Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

GWCH provides a wonderful service to the Wheeling area. Once a fairly obscure organization, they have moved to the forefront of what public service is all about.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have known of this organization since 2010. The staff members go above & beyond every single day to help anyone who walks through the door looking for assistance. They reach a huge area & provide such needed services for some of the most vulnerable residents of the Northern Panhandle.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I believe any organization that helps the homeless people in this country should be recognized and acknowledged! Keep up the good work!!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I am writing on behalf of the hard working staff in the Wheeling area. Hats off to them !!!!
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I have been affiliated with the GWCH since 2007; however, long before I started providing mental health services to the clients at the coalition I had heard from community members, stakeholders, providers, clients, etc., what an amazing organization the GWCH was. For many of the GWCH clients, this organization has been a Godsend; for most, a lifeline; for all, a goal-directed path toward improved situations and a higher quality of life. There has been very little turnover in staff throughout the existence of the coalition; therefore, there is consistency, continuity, and a genuine camaraderie amongst and between the administration, case management, support staff and adjunct providers that is transmitted to excellent client care. Clients often express a sense of belonging and a deep gratitude to the people of the organization for demonstrating compassion but also knowing when and how to push them toward successful transitions.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I have donated to the Greater Wheeling Coalition for the Homeless as well currently working there. I have come to know many of our clients and have heard their stories. The case managers do a terrific job of listening to the clients, asking questions to access what assistance the client qualifies to receive, and referring to other agencies for assistance. We have successful former clients who are in permanent housing still call and talk to their former case manager just to fill them in on their lives and tell them how much they appreciate the help they received from our agency.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I am a therapist and refer to this program. They get it . They help people get into housing and mantain their new housing. They do not just feed homless and give them blankets.
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

very helpful with finding an apartment for my daughter and staff was unbelievably kind

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

CHANCEmy name is judy and after leaving the valley and getting home sick after nine months I returned back to wheeling. after moving in with my daughter, I realized that was a big mistake. I felt discouraged, depressed,and above all hopeless. I was told to go to the homeless coalition to see if they could help me. I would be doing an intake, and then taken to talk to a case manager. from the time I walked through the door @ the homeless coalition until I left , I was treated with warm kindness . I was offered a cup of coffee (fixed exactly the way I like it ) I was treated like I was someone special . then I AND went back to talk to a case manager . her name was Janet and she greeted me with a warm smile . I was placed in the ymca in which Janet is still my case manager and I now reside @ Windsor manor .everyone is especially awesome . the homeless coalition has saved my life . not to mention my case manager Janet played a huge part in the outcome of my life today . I am so blessed to have come to the coalition for I don't truly know where I would be today. thank you Jesus . I am so amazed @ the way everyone works here (together, over-whelming with kindness, treating everyone with respect and making sure everyone is treated the same . everyone is always so happy working here and ready to help the next person that walks through the door. I just want to say THANK YOU JANET,KIM,ANGEL,RANA,BRANDON ALSO LISA, JORDAN AND MELISSA. ALL OF YOU ARE GOD-SENTS AND GREAT APPRECIATED BECAUSE OF ALL THE GOOD THAT THE HOMELESS COALITION DOES IS WHY I DECIDED TO BECOME A VOLUNTEER TO HAVE THE CHANCE TO GIVE BACK A TOKEN OF APPRECIATION FOR ALL THE GREATNESS OF KINDNESS THAT IS DISPLAYED TO EVERYONE THAT WALKS THROUGH THE FRONT DOOR . THANK YOU

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NEVER REPLACE YOUR STAFF HOW DO YOU REPLACE ANGLES

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I moved back to Wheeling after being gone for over 20 yrs. I am a retired social worker and was looking for volunteer opportunities. I tried a few other places before I found GWHC. This is a wonderful place to volunteer! The staff are just great-and I've had the opportunity to meet all kinds of folks who come through the door. Here I am able to talk with everyone, offer coffee (we make the best!) and generally just try to allow everyone to smile a bit, regardless of their circumstances. I would encourage anyone to volunteer here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers