference and does so with the highest level of fiduciary, moral, and personal accountability.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

In the fall of 2010, I was lucky enough to be hired by the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless as Programs Coordinator. Although my employment at the Coalition was far more brief than I would have liked, I cherished the months I spent there and the people I met. Like most people, before I worked there, I thought that the Homeless Coalition was primarily a shelter for the homeless, when in fact, it is not. While the Coalition does work in conjunction with several other agencies, including local shelters, it's primary function and goal, is to end homelessness. When a person who is homeless becomes a client of the Coalition, they avail themselves to, many programs that have the potential to truly change their lives. The Coalition staff works closely with individuals to provide them with immediate shelter, and for those who qualify, help in finding long-term housing and even permanent housing, all while providing education and support in essential life skills, such as securing employment, learning to budget and navigating the often-confusing path to earned government benefits. The staff at the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless are a rare bunch, always ready with a warm greeting and a cup of the city's best coffee. They truly are the kindest, most compassionate people I have ever worked with, treating each client with respect and dignity. Every employee makes it his/her mission to identify the best, most effective options available to help each client find his/her way to a better life. Clients who ask for, and receive, assistance are required to actively partake in making life changes, in educational opportunities, and to serve their own hours of service to better their living environments or that of those in the community. They are constantly seeking out new programs that may benefit the homless population of the Ohio Valley, or crafting new ways to pay for the continuation of programs that have proven successful in the past. In short, any individual who finds themselves down on their luck and chooses to step inside the doors of the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless, has already taken the first step to a better life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

I have volunteered through unpaid internships at the Coalition twice, and have had a positive experience each and every time. The Coalition is one of those agencies that takes their mission to heart; everyday, the case managers and staff focus their work towards ending the cycle of homelessness permanently in the community. I was blessed that I had the opportunity to intern here, and be inspired by the strength and resiliency of Coalition clients, supported continually towards achieving their goals by skilled, caring staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers